Recommend a Good and Cheap Air-Con Service Company

Bieffe

hi all.

i have a system 4 mitsubishi electric starmex inverter AC.

Recently the room aircon has loses its cooling effiency. My aircon is blowing cool air but it is not cooling the room to the temperature set.

I engaged Drcool aircon services and they recommend me to chemical wash the outdoor compressor unit on 07 Mar 2019. I went ahead to do it at $150. However it is still the same.

I did all 4 aircon unit chemical overhaul and chemical wash for outdoor compressor on 31 July 2018 for $580.

Today I texted DrCool again for advice and they say it is most likely valve issue and wants to charge me $350 for it without coming back to check.

May I seek some advice from you guys? I do not want to be wasting money doing unnecessary rectification as I have spend alot of money on this already.

Any good and reliable aircon servicing company to recommend?
Since you have already paid so much and DrCool cannot solve your problem, I suggest you call Mitsubishi Electric itself. I reckon they sub-con out the jobs but since is recommended by Mitsubishi Electric I think they will less likely to con you.

How old is your AC?
Is the air flow strong at the FCU? What is your temp setttings?
What is the operating mode you are on? Hope is not auto.
Trying setting the temp to 20....air flow max. Turn on 1 unit only is it cold?
What they did usually will solve the problem. But since u said suddenly then maybe something else.
Was the FCU and condenser dirty when they chem washed it? If you have been servicing regularly then this chem cleaning is a con job.

Anyway what is paid to them u can't get it back....assuming is really expansion valve....more money need to go out....so why give to them? They ain't really solving your problem....so take your money elsewhere.....even if u have to pay alittle more your problem maybe solve by the new team.

Tyketto

Hey guys, I spent $200+ chemical cleaning on my living room aircon less than 3 weeks ago and yet today water started leaking again. I asked the technician that time would it leak after chemical washing and he said no. Anyone knows how come it leaked again and only few weeks after servicing? Thanks.

limchooc

My Mitsubishi StarMax system 2 start to give problem. Aircon was installed by Coolserv 7 years ago.

One of the room can take one to two hour to start getting cold. But once it started to cool down it is as good as day one. But there is NO problem for the other room. When turn on it started to cool down immediately like day one.

The strange thing is if I turn on the good aircon first, the bad one also can cool down very fast. I am suspect compressor problem as it might be getting old. But if this is the reason it should affect both rooms. Right ?

So far I have been getting 4 different service company to come and take a look.

First one said, there is no problem just the compressor is getting weak.
Second one said, compressor is getting old and recommend to replace the entire system 2 including piping.
Third one do a complete servicing with chemical wash but does not help, suspect some electronic component got problem may need to change the PCB board at the compressor unit.
The last one said, need to replace the compressor and the electronic part too but can not guarantee it will solve the problem as there might be other part need to be replaced.

But one thing is for sure, there is no gas leak.

So I am a bit lost here, can some expert here to advise what is the best option for me.

Thank you.

ong12

I'm looking for refurbished Aircon, probably either system 1 or 2 for my rental flat.
Prefer to come with installation.

Anyone has any reliable aircon company to recommend?

xxbooxx

In most cases when the expansion valve is faulty only 1 indoor unit is affected and not all units. The chemical wash for outdoor condenser might be due to them detecting high pressure at the condenser which could be caused by dirty condenser. Other possibilities that can cause all indoors to lose their cooling includes pcb fault (affect the fan motor causing it to run at a slower speed) or overcharging of gas or fan motor fault.

As the chemical wash was done recently, it should be under workmanship warranty. Supposedly a return for followup is required. To quote without ascertaining the cause of fault is rather peculiar. Might want to request them to come back for a follow up check instead. Alternatively to consider a 2nd opinion with another company or Mitsubishi Electric itself.
I have the same issue here, able to schedule for appointment?? Thanks

maxicooljason

It is possible that there is an expansion valve fault.
The expansion valve acts like a floodgate and controls the gas that is released to the indoor units. It could be possible that the valve to the good unit is not closed fully hence when the bad aircon is turned on partial of the gas commanded is diverted to the good unit.

You can try to switch on only the bad unit for half an hour to 1 hour then goto the good unit, open the front cover, remove the filters and gently touch the coils. Are they cold? If they are cold it likely means that the expansion valve is not closed and gas has escaped to this good unit which is not switched on.

Do consider contacting Mitsubishi Electric for a diagnosis if you have not already engaged their services. Gentle note that expansion valve replacement can be costly and not cost effective for an aging system of 7 years. Best to get a quote for the repair before deciding if to proceed.

My Mitsubishi StarMax system 2 start to give problem. Aircon was installed by Coolserv 7 years ago.

One of the room can take one to two hour to start getting cold. But once it started to cool down it is as good as day one. But there is NO problem for the other room. When turn on it started to cool down immediately like day one.

The strange thing is if I turn on the good aircon first, the bad one also can cool down very fast. I am suspect compressor problem as it might be getting old. But if this is the reason it should affect both rooms. Right ?

So far I have been getting 4 different service company to come and take a look.

First one said, there is no problem just the compressor is getting weak.
Second one said, compressor is getting old and recommend to replace the entire system 2 including piping.
Third one do a complete servicing with chemical wash but does not help, suspect some electronic component got problem may need to change the PCB board at the compressor unit.
The last one said, need to replace the compressor and the electronic part too but can not guarantee it will solve the problem as there might be other part need to be replaced.

But one thing is for sure, there is no gas leak.

So I am a bit lost here, can some expert here to advise what is the best option for me.

Thank you.

chickydevil

To avoid this guy on Carousel

This might be funny to post here but i would like to warn everyone to AVOID this contractor on carousell at all cost. Goes by the name "Sunny Aircon aka Sunny Construction Pte Ltd - Business reg 201708900K. mobile is 93763389. Their facebook page : https://www.facebook.com/Sunny-Construction-2499251266755834/

So my story goes :

The aircon servicing was cheap and good. Communication was very prompt BEFORE you pay them. AFTER you pay them, they went totally irresponsive/MIA. i told the owner that their guys damaged my paint job under my aircon due to steam washing + using alot of masking tapes. Sent them multiple images on whatsapp showing the paint being peeled off by the masking tape but they refuse to even reply me. Not even an acknowledgement message.

Despite many daily reminders to whatsapp/sms them, they refuse to reply or even apologise for the causing the paint damages. All i wanted them to do is to send someone to come and fix up my paint - I even told him that I will provide the paint, i just need someone professional to do it so that the paint job will not look like a mess.

I thought Maybe the owner was away/overseas ? I gave the benefit of the doubt and texted them using other channels and the reply was immediate. Their mobile number is +65 93763389. Carousel name is "airconclean".

Judging from my case (which is very minor), one can already tell what level of service they provide. Even though they are value for money, please AVOID them because if anything goes wrong with your air conditioning, I can 100% guarantee they will not take responsibility.

See photos of the paint peeling - (peeling is not that major but it shows how "trustworthy" they are)
https://imgur.com/aqGWGWc
https://imgur.com/RkmttCA
https://imgur.com/UUWqTyc

Airtech Sg

Found VD Aircon Engineering through FB - back when they had good reviews on FB & Google. So I engaged them for chemical wash.

Worst decision ever, they spoiled my AC unit.

It now makes very loud noises + not cold, and they kept on denying that they had anything to do with it. They came back to take a look but had no clue to what was the problem.

I went back to Gain City ( Where I go my AC from) and they fixed it for me. :vijayadmin:

There is no head office, and no body you can speak to by the way. Their invoice is to a VEDHA CONSTRUCTION PTE LTD. So avoid them -
9644 0652 / 9898 5602

I wanted to leave a review on their Google Business listing, but lo and behold, they removed it! Even removed FB reviews.

Lesson learned:

- Don't engage AC companies with no FB / Google reviews.

Hi, do you mind guve us a chance to serve you? You may contact us at 87876664 thanks 🙏☺️

Airtech Sg

Tried their service today. Very thorough cleaning. Didn’t expect them to remove the fan roller to wash as most would have just used a brush to clean the fan roller. 👍🏻

Thank you! For your support! This is a great motivation for us! 🙏😁

Jerineng

If you want to preach honesty, I personally would rather a contractor skip all the bullsh*t discount/promo pricing and charge fully flat rates for all customers. Regardless 1st timer or 100th timer.

Nowadays aircon servicing full of snakes who purposely damage or do con jobs (e.g. gas pipe never tighten) to get repeat servicing.

If you are honest and reliable, long queues like Maxicool's will speak for itself.

moi kee chiu agree!....nowadays mani snake n mani shameless keep coming here 2 advertise.....ownself say ownself gd....ownself give discount ownself shiok...ownself recommend ownself.....ownself ask 2 give chance 2 ownself.....LOL reason mani..........any tom dick harry can juz come n put advert.....then create another nick or use frend nick 2 say ownself gd.....only tat few left tat can trust de.....like terumo/neptuniavictory/maxicooljason/BanEle....those r the pple tat make sense one n never need 2 advertise.....as long as it is forum our eyes must open big n wide....2 them is make us few hundred not enuf meat....but if aircon spoil is our prob and is few thousand for us 2 replace....

TBH simi integrity honesty please lar talk onli lar........if all work lke tat all the company eat **** already....no profit biz who wan to do....pple here are nt stupid de n mani has kena frm snakes b4 so pls dun come n put ad here....find ur own biz thru correct means...wanna ad pay for it ok......aniway i reported...must keep forum clean of ads.....=:p

sotong81

Beware of this company - Joydom Engineering

BEWARE OF THIS COMPANY - JOYDOM. This company is a scam. I engaged them through Carousell a year ago to do aircon servicing as they CLAIMED to offer one month warranty and affordable rates. But the servicing was not done properly and the aircon was not cold and when I asked for warranty, they simply said need chemical servicing at additional cost. They also just kept selling their one year package and chemical services. The workers did a quick job and basically rushed out of the house before I can check if the room is cold. I had to engage another company that managed to solve the problem without needing chemical service. I let all these slide.

BUT recently, which is one year later they suddenly watsapp me and said I have not paid. As I can't remember offhand or find the receipt as it was such a long time ago, they kept harassing me and threatened to send debt collectors. Luckily I managed to find the receipt and bank statement as proof. The most ludicrous thing is they said the receipt is not proof of payment but only that service was rendered. :s11::eek:Do not use this company. BLACKLIST.

juliant

Hi guys,

Can I check with yall, what is the cause when everytime I turn on the aircon, circuit breaker will trip?

How much does it cost to repair? maxicooljason can advise please?

Thanks alottttttttt

maxicooljason

Chances are there is a faulty part in the aircon that caused a direct short circuit. There can be a lot of possibilities as there are a myriad of parts in the aircon system that can cause such fault.

The cost of repair can only be determined when the fault is diagnosed. It would be good to have either the brand agent or your appointed contractor come up for a check to determine the fault. From there a quote can be provided for your consideration.

Hi guys,

Can I check with yall, what is the cause when everytime I turn on the aircon, circuit breaker will trip?

How much does it cost to repair? maxicooljason can advise please?

Thanks alottttttttt

juliant

Hi Jason,

I have arrange for a Daikin technician to check out the aircon on Monday. What are the considerations to accept any repairs or replacement of parts vs replacing a new system 3?

Chances are there is a faulty part in the aircon that caused a direct short circuit. There can be a lot of possibilities as there are a myriad of parts in the aircon system that can cause such fault.

The cost of repair can only be determined when the fault is diagnosed. It would be good to have either the brand agent or your appointed contractor come up for a check to determine the fault. From there a quote can be provided for your consideration.

maxicooljason

Hi Julian,

Good to know that a check has been arranged with Daikin.
Some consideration to weigh will be:

1) Age of the system.
It is generally not cost effective to be spending too much on repair for an aging system.
If the system is a non inverter parts might become obsolete and a new inverter unit might be a better option.

2) Condition of system.
Has the aircon been giving you problems previously? Examples like constant breakdown, sweating insulation, rusty coils etc. If the system is having such issues then an expensive repair might not be cost effective.

3) Cost of repair.
Is the repair cost overly expensive? Some repairs/replacement cost can be high due to part and labor cost and the price is not too far from a new system 3.

Daikin engineers will be in the best position to advice what would be the recommended option after the diagnosis. Hope you can have the fault resolved soonest.

Hi Jason,

I have arrange for a Daikin technician to check out the aircon on Monday. What are the considerations to accept any repairs or replacement of parts vs replacing a new system 3?

juliant

Hi Jason,

My aircon is about 5years old. Is it considered old? Previously theres leaking water at the 2nd unit and 3rd unit (furthest) is not as cool compared to the first 2. My apologies, I’m not exactly sure how aircon works but it seems to be connected:

Compressor—— 1st unit —— 2nd unit ——- 3rd unit

Hi Julian,

Good to know that a check has been arranged with Daikin.
Some consideration to weigh will be:

1) Age of the system.
It is generally not cost effective to be spending too much on repair for an aging system.
If the system is a non inverter parts might become obsolete and a new inverter unit might be a better option.

2) Condition of system.
Has the aircon been giving you problems previously? Examples like constant breakdown, sweating insulation, rusty coils etc. If the system is having such issues then an expensive repair might not be cost effective.

3) Cost of repair.
Is the repair cost overly expensive? Some repairs/replacement cost can be high due to part and labor cost and the price is not too far from a new system 3.

Daikin engineers will be in the best position to advice what would be the recommended option after the diagnosis. Hope you can have the fault resolved soonest.

maxicooljason

5 years is not exactly coisidered aging.
However the condition of the unit can only be determined onsite.
Water leaking if due to clogged drain pipes or dirty coils is not a major issue.

As for the 3rd room which is not as cool, was the fault diagnosed previously?
Yes the aircon is a connected close circuit system. The indoor units are connected by cooper piping and wiring to the outdoor unit.

I would suggest that you approach Daikin to assess the units after they have made the diagnosis and quote. From there you can decide if to go ahead with the repair.

Hi Jason,

My aircon is about 5years old. Is it considered old? Previously theres leaking water at the 2nd unit and 3rd unit (furthest) is not as cool compared to the first 2. My apologies, I’m not exactly sure how aircon works but it seems to be connected:

Compressor—— 1st unit —— 2nd unit ——- 3rd unit

Eggdrop

Is there such thing as doing chemical wash for compressir? And also drain out the gas and pump in new gas as they claim that the compressor is overheating

maxicooljason

Yes there is. Dirty condenser coils causes high pressure and overheating. Which is why it is good practice to keep the condenser coils clean during regular maintenance. It is advisable to keep the condenser obstruction free as obstruction can also cause short cycle of hot air causing overheating.

If the condenser is regularly maintained, chances of it requiring chemical services is reduced. In most cases chemical wash of condenser is only recommended when the condenser coils are extremely clogged/dusty/oily and the cooling of all the indoor units are severely affected.

Is there such thing as doing chemical wash for compressir? And also drain out the gas and pump in new gas as they claim that the compressor is overheating

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.