Recommendations for computer speakers

i1magic

Hi all. I need a recommendation for a speaker which is decent for music, some gaming and movies.

I used to own a ATP3 which I loved, and it last me for 18+ years and is still working. Last July, I bought a Logitech z623 on sale for like $135, with hope that it will be an upgrade. Unfortunately, z623 is not better than ATP3.

The clarity of the ATP3 is superior to z623. There are many songs that used to sound impactful vocally, and has the clarity instrumentals wise with ATP3 that doesn't sound good at all with z623. I listen to all genres, but a good example will be Celine Dion's To Love You More, which is great on ATP3 but muffled and dull on z623. I have given my ATP3 away to one of my family who is enjoying it.

So, I am currently looking for a speaker that allows me to enjoy music once again, on par or better than ATP3, and can be used for gaming/movies as well. Budget will be $100+ to $250. I have heard of swans m10, creative t40, and some edifier speakers.

Any recommendation from people who own these or others speakers which is decent enough for music?

Swam M10 is really quite value for $$ but lacks in bass. If you are NOT into bass, can try Swam M10.

I was actually planning to get the Logitech Z625. Then saw this post of yours and think don't bother liao.

If budget allows, can consider Klipsch ProMedia 2.1. That one should have really kick ass sound.

raylite

Up for Swan M50W too.. used since March 2015.. Sounds great with an onboard sound card, + it looks good with the wood accent too!

Its just a little bulky, especially the subwoofer..

algerr

Hi TS,

If you are more into music, has limited space to put speakers and does not mind doing away with subwoofer, you may want to try Edifier Luna Eclipse e25HD.

Another bro also mentioned iloud speaker.

There's a comparison here:

Hope it helps.

xJoker

I am using e25hd. It really punches above its weight.

Coming from creative t3. Lack of sub woofer is my primary concern. But surprisingly, e25hd has pretty good base for a 2.0 above a certain volume. Not to mention its clarity is way above t3.

And it looks darn blardy good as well

Cheese Steak

I am using the R2000DB for almost 6 months. Really worth $189. It sounds better than the e25 to me. Was considering either of them, but the bigger enclosure may put you off if you do not have any space. Also the r2000db was 10 bucks cheaper than the e25 Luna when I got it. But do not get at retail $249, I feel that for $249 you could maybe get better speakers at carousell.

Lynben

Get theJawbone minijambox.... Its best value for money. I bought 1 from pitmoney @ jcube for just $17.90.

Godeau

Hi TS,

If you are more into music, has limited space to put speakers and does not mind doing away with subwoofer, you may want to try Edifier Luna Eclipse e25HD.

Another bro also mentioned iloud speaker.

There's a comparison here:

Hope it helps.

Oh yeah, the Edifier e25HD is pretty decent for a 2.0, have a set that I hook up on my laptop. That being said though, although i appreciate the sharing of sound test demo youtube videos, i personally find them to be not so useful as the music track has already been compressed by youtube and moreover, your current audio setup affects the listening experience tremendously, so I would say it doesn't do much justice to whichever speaker that is being introduced in the video. Just my 2cents

wwenze

I am using the R2000DB for almost 6 months. Really worth $189. It sounds better than the e25 to me. Was considering either of them, but the bigger enclosure may put you off if you do not have any space. Also the r2000db was 10 bucks cheaper than the e25 Luna when I got it. But do not get at retail $249, I feel that for $249 you could maybe get better speakers at carousell.

Kind of true, considering I sold my A5+ for $200 over there, and 3 guys still lowballed me for $150.

On the other hand, I don't recommend second-hand speakers unless the price difference is really huge

First is personal experience from buying one with a faulty tweeter. After one hour of listening at home I noticed one tweeter is generating extra harmonics. To the extent it was recordable with music. I recorded it and sent to the seller and the seller told me he can't hear a difference. Interesting coming from a guy who is still actively selling his tubes and equipment over at xtremeplace forum. Take a moment to digest that.

Point is, take lots of caution when buying from somebody who looks like a dealer. Actually, just don't buy from dealers. In fact, just reject on the spot. Don't need to give courtesy to them because they won't give it to you.

A somewhat related one is buying the Paradigm Atoms from Cash Converters and finding out the foam has all rotted. They have a good return policy (and yes, when Cash Converter's return policy can be called good, you know how screwed up person-to-person trading can be) and it was $30 so it was actually a good deal, so I kept that.

Next, even on HWZ's own audio subforum, there are some people who mistakenly revealed that they have sold problematic products before. Like they will reply to threads "my xxxxxx equipment has the same problem too!" And then when I told them how to fix, they go "oops I already sold it, not with me anymore". Think the best one was somebody who said he had a Klipsch with a rotted surround and he just sold it without repairing it.

Point I'm trying to make: Audio equipment, especially speakers, are consumables that die with age and usage. However problems with audio are hard to detect. Can you hear the difference between a $200 amp and a $2000 amp? If you can't, what makes u sure the $2000 amp you are buying has not degraded to $200 standard?

Next is the more obvious total functionality failure. Most active speakers don't last over 5 years. Most in the sense that it depends on the design. Some cheap speakers last 20 years. Meanwhile I just took on a repair job for another M50W earlier this year. Audioengine is pretty famous too. But remember to adjust for how many people own these speakers.

And just when you thought passive speakers don't spoil, I'm going to take on a repair for a Monitor Audio crossover. Also, the degrading surround famous in A2 and Promedia, these can happen on passive speakers too.

I would say the typical lifespan is 5 years for active and 10 years for passive. So when you're buying second-hand speakers, you need to prorate by the amount of lifespan remaining. No point paying half price for something that dies a year later.

The more problematic one is still the reduced performance that is hard to detect. Better hope you have manufacturer warranty during this time period, so that you have all the time you need to detect any issue.

And then there's still the risk of dealing with scumbags. Or just visiting carouhell in general.

I find myself in a dilemma as such. For things up to a few hundred dollars, considering your daily salary, it becomes unfeasible to have to deal with carouhell. Yet for things at 4 digits, the scumbag ratio increases.

Cheese Steak

Kind of true, considering I sold my A5+ for $200 over there, and 3 guys still lowballed me for $150.

On the other hand, I don't recommend second-hand speakers unless the price difference is really huge

First is personal experience from buying one with a faulty tweeter. After one hour of listening at home I noticed one tweeter is generating extra harmonics. To the extent it was recordable with music. I recorded it and sent to the seller and the seller told me he can't hear a difference. Interesting coming from a guy who is still actively selling his tubes and equipment over at xtremeplace forum. Take a moment to digest that.

Point is, take lots of caution when buying from somebody who looks like a dealer. Actually, just don't buy from dealers. In fact, just reject on the spot. Don't need to give courtesy to them because they won't give it to you.

A somewhat related one is buying the Paradigm Atoms from Cash Converters and finding out the foam has all rotted. They have a good return policy (and yes, when Cash Converter's return policy can be called good, you know how screwed up person-to-person trading can be) and it was $30 so it was actually a good deal, so I kept that.

Next, even on HWZ's own audio subforum, there are some people who mistakenly revealed that they have sold problematic products before. Like they will reply to threads "my xxxxxx equipment has the same problem too!" And then when I told them how to fix, they go "oops I already sold it, not with me anymore". Think the best one was somebody who said he had a Klipsch with a rotted surround and he just sold it without repairing it.

Point I'm trying to make: Audio equipment, especially speakers, are consumables that die with age and usage. However problems with audio are hard to detect. Can you hear the difference between a $200 amp and a $2000 amp? If you can't, what makes u sure the $2000 amp you are buying has not degraded to $200 standard?

Next is the more obvious total functionality failure. Most active speakers don't last over 5 years. Most in the sense that it depends on the design. Some cheap speakers last 20 years. Meanwhile I just took on a repair job for another M50W earlier this year. Audioengine is pretty famous too. But remember to adjust for how many people own these speakers.

And just when you thought passive speakers don't spoil, I'm going to take on a repair for a Monitor Audio crossover. Also, the degrading surround famous in A2 and Promedia, these can happen on passive speakers too.

I would say the typical lifespan is 5 years for active and 10 years for passive. So when you're buying second-hand speakers, you need to prorate by the amount of lifespan remaining. No point paying half price for something that dies a year later.

The more problematic one is still the reduced performance that is hard to detect. Better hope you have manufacturer warranty during this time period, so that you have all the time you need to detect any issue.

And then there's still the risk of dealing with scumbags. Or just visiting carouhell in general.

I find myself in a dilemma as such. For things up to a few hundred dollars, considering your daily salary, it becomes unfeasible to have to deal with carouhell. Yet for things at 4 digits, the scumbag ratio increases.

Understand what u meant, tried to sell my 4 months old tws, so that i do not have excess earphones at home. I was trying to sell it for half the price and ppl still lowball me till 1/4 of the price. It was a fairly new tws with warranty. So i decided to keep it and let it rot, rather than let those people have it.

iduncheckmail

very ex leh

I bought from amazon . ~$280 w shipping. Ok lah won’t say I’d damn ex, considering how much people usually spend on monitors , keyboards, laptop/PC.
What I like is that it’s super small footprint & it’s got one of the most true to recording sound. Some speakers are tuned for games , music , movies etc. So this one can say is they tuned it to sound most natural to the original.
They hav a bigger bro to this also, that one is tok gong. ~1k for one speaker .

Xethos

unfortunately, Logitech speakers doesn't sound great out of the box. You'll need to do some tuning using your sound card software (ex... Realtek HD Audio Manager) or a separate equalizer software.

Try and see if it improves the sound quality on your Z623.

I actually did try using the Equalizer APO, to see if it helps but it does not improve much at all. I came to realise that this speaker does not have a tweeter driver to produce better, crisp high frequency sound. If you turn the bass knob all the way down, the resulting sound is really like a low quality speaker like people have said.

Xethos

From what I see online, it sells $255+. You got it on sale plus vouchers?

Edifier Bookshelf R1280DB BT Bluetooth Speakers are pretty good.

I am considering this at the moment. I like the looks and reviews seems decent.

Anyone ever tried using a Radio Boombox or mini Hi-Fi as Speakers?

e44210d71584900a279e47fcb4cf24bb

FX15_12-IMS-en_US

algerr

Oh yeah, the Edifier e25HD is pretty decent for a 2.0, have a set that I hook up on my laptop. That being said though, although i appreciate the sharing of sound test demo youtube videos, i personally find them to be not so useful as the music track has already been compressed by youtube and moreover, your current audio setup affects the listening experience tremendously, so I would say it doesn't do much justice to whichever speaker that is being introduced in the video. Just my 2cents

Agreed with u on that.

Best is to go to shop that physically displays the model and hear the live demo for yourself..

But with this ongoing ** period...very hard.. :s13:

wwenze

There was an e25 at Bugis Challenger, dunno if it is still there.

Yea agree with going down and seeing. Coz you look at pictures of e25 you would think it is a small speaker. Then when you see the real thing and then go "wtf".

And that is when I realize, yes the woofer is 3-inch, but the speaker enclosure is shaped like a football. Or handegg for non-Americans.

wwenze

Anyone ever tried using a Radio Boombox or mini Hi-Fi as Speakers?

e44210d71584900a279e47fcb4cf24bb

FX15_12-IMS-en_US

I started experimenting with a pair of Sharp bookshelves from a cd/radio/cassette. Which is already by-design way better than these garbages. :s13: It was at least a proper 2-way speaker with a proper dome tweeter (probably a small one like 0.75" or 0.5") and reflex port. Hooked them up to a 2.1 speaker that lost its satellites.

That said, even a proper boombox sounds nicer than the typical computer speaker. Mainly due to sheer size.

I have owned my fair share of bad bookshelves too, those from hi-fi sets. Some I just gave away for free because I couldn't think of them as sell-able at any price. Even if they appear pretty, but looks can be deceiving.

You know how some people believe computer speakers sound better than hi-fi sets? It's precisely thanks to these horrible hi-fi sets.

Cheese Steak

From what I see online, it sells $255+. You got it on sale plus vouchers?

I am considering this at the moment. I like the looks and reviews seems decent.

I got it during it show last year. Edifier always give quite a lot of discount during the it show period

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.