Random Photos Thread

qingtian

these are some of the picture i taken today.. :) comments are welcome!

First Pic not bad.
The nightshots shoot using handheld?
Not sure your cam model... I remember is Casio right?

Not sure do you have manual mode on your cam...
Nightshots pics too underexposed...

Anyway try shoot your pix using tripod or on something which could stable your camera...
Try not to pump up your ISO as it will cause too many noise in your pix...
Just my 2 cents :)

DSWH123

oh.. haha.. thanks.. as i just recently bought a 2nd hand sony A100 dslr.. i am still playing with it... is quite hard to make it v nice.. :)

qingtian

oh.. haha.. thanks.. as i just recently bought a 2nd hand sony A100 dslr.. i am still playing with it... is quite hard to make it v nice.. :)

Lolx...
:eek: Look like everyone are buying... Christmas present for our own wors... =)

Since it is a DSLR it should have Manual Mode.. =)
You need a tripod for nightshot... It take sometime but once you know how to it will be easier.

Just shoot more and explore more... :)

DSWH123

Lolx...
:eek: Look like everyone are buying... Christmas present for our own wors... =)

Since it is a DSLR it should have Manual Mode.. =)
You need a tripod for nightshot... It take sometime but once you know how to it will be easier.

Just shoot more and explore more... :)

haha.. btw.. can i ask a noob Question?? the more iso the more better for night shot?? or the lesser is the better??? for day like how much iso is the better??? yup it have manual mode.. yaa lorh.. sad... haha now pocket a hole..

qingtian

haha.. btw.. can i ask a noob Question?? the more iso the more better for night shot?? or the lesser is the better??? for day like how much iso is the better??? yup it have manual mode.. yaa lorh.. sad... haha now pocket a hole..

No question is noob pls... I am also learning...
The higher the ISO, the sensor is more sensitive to light thus is allow you to take shot in faster shutter speed... But of cos this will also depend on other factors such as your aperture setting etc...

Higher ISO will result your images to be more grainy as what you are seeing in your pics now...
So try to keep it low...

You may wish to refer to the below which explain better:-
http://www.11thstudio.com/blogs/all...-simple-guide-digital-and-film-iso-explained/

Lolx... not only you have a hole in the pocket, so am I... and so is Mr. Jeremy1 =X
Anyway buy le... dun look back... made full use of your cam and enjoy. =)

qingtian

Last 3 pieces:-

2z65dht.jpg

2cdeiki.jpg

33jqqdt.jpg

DSWH123

wow i like ur last picture!!!! is damm nice and detail!! haha.. waa pro teach me.. :) the settings?

ralliart12

wow i like ur last picture!!!! is damm nice and detail!! haha.. waa pro teach me.. :) the settings?

Lemme try to interpret, based on the last shot's Exif data:

Camera Model: Canon EOS 7D
Image Date: 2009:11:28 19:12:05
Focal Length: 17.0mm
Exposure Time: 30.000 s
Aperture: f/18.0
ISO equiv: 100

Step 1: frame e shot (composition)

Step 2: Close down the aperture to very small, super small, this will make the reflection "smooth & streaming". On a related note: a small aperture is how one will create those "starburst" effect from street lamps, etc

Step 3: Increase the exposure time/slow down shutter speed until very long: compensate for the super-small aperture, you want to let the light come in through the small hole for as long as possible, otherwise u dun compensate with this long exposure time, the small aperture will make the photo very dark.

Step 4: Cap the ISO at 100. Too high & that night/evening shot will be more noisy than my neighbour.

Of course, a tripod is critical, the huge sensor of the 7D helps immensely as well. Can the photo owner clarify if my train of thought is more or less correct?

DSWH123

haha...btw i wanna ask.. cos i am going to taiwan for a holiday trip on dec... should i bring along my dry box or dont need...??? as its a 7days trip.... i scare withtin the 7 days will grow fungus?? haha sorry i am a beginner just recently upgrade to dslr only thats why i treat my dslr like my wife now.. ahaha.. :) dont wish to let it grow any fungus on it...:s13::s13: cos its abit big also... if i bring the dry box.. :s13::s13:

Jeremy1

Wow!!! Swee! Is that a prime lens?
Congrat....

Buy le dun think so much... Dun look back...
Just enjoy your new toy and take more shots to reclaim what you had paid for!

I also broke after bought so many things this month...

Yeah, it's a 50 1.4 prime len. Now still charging.
Need to save up more $$$ for some other len later.

Very happy with the camera so far. No regret.

Jeremy1

haha...btw i wanna ask.. cos i am going to taiwan for a holiday trip on dec... should i bring along my dry box or dont need...??? as its a 7days trip.... i scare withtin the 7 days will grow fungus?? haha sorry i am a beginner just recently upgrade to dslr only thats why i treat my dslr like my wife now.. ahaha.. :) dont wish to let it grow any fungus on it...:s13::s13: cos its abit big also... if i bring the dry box.. :s13::s13:

I don't think it's necessary to bring.

I am not sure what is the weather over there now. If it's cold, just bring additional battery.

cpuer

wow bro, you change cameras faster than I can say "wow" :s13:

Congrats on a new purchase. since you own a dslr now, stick to it for a while. spend more time on the camera settings and experiment more.Your first few pictures posted are pretty good liao, just keep shooting and improving on them.:D

I have not heard of anyone bring their drybox while they go for holidays or photographic expeditions. I guess 1st and foremost, you don't change the lens in the open, do it indoor. Since Taiwan is in Winter now, and most buildings are heated, the temperature differences will cause the lens to have condensations easily. So be mindful of this and prevent it to happen.

But the plus point of Winter is low humidity.

dxboy

Yeah, it's a 50 1.4 prime len. Now still charging.
Need to save up more $$$ for some other len later.

Very happy with the camera so far. No regret.

most of my fren using d700 is very very happy with it too....0 regret at all... :D see their img also very swee...

DSWH123

wow bro, you change cameras faster than I can say "wow" :s13:

Congrats on a new purchase. since you own a dslr now, stick to it for a while. spend more time on the camera settings and experiment more.Your first few pictures posted are pretty good liao, just keep shooting and improving on them.:D

I have not heard of anyone bring their drybox while they go for holidays or photographic expeditions. I guess 1st and foremost, you don't change the lens in the open, do it indoor. Since Taiwan is in Winter now, and most buildings are heated, the temperature differences will cause the lens to have condensations easily. So be mindful of this and prevent it to happen.

But the plus point of Winter is low humidity.

oh... er.... haha cos i have been using compact quite a long time already... thats why thinking of changing to dslr and will stick as long as possible until the machine dead...:s13:
oh thanks for the comment for my picture.. still a noob.. but will stick to iso 100 .. :) haha... er... omg.. serious?? will cause lens have condensations easily??? then how can i prevent it?? as i dont think i bringing other lens there.. haha... as i have alot of thing to bring alr.. and when i am in the hotel?? where should i put my camera??? ATHANKS!

cpuer

One cheap way is to have a ziploc. put your cam inside the ziploc whenever you are entering from the cold outdoor into the warm indoor. Let the condensation form on the outside of the ziploc. That would mean you have to let the camera inside the bag to reach ambient temperature before removing it from the zipbloc.

Google for more details.

DSWH123

One cheap way is to have a ziploc. put your cam inside the ziploc whenever you are entering from the cold outdoor into the warm indoor. Let the condensation form on the outside of the ziploc. That would mean you have to let the camera inside the bag to reach ambient temperature before removing it from the zipbloc.

Google for more details.

oh.. wa.. abit ma fan hor.. haha... now taiwan is v cold... thats why i scared about this thing... any easiler and free idea??? or just dont care it???? btw once i reach hotel at night where should i place my camera???:s13::s13:

dxboy

oh.. wa.. abit ma fan hor.. haha... now taiwan is v cold... thats why i scared about this thing... any easiler and free idea??? or just dont care it???? btw once i reach hotel at night where should i place my camera???:s13::s13:

well..just to share share ba...i went tw with my veryyyyyyyy 1st dslr and the weather there is <5deg at night and <10deg in the day...but i just hang my dslr around my neck and nv keep inside anybag at all..ahah and when in hotel..i just leave it on the coffee table...but no condesation found at all...:o

DSWH123

16450_191626186251_583361251_2859389_6462928_n.jpg

16450_191626266251_583361251_2859390_6285905_n.jpg

hii all... today got 2 new picture taken.. by iso 100.. auto mode.. haha.. comments!!! i am still a dslr beginner,, i need some tips!:s13:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.