So guys,

based on what y’all suggest:
My budget $100-$200
1. Z407
2. E25HD
3. R1280DBs
4. R1700
5. R1850DB
6. T60/T100 (only list this because very sleek)
7. Anymore?

can recommend me 1?
to me, I don’t think it’s time for me to invest on audio experience. I mean I care, I have IEM. But I don’t have those amplifier, subwoofer, modified cable, high-end headphone etc.

wwenze

So guys,

My budget $100-$200
1. Z407
2. E25HD
3. R1280DBs
4. R1700
5. R1850DB
7. Anymore?

can recommend me 1?
to me, I don’t think it’s time for me to invest on audio experience. I mean I care, I have IEM. But I don’t have those amplifier, subwoofer, modified cable, high-end headphone etc.

From the list, R1850DB, period. But it's also the most expensive, so, *shrug*.
If you give me a choice between R1280DBs or R1850DB and ask me if I should pay the extra money, I would.

I think R1700BT might be the same thing but without the digital inputs. R1850DB has slightly better max power however so it may not be entirely the same.

VonDeVous

What model you got ?
jvc (rather old 20years maybe?)
So guys,

My budget $100-$200
1. Z407
2. E25HD
3. R1280DBs
4. R1700
5. R1850DB
7. Anymore?

can recommend me 1?

my budget is the same as u.

i add for u 2 more. Swans d1100. $149
u may wana go chai chee lane and test it if u are staying nearby.
u can test any models available there.

also there's jbl quantum duo. $179

https://www.hardwarezone.com.sg/review-hivi-swanspeakers-d100-speakers-review-singapore-price
You can set up an appointment to audition these speakers with their distributor, Tech Dynamic, here. '
i do like this pair of swans d100. currently oos.

swans d1100 is the same category as edifier dbs1280s.

end of day, you are the 1 buying. most importantly, you need to be satisfied with the sound coming from it.
also take your measurements to make sure you have space for your speakers.

i'm using a ergo movable height speakers. so this also need to put into consideration if i put a woofer on the floor.

razor's edge

Just see whether both speakers have the muffled sound lor. You can put your ear closer to one speaker and see whether both speakers sound the same. You can also just disconnect one speaker and test one at a time.

Making sure both speakers sound the same is important to judge if the speaker themselves are working, since it is unlikely for both speakers to be damaged to the same extent at the same time.

From your description it looks like the speakers are good and the amp is damaged. But just make sure both speakers sound the same. Then you can just buy a $50 amp, and probably have to add EQ in Windows in case the Denon amp itself has EQ.

The loud c3 130Hz is common for HDB room, so you will want to EQ that away too.
is it beyond repair if one speaker sounds a lot softer than the other?

i1magic

There is a new firmware update that allows you to adjust the subwoofer volume via their logitech g hub and the volume level has also been fixed. Seems good now!

Yes. I have tried the new firmware. Seem not bad.

The low volume sounds better now, with the fix I posted, the low volume sounds muffered.

LordReaper

I recently bought a new R1700BT edifier speaker from Edifier Official Store on Shopee. Initially, the store delayed the shipment and told me they got stock issue. When I almost cancelled the order then they shipped out the item.

When I unboxed, the remote controller inside is without the front protector sticker (backside has the transparent protector sticker) and there were scratches over the front side that you can see under reflection... There was even 2 tapes on the seal for the remote control, like the original seal has been opened and re-tape...

It seems like a refurbish/return unit to me... Not a pleasant buying experience even with the official store... disappointed..

Kennedy

the Creative T12 is the best for less than $100 2.0 speakers. it is small and powerful, and is a nice fit alongside the desktop monitor.

LordReaper

Hello all,

End up bought Edifier R1700BT (with budget of $150+/-) despite having 100cm table. Not a pleasant buying experience though as posted above, #448.

Anyways, here is my setup with R1700BT on a 100x60cm table, the size of Monitor is 27inch and laptop is 15.6inch for reference to anyone who is eyeing on bookshelf speakers but with limited desk space.

-Photo removed-

boobip

I am looking to replace my aging Argo M, looking for 2.0 speaker that is mainly for Desktop / ability to switch connectivity via BT to play music while using laptop. Is T60 or T100 better in sound quality? Mainly YouTube and Spotify only.
I own both.

Actually u won't go wrong with either if coming from laptop speakers or $20 usb powered multimedia speakers. Both T60 and T100 are very capable Desktop 2.0 speakers that take up a small footprint without the need to allocate space for a subwoofer.

To answer your question in terms of sound quality especially in the vocal department and mid-highs, T100 definitely sounds better (not just marginally). They just sound 'fuller'. Look at the creative specs comparison between T60 vs T100. Soundstage is naturally wider on the T100 than the T60 . You'll need to switch on surround mode on the T60 in order to expand the soundstage, else it will sound concentrated at the placement of the speakers. But even when you do so, the T100 still sounds more 'airy'.

T60 is built with WFH in mind for the user. The headset mode is very well received by consumers, just one button press switches sound from the speaker to route through the headset. There's a creative app that allows you to tweak a lot of settings for the T60 like eq modes and customized settings, but my experience with such apps is that - unless they include more of their upcoming speaker systems to be covered by the app, most likely in 3 years time, support will end for the app and in 6 years time the app will feel old and useless. (My creative speakers all last more than 10 years with me, so apps for speakers like my SoundblasterAXX have become unuseable on iOS) . EQ settings are placed on the remote control of the T100 and there's only a few modes with Treble and Bass adjustment. However, in terms of using Clear Dialogue on the T60 to enhance vocals, I just keep the T100 permanently on 'Cinematic' mode. This makes the vocals more pronounced and natural sounding, and I just have to adjust the bass levels to my liking.

The bass level on both are pretty alright, thumps can be felt, just no sub-bass rumble. The speakers struggle and the attempts to push out sub-bass feels messy and uncontrolled, compared to systems with a subwoofer.

Perhaps a good analogy is the SONOS One series speakers. Tight and controlled bass thumps, just miserable in the sub-bass department, and that's why SONOS wants to sell you their very expensive subwoofer. Same case as the T60 and T100, just no subwoofer to buy lol

Overall, in terms of use case, I don't use the T60 or T100 for WFH/Zoom Conferences. I use my Galaxy Buds Live for this purpose. I just bought the T60 to replace the T100, but sure looks like the T100 is staying as my laptop multimedia speakers (based on my preference) and I'll probably use the T60 as my bedroom TV speakers instead (for the Clear Dialogue mode).

VonDeVous

Hello all,

End up bought Edifier R1700BT (with budget of $150+/-) despite having 100cm table. Not a pleasant buying experience though as posted above, #448.

Anyways, here is my setup with R1700BT on a 100x60cm table, the size of Monitor is 27inch and laptop is 15.6inch for reference to anyone who is eyeing on bookshelf speakers but with limited desk space.

bFtT8xG.jpg

vM9tnIC.jpg
nice review. but u miss out talking bout the sound from the speakers. lol :s13:

i'm using a 120x60 ergo table. still quite cramp for me. got too much things on my table. haha

freshvibes

Hello all,

bFtT8xG.jpg

vM9tnIC.jpg

Looks clean and neat even with a smaller table.

Phen8210

I recently bought a new R1700BT edifier speaker from Edifier Official Store on Shopee. Initially, the store delayed the shipment and told me they got stock issue. When I almost cancelled the order then they shipped out the item.

When I unboxed, the remote controller inside is without the front protector sticker (backside has the transparent protector sticker) and there were scratches over the front side that you can see under reflection... There was even 2 tapes on the seal for the remote control, like the original seal has been opened and re-tape...

It seems like a refurbish/return unit to me... Not a pleasant buying experience even with the official store... disappointed..
seems like u got rip off

ItsmeagainhK

I bought the Logitech G506 about 2 months ago and have been loving it. The bass ... wow. Im not an audiophile though.

ItsmeagainhK

Aiya, it is Logitech G560 lah. You see what you posted.

I got this also. How much did you buy this at? Got promotion now?
Lol number tombaleg lah. hahaha. I got mine from a shop in sls when they were having a promo in July this year. It was going on for 180 or 189 or 199 i cannot remember. Now they are selling it for 259 thereabouts. I know it was below the prices other shops were selling it for by quite abit back then. Really loved the bass!

Shahmatt

Dear speaker gurus. Will what is in the below image work?

Screenshot-2021-10-15-004150.png

I want to DIY a 2.1 speaker setup by connecting to a 3.5mm adapter in the way shown. Hope to plug it directly into PC without need for amp. The speakers are resonance speaker types like the Dayton or Aiyima.

I am mainly concerned about impedance. Left and right channels are 8Ohms, but subwoofer (Wharfedale S8E) is 20,000Ohms. From what little I know the effective impedance at input is around 3.99 Ohms. Any chance of damaging the subwoofer?

wwenze

Subwoofer won't care. Your soundcard however will.

It will make sound, but at a reduced volume before clipping, and you will also have no bass.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.