Recommend computer chair pls

Hua_Hui

Hello all. Will love some recommendations on computer chair from those who game alot.

Budget: 500-600, can stretch to max 700

Need to have headrest and armrest. Aircon environment so material not a heat issue. Comfort and Durability is priority.

Prefer to avoid ikea/vhive products. Have read alot on hermann miller chairs, how much are they anyway?

Thanks!!

Piezoq

Herman Miller is closer to $2k and up. There is a MO here for several models going for a substantial discount from the local distributor. Starts around $1.2k or so. Google some ya?

Not many decent choices in your price range. I would either 1) get a really cheap chair and use it until your back screams or 2) spend more on a quality option.

I recommend full mesh chairs.

nwh_sg

Ergohuman Chair. Full mesh. Around your budget. I am using one. Beats many times of those $100 range that won't last. The mesh seat does sink a bit (not as taut) after few years though - no experience with Herman so can't compare but different price range. Main issue I faced was the pedestal wheels - the rubber will crack after 2-3 years. But no big deal, you can get replacement (compatible type) from taobao at very cheap price.

Edit: Felt that I should add this feedback:
(my chair is coming to 6 yrs old) The mesh seat does sag a bit and the front foam cushion is pressing on the back of my thigh, a bit uncomfortable and sometimes it bothers me.

sacredrays

Ergohuman Chair. Full mesh. Around your budget. I am using one. Beats many times of those $100 range that won't last. The mesh seat does sink a bit (not as taut) after few years though - no experience with Herman so can't compare but different price range. Main issue I faced was the pedestal wheels - the rubber will crack after 2-3 years. But no big deal, you can get replacement (compatible type) from taobao at very cheap price.

got people complain the lumbar support not good cause its non-adjustable, forcing the lower back to be arched inwards... is that an issue for you too?

sacredrays

depends how long you usually sit. if it's prolong period, then the warmness will be an issue for non-aircon room...

katata

I also looking for chair sia. But I want to know more about the durability before spending on a "Gaming" Chair. I see the Ikea Markus gets thrown around quite a bit. Maybe I'll try it out

localITguy

any chairs to reco? i using my house floor uses marbles.

if i use those comp chair the wheel will leave marks at the floor

enenyi

If u mean scratch marks then ur floor too precious liao...:s13:

If u mean dust marks, means it requires maintenance. Wiping the dust off the wheels once in a while will do the job.

If all else fails, u can consider looking at those comfortable dining hall chairs in furniture shops. But u needa be precise coz those chairs the heights are fixed, so it's either gonna be just nice, too high or too low for u.

localITguy

If u mean scratch marks then ur floor too precious liao...:s13:

If u mean dust marks, means it requires maintenance. Wiping the dust off the wheels once in a while will do the job.

If all else fails, u can consider looking at those comfortable dining hall chairs in furniture shops. But u needa be precise coz those chairs the heights are fixed, so it's either gonna be just nice, too high or too low for u.

its scratch, any chair that does not damage the floor? bo bain leh:D

enenyi

its scratch, any chair that does not damage the floor? bo bain leh:D
If u really wan chairs that dont damage the floor, I can think of 2 ways:

1) Buy a 4-legged chair. Means those typical chairs u see for dining halls and living rooms and even those classroom-style chairs. Where u need to lift up the entire chair to move it. I don't think any of them are height adjustable.

2) Modify a computer chair. Computer chairs typically have a central 'stem' attached to 5 wheels. And most of them are height adjustable. Wad u can do is after buying a computer/office chair, remove the wheels by unscrewing them off the chair. Then DIY your own padding and attach them to the joints where the wheels were supposed to go to. In this way u can get a computer chair's functionality and still wont scratch the floor.

How u DIY the padding will be up to ur imagination. :) I dont remember any shops selling such padding.

Maximus_XXVIII

Get hard floor casters meant for vinyl or wood floor. It's basically casters with a soft coating, reduce noise when moving the chair around and less scratch prone.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.