Recommend dashcam

myviowner

Looking to get a affforable 2 channel dashcam. Pls recommend. Thanks.
Two channels, brand new or pre-owned? Spec requirements? I have one set with 2channels. Given to me as brand new. No box. 1 week old
Brand: carnnected.
Take n go. $80.
Go to your trusted workshop. Pay labour to get it installed.

EJB

Affordable just clasp your mobile phone to the windscreen while you drive & record. No need to buy.

LoUsyGamER

TS, give your budget. It would help you get better responses than say affordable.

kebinu

Can just go to the few big names in singapore and get it.

Not worthwhile to install old ones. For example, brand 1 front only $200 inclusive of memory card + install.
Bring old DVR need $100 labour to install. Old ones.. as they are old, can fail anytime due to limited time span of the machines in singapore.

I have 1-3 spares. Can just give you. Got 1 lagi better, just plug into cigarette port. (good for some rental car or short term drive)

Comage

Just avoid iroad. The lens deform and degrade under singapore's hot sun, especially if you park at surface carpark.

Mine lasted only 2 years before the footage becomes blurry and can only capture plates if it's less than 1 car distance away. Night time footage? Good luck if you get into a hit and run and expect the camera to catch the plates.

Went to the service centre to place a repair/warranty request - they flipped me off and told me I can buy a new one from them if I wanted - they don't do repairs.

Dismantled the camera and tried to clean the lens, which helped a little bit, but the quality degraded back to as before few months later.

myviowner

Just avoid iroad. The lens deform and degrade under singapore's hot sun, especially if you park at surface carpark.

Mine lasted only 2 years before the footage becomes blurry and can only capture plates if it's less than 1 car distance away. Night time footage? Good luck if you get into a hit and run and expect the camera to catch the plates.

Went to the service centre to place a repair/warranty request - they flipped me off and told me I can buy a new one from them if I wanted - they don't do repairs.

Dismantled the camera and tried to clean the lens, which helped a little bit, but the quality degraded back to as before few months later.
Simi model of Iroad?

BrOwnTeddy

70mai loh. Blackvue loh. Go shop and install, let it run on a battery, permanent running kind.

Should set u back less than 1k in total.

Using thinkcam 2ch one, but thinking of upgrading it.

BrOwnTeddy

Small accessories. Don't expect much lah.

EJB

Just to highlight, iRoad offers refurb sets at a price taking back the existing one that is faulty and they throw in 3 months warranty on the refurb set.

I myself have swapped out my Q9 twice, once when the timing is not accurate and paid for the refurb, 2nd was about nearly after 2 months when it keeps auto-rebooting and they gave me a replacement foc + 3 more months warranty.

So need not jump the gun to change it immediately if you're comfortable with a refurb set like me which lasted a good 1.5 years or so until I sold the car.

ZaiNan

F200 Pro surprisingly cheaper than f200 now

On sale now so while stock last

Comage

Just to highlight, iRoad offers refurb sets at a price taking back the existing one that is faulty and they throw in 3 months warranty on the refurb set.

I myself have swapped out my Q9 twice, once when the timing is not accurate and paid for the refurb, 2nd was about nearly after 2 months when it keeps auto-rebooting and they gave me a replacement foc + 3 more months warranty.

So need not jump the gun to change it immediately if you're comfortable with a refurb set like me which lasted a good 1.5 years or so until I sold the car.
Yes I am aware of that - and that is exactly what I did not like about their after-sales service.

For goodness' sake, the in-car camera is a piece of electronics that they sell for over $400+. Why would the distributor bring this product in with a "zero repairs" policy and instead push the customer to "trade up" for their latest model whenever problems arise and the warranty runs out?

Seems very fishy or irresponsible to me, that either the iRoad product is of such an inferior quality that they don't even bother to repair it, or the after-sales service staff simply do not have the knowledge to perform repairs.

Comage

Small accessories. Don't expect much lah.
Sigh, and that is the problem here...

Not everyone treats accessories like buying Chinese tyres at $50/pc or $200 for 4 tyres, just get the cheapest will do.

The in-car camera market? I want to buy a solid one that will last me at least 5 years, but there's no such thing in the market even at any price. What a disappointment.

myviowner

Sigh, and that is the problem here...

Not everyone treats accessories like buying Chinese tyres at $50/pc or $200 for 4 tyres, just get the cheapest will do.

The in-car camera market? I want to buy a solid one that will last me at least 5 years, but there's no such thing in the market even at any price. What a disappointment.
My bolehland car installed 2 ch (Front: Blackvue, Rear :Thinkware) Bgt it as used set. $200 + with installation. Non-wifi model. Car renewed COE, only replaced once the sd cards.

Comage

My bolehland car installed 2 ch (Front: Blackvue, Rear :Thinkware) Bgt it as used set. $200 + with installation. Non-wifi model. Car renewed COE, only replaced once the sd cards.
Don't even remind me of the sdcard... The iRoad I have burnt through 3 x sdcards in the first 2 years and then it degraded.

Something to do with heat? Yes for sure, because I once put a thermometer and the temperature went up to 54°C.

I would expect heat to be something these cameras are able to tolerate.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.