Recommendations for computer speakers

i1magic

Chill just asking. If you don't want to reply can just ignore my post.

Don't have to chill because I wasn't pissed. LOL!

I was just asking what are you looking for in sound. Because different people like different things.

86technie

Don't have to chill because I wasn't pissed. LOL!

I was just asking what are you looking for in sound. Because different people like different things.
No problem, I like balanced sound but it's really hard to find.
Currently experimenting with Creative SB Z new driver and software.
The Sound blaster command quite of confusing to use.

xSupremex

I am looking to replace my aging Argo M, looking for 2.0 speaker that is mainly for Desktop / ability to switch connectivity via BT to play music while using laptop. Is T60 or T100 better in sound quality? Mainly YouTube and Spotify only.

i1magic

At Logitech G560 price of $329
Edifier e25HD / 1700 /1850 are all cheaper and better options imho.

Logitech G560 got so expensive meh? I just checked, most about $259.

I got it during some special discount at about $180 (with delivery) on Lazada in Dec 2020.

i1magic

I almost got the Edifier R1280DB.

And it is cheaper than the Logitech G560. Now it is $134 on Shopee.

Wah, the Edifier R1280DB seems to sounds quite good.

But since I already got the Logitech G560 already, just stay with it lah.

My previous 2.1 speakers is the Swam M10, which I feel is quite good also liao.

Jurchen King

Logitec 5.1 surround. Many people underestimate the benefits of true surround audio and think they can make do with simulated surround headphones. True surround sound makes a HUGE difference especially playing FPS or watching movies.

2.0 Headphones is all you need for FPS.
That's what all pro gamer uses.

imho Surround sound is overrated.
Even Creative SFXI also cmi.

86technie

Agree Headphone and 2.0/2.1 speaker is more than enough for gaming.
There are not a lot of 5.1 speaker, the Logitech Z607 is bad seriously so do not get it.
The sub can't handle certain low frequency and the surround isn't very convincing.

The next will be logitech z906 but the bass is too heavy.
Not to mention 5.1 speaker it will create cable mess.
Get a decent Headphone and 2.0/2.1 speaker than add a sound card.

Shahmatt

i saw in another thread, from home theatre systems. recommend 2.0 / 2.1 desktop speakers.
learned bout this swan brand. where is this product from?

the m10plus has smaller satellites, can save space. (sgd179 from lazada)

If you are really tight on desktop space then get display speakers (I recommend LG), supplement with a dedicated subwoofer with up to 200Hz range. Use software to manage the crossover. This is what I have done.

noangel7

looking for some advice:
Have been happy with my setup for 4 years+ but lately notice that the sound seems to be muffled. eg. the bass is not a clear thump but a muffled one. Worse, vocals are also muffled. very noticeable on Zoom lessons and i always have to turn the volume super high but still can't seem to hear the lecturer clearly.

One way I mitigated my issue was to use EQ to cut out all highs and lows and push up the vocals part but it distorts all my music.

Current setup: Denon M39 with Cambridge Audio speakers plugged in via Digital Sound
my pc audio ports are all not working except digital sound. pc is about 5 years old but working well except for this problem.
Another problem is that the digital port on my AVR is loose due to the cover breaking off but since digital goes by light signal, i just straighten and tighten.

Any ideas what i can buy to help my problem? Do i need new speakers? (not looking to change PC at the moment cos of high prices)

Budget if I need new speakers is $300-$500. I also enjoy that my current set up can connect to many sources - PC, chromecast audio, CD (rarely used) & Radio (rarely used)

I also have Fiio BTR3k and Sennheiser HD598 for Headphone and DAC

Thank you for advice

wwenze

Does the problem exist when you are using Digital Sound?

You should check whether it is PC problem or speaker problem first. Play a CD or something.

noangel7

Does the problem exist when you are using Digital Sound?

You should check whether it is PC problem or speaker problem first. Play a CD or something.
The CD part also spoilt o_O but i attached a diskman to the analog in. vocals is ok. bass is muffled. same as with digital

wwenze

See whether one channel or both channels

Both channels = amp dead
One channel = Either speaker or one side of the amp dead.

Play this video. As the frequency goes lower, see if it starts to sound more square / techno / alien / nasal and then starts sounding like it is sh*tting itself.

noangel7

A1 55 hz is the last audible sound for me, no bad sound, sound sounds ok, pretty rounded

c3 130.81Hz is extra loud compared to the rest

Sorry, both channels or one channel, how do i test? both have sound

86technie

looking for some advice:
Have been happy with my setup for 4 years+ but lately notice that the sound seems to be muffled. eg. the bass is not a clear thump but a muffled one. Worse, vocals are also muffled. very noticeable on Zoom lessons and i always have to turn the volume super high but still can't seem to hear the lecturer clearly.

One way I mitigated my issue was to use EQ to cut out all highs and lows and push up the vocals part but it distorts all my music.

Current setup: Denon M39 with Cambridge Audio speakers plugged in via Digital Sound
my pc audio ports are all not working except digital sound. pc is about 5 years old but working well except for this problem.
Another problem is that the digital port on my AVR is loose due to the cover breaking off but since digital goes by light signal, i just straighten and tighten.

Any ideas what i can buy to help my problem? Do i need new speakers? (not looking to change PC at the moment cos of high prices)

Budget if I need new speakers is $300-$500. I also enjoy that my current set up can connect to many sources - PC, chromecast audio, CD (rarely used) & Radio (rarely used)

I also have Fiio BTR3k and Sennheiser HD598 for Headphone and DAC

Thank you for advice
I suggest you get Edifier R1210DB Instead.

812O+P4b9fL._AC_SX679_.jpg

For your PC have you ensure the correct driver have been installed so the jack sensing will work?
Usually onboard if you connect any speaker it should prompt whether are you connecting
to a headphone/speaker, if there no prompt properly wrong driver installed.

Speaker rarely spoilt so could be amp, have you tried with other sources like handphone etc.
To me I suspect could the PC sound card issue.

noangel7

For your PC have you ensure the correct driver have been installed so the jack sensing will work?
Usually onboard if you connect any speaker it should prompt whether are you connecting
to a headphone/speaker, if there no prompt properly wrong driver installed.

Speaker rarely spoilt so could be amp, have you tried with other sources like handphone etc.
To me I suspect could the PC sound card issue.

Not going to fiddle with the PC anymore. installed and uninstalled drivers and even did clean install of windows many times. problem persists.

Have used CD input and Chromecast Audio input. Similar issue with the muffled bass for music.

86technie

Not going to fiddle with the PC anymore. installed and uninstalled drivers and even did clean install of windows many times. problem persists.

Have used CD input and Chromecast Audio input. Similar issue with the muffled bass for music.
Could be amp problem and I recommend get the Edifier bookshelf instead of changing.

wwenze

Just see whether both speakers have the muffled sound lor. You can put your ear closer to one speaker and see whether both speakers sound the same. You can also just disconnect one speaker and test one at a time.

Making sure both speakers sound the same is important to judge if the speaker themselves are working, since it is unlikely for both speakers to be damaged to the same extent at the same time.

From your description it looks like the speakers are good and the amp is damaged. But just make sure both speakers sound the same. Then you can just buy a $50 amp, and probably have to add EQ in Windows in case the Denon amp itself has EQ.

The loud c3 130Hz is common for HDB room, so you will want to EQ that away too.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.