Recommendations for home printer

corymalark

Am looking for a printer with scan and print wirelessly. Colour laser seems too expensive to maintain. With the wide choices available, which brand would you recommend for inkjet printers? Carrridge or tank? Thanks

yusoffb01

i have been using epson l210 for 7 years. still can print photographs no issues. all epson has built in waste ink pad full failure after 20000 prints. but you can download a printer reset utility and continue using.

xtractor

im using HP 3630 wireless colour printer cost me around $64 @ qoo10....and i thought it wont last long but now already reach over 2 years and still running and am using compatible ink catridge :D

u can find almost similar but newer model HP 2621 online but a bit pricey
around $89 but if u have CC discount etc u can get lesser

Project_Xco

Tank last very long compared to catridge. However, both are inkjet heads which get clog up easily if you don't print often.

For people who seldom print, laser printer might be a better choice.

corymalark

Tank last very long compared to catridge. However, both are inkjet heads which get clog up easily if you don't print often.

For people who seldom print, laser printer might be a better choice.

That’s something I didn’t foresee. How do you deal with that. Any simple fixes at home?

tsteo77

I'm using cannon G2010 3 in 1 ink tank printer. I print some test pages after a few days to prevent dry up of ink head.

Swiftbladez

I'm using cannon G2010 3 in 1 ink tank printer. I print some test pages after a few days to prevent dry up of ink head.

Every few days or once a month is enough? My first ink tank spoil (epson don't know what model but one of the earlier models) but now get another one (brother this time). Thinking to print once a month. Not sure if enough...

i1magic

Am looking for a printer with scan and print wirelessly. Colour laser seems too expensive to maintain. With the wide choices available, which brand would you recommend for inkjet printers? Carrridge or tank? Thanks

Don't bother with colour laser unless you print a lot. As for ink type, as what some of them said, if you don't print much, will dry up.

If you are look at occasional printing, black laser All-in-one is good. For scanning, if you want to be able to put whole stack of paper on it and then scan all into one document, then you need to get those with Document Feeder.

wongminmin

if document, i would recommend mono laser printer....very cost saving.
i find that those color laser printer quality is sort of bad, then color toner kind of expensive.
laser no need maintenance....few month never use...also won't spoil.

if inkjet maintenance, need to print every 1~2 weeks to prevent dry up.

hp is good budget printer for small printing, if bulk printing...cmi.... print a few...ran out of ink........

epson for inkjet.
brother/samsung for mono laser.

tsteo77

Every few days or once a month is enough? My first ink tank spoil (epson don't know what model but one of the earlier models) but now get another one (brother this time). Thinking to print once a month. Not sure if enough...

Every few days is more than enough. Once a week should be fine.

Project_Xco

That’s something I didn’t foresee. How do you deal with that. Any simple fixes at home?

I have no solution to it. So I have Epson L605 Ink Tank Printer at home and I encourage everyone in my house to print regularly. So it is being used once a week or two. Ink lasted me 3 years and i spend $40 to top up all 4 colors. I had to bring to service ctr once as ink cartridge gets clog up when 2 year warranty abt to expire.

I also bought a Brother L3270CDW laser printer for my parents place because I know they don't print offen but sometimes need to print.

Both printers cost roughly the same $300+. I noticed far superior print quality coming from the laser printer than ink tank printer.

super365

i have been using epson l210 for 7 years. still can print photographs no issues. all epson has built in waste ink pad full failure after 20000 prints. but you can download a printer reset utility and continue using.

Does it mean after 20000 prints the printer cannot print anymore unless you reset it using software? Only Epson brand has this 20000 prints thing correct?
Will the printer reset utility work for all Epson printers? Where to get printer reset utility software? I think can only reset 1 time.

i1magic

I settled for a Brother monochrome laser printer with scanning & duplex printing. Can act as photocopier.

Wanted to get a $329 colour laser from HP (178nw no duplex) but OOS for a very long time. Could have gone for a Brother colour laser printer but it costs twice the price of the mono printer.

Avoid inkjet. Printheads get clogged easily after a few weeks of inactivity. You flush them, ink gone pretty quick.

Don't bother about laser colour unless you print alot.

For printers, remember the general rule of the thumb :

1. Cheap printers usually have expensive consumables.
2. Expensive printers (usually people print more), have lower cost per page.

So when you see a printer very cheap, do check out how much the consumable cost first before deciding.

Personally for occasional printing, my personal advice is just get mono laser. Can last longer.

LegendZenify

I personally have a brother color laser printer, purchased for $400 back then, which does duplex print, adf scan, fax, with wireless.

Toners wise are pretty cheap, can purchase compatible ones from taobao for 30 yuan (~6 SGD).

Personally I like the convenience and versatility of having a color laser (no need to be concerned with ink drying up and able to print color when I need it)

i1magic

I personally have a brother color laser printer, purchased for $400 back then, which does duplex print, adf scan, fax, with wireless.

Toners wise are pretty cheap, can purchase compatible ones from taobao for 30 yuan (~6 SGD).

Personally I like the convenience and versatility of having a color laser (no need to be concerned with ink drying up and able to print color when I need it)

Yah. For printers, consumable cost is more important.

If can get from Taobao, then it is a good thing. Maybe should find what are the common consumables first online, then decide which printer to buy.

Yes. I would love to have colour printer at home also.

i1magic

Here’s what I gathered before ending up with a bro mono printer.

Colour laser printers - HP is cheaper than Brother
Their toners - Brother is cheaper than HP

So you’re correct which is also applied to inkjets.

I need duplex printing. HP doesn’t have for laser at consumer level. But their injket printers have duplex. :s22:

I was worried about OS issues but it’s unfounded.

But laser printers damn noisy. :s13:

Laser printer is noisy meh? My Samsung mono laser printer is pretty quiet.

corymalark

This is so useful!

My key take away for home printing solution:
INKJET - for regular but small printing needs. Must print once a week thereabouts so the inkjet heads don’t clog up. For heavy printing, ink runs out.

Main uses imagine will be for school work, and arts & craft projects. Print quality not as good as laser, so it may not be a solution for work or even school projects where quality matters.

LASER - for heavy printing jobs or for those with occasional needs only. Pros - does not have the inkjet head clogging problem with lack of use. Can have a scanner, copier and printer at home for convenience. Cons - expensive.

Important Pointers: get toners from Taobao. Feature wise - get Automatic Document Feeder.

Thank you everyone for sharing.

i1magic

Got the DCP-L2550DW The ADF (automatic document feeder which I don’t really need) is the only difference from the DCP-L2535DW which was out of stock when I made the ordered. L2550DW got ethernet port and double the memory.

Wah, $248 is quite good. If the toner can be bought from Taobao cheaply, then shiok liao. My current Samsung mono laser toner cost about $68 for original. The chiong one going for about $45 on Qoo10. My printer model is Samsung Xpress M2885FW. I didn't buy the chiong one because don't know how is the quality.

i1magic

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.