Re-contract Singnet 10 Mbps?

joschia

Just called the retention dept. Currently on 10mbs plan.
Was offered Fibre 200 at $43.70 with 3 month free subscriptions. Registration fee is at $53.50

Anyone got a better deal than this?

touchme

Was offered Fibre 200 at $43.70 with 3 month free subscriptions. Registration fee is at $53.50

Their objective achieved. Still it's effectively $$40.48 per month, cf competition $39. Go with it if you still psychologically more confident about singtel. Be sure to ask for your wireless router and gifts, bundled with their standard pack.

ussr_1991

Must demand for dual band Aztech router instead of crappy Pace A5520N. But then, M1 is the best as it has least packet loss and Singtel has the highest packet loss based on IDA report consistently.

A high packet loss is akin to a maid / child who keep forgetting to buy a thing or two in your grocery list and hence requires extra effort and trip to get it done. Hence, a "highest" (Which is not) download speed from Singtel is duly compensated by the need to retrieve loss packets. M1 has the highest download speed for July (US) but not locally. M1 has the highest upload speed will give you more benefits when torrenting (Still subjected to throttle like Singtel) and video conference.

So, just get M1 instead. Not that bad actually except kena screwed by OpenNet due to Port 2 / TP installation issue (Applies to all ISP, including Singtel)

ET_phonehome

no waiver given? think m1 does during promo which is literally always. check the papers tmr.

endlssorrow

I dun wan recontract with singtel liao. so expensive.
some more must pay $10 monthly for telephone line.
starhub top up $2.10 for telephone line only.

osirisis

CEE 2013 starhub promo i think is free phone line + 21Mbps mobile broadband (1GB)

M1 the same so singtel no advantages over others

blue00

take starhub is cheaper...

for $29.90 u get 18mbps international speed.

get a better router...

i just use the setup for my sister house.

yixiang1

take starhub is cheaper...

for $29.90 u get 18mbps international speed.

get a better router...

i just use the setup for my sister house.

May I know what router they giving u?

If i want the cheapest price.. I think i should be getting the $24.90 for 25mbps.... 12mbps international. Urs is $29.90 for 50mbps, 18 mbps international.

endlssorrow

CEE 2013 starhub promo i think is free phone line + 21Mbps mobile broadband (1GB)

M1 the same so singtel no advantages over others

thanks.

starhub shops also offering this package for this 4 days. plus $30 robinson voucher

touchme

May I know what router they giving u?

If i want the cheapest price.. I think i should be getting the $24.90 for 25mbps.... 12mbps international. Urs is $29.90 for 50mbps, 18 mbps international.

These are cable or fibre plans?

ET_phonehome

Their objective achieved. Still it's effectively $$40.48 per month, cf competition $39. Go with it if you still psychologically more confident about singtel. Be sure to ask for your wireless router and gifts, bundled with their standard pack.

43.70 has already factored in the 3 mths of free sub

Corny_Cow

All telco suck in one way another.

Although I prefer Starhub connection (Cable only), but a word of advice. If 4G is important to you, Starhub offer most data but connection is quite spotty. There are threads in Mobile Communication Technology discussing about Starhub's 4G Nation-wide network which is still quite not good in various area.

So what you gain, is what you lose as well.

Summary:

Starhub Pros:
  • Cable TV
  • Unlimited phone calls @ $2.XX (Original price @ $10.49)
    Hubber Club discount
    (30% for 4 line + 5% broadband discount + 10% SCV TV discount VS 25% for 4 line with Mio, no discount with broadband & TV etc)
  • Cable broadband more stable than ADSL (Always Draggy Super Laggy)

Especially true if the copper line is deteriorating over years or humidity
  • For less price, higher International Speed than Singtel ($29.90 for 18Mbps International Speed, Local 50Mbps, Upload 2Mbps VS $36.90 for 15Mbps download, 1Mbps upload + 1GB mobile BB without USB modem that can be top up for extra $10 per month)

Starhub Cons:
  • Lousy 3G / 4G network

Singtel Pros:
  • Excellent Dual band coverage (But in the East, some other forum user claimed that M1 is king and hence Singtel is best in West only)

Singtel Cons:

• $9.81 monthly for Digital Voice
  • Lag TV as stated hundred times
  • Most expensive mobile plan (20 mins less talk time for $39 plan and 100 min less for $59 plan and up to 1X more excess data charge since it is $10.70 per excess GB VS $6.42 for Starhub and $5.35 for M1)

thanks. you seem really knowledgeable. now im pondering if i should take up their fibre home entertainment haha. $69.90 a mth for 200mbps. im currently paying almost $42 ($37+ 3mbps mio home, $4+ for top box charge)

any idea if their fibre bundle cost include the top box charge?

touchme

This is turning from a lobang to a jump ship thread.

Keeping this, may revert from fibre if half price of fibre.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.