Recommendations for instant water heater and things to note.

urbanathlon

Those new hdb... Storage better bah... Those little instant heater. Every few years got case...
My instant all last ten to twenty years and above.

They are definitely more points of failure in storage heaters than instant heaters. I don't see why they are better.

hachi

My instant all last ten to twenty years and above.

They are definitely more points of failure in storage heaters than instant heaters. I don't see why they are better.
Define more points? You need one storage heater for 2 bathrooms. And storage heater is located far from water splash compare to instant heaters.

Maybe our points of failures are different for each type..

ahnyaahnya

I used to buy the "got name " brands of instant water heaters.
The first one in my master bedroom lasted many years ( can't remember the name, probably 707 . But I remember got Union Jack on the box. ) More than 10 years. When it went kaput, I replaced with same brand but it died within a couple of years! Changed to another brand (IIRC Joven ) also didn't last long. Fed up bought cheaper one Champs. Liked that one. But lasted several years ( more than the previous heater). Replaced with another Champs
All that in less than 30 years.
In common toilet, IIRC changed only once. First 17 years, it was underutilised. When it gave up, Changed to Panasonic dunno how many years ago. ( more than 5 years ago)

ahnyaahnya

Find Champs is the best so far for me.Parents and mine place over 30yrs no spoil.Get the slightly higher end model wld be ideal.
Can last 30 years? Mine less than 10.
Dunno why my heaters in master bathroom never last long.

ahnyaahnya

Why does my instant water heater keep heating up, able to hear the water boiling, then turning off? The heating switch turns on, the instant water heater knob turns on, and the valve turns off.
Cab hear water boiling?
I think the heater doesn't heat up to boiling temperature leh

Money no have

Think most important need let licensed electrician to install.

even shop you buy from they install also cannot because they used unlicensed worker sia

1982-1994

Not even at the beginning, first few seconds?
I grew up using storage heater but don't remember whether it was like that. But I do remember this problem in my brother's bathrooms
Oh soli, first part got but remains hot all the way
Wanna change to AO Smith gen 8 next time, the sales claimed instant hot upon switching the heater

ahnyaahnya

Oh soli, first part got but remains hot all the way
Wanna change to AO Smith gen 8 next time, the sales claimed instant hot upon switching the heater
I think whatever brand also the same. The water coming out from the tank will be hot. The problem is the mixer .

1982-1994

I think whatever brand also the same. The water coming out from the tank will be hot. The problem is the mixer .
Personally, I would not want to install instant heater to minimize the risk of kena electrocuted
Secondly, to look nicer without a chunk of heater hanging on the wall in the showering area

8-lane

I peasant use Tecno nia... ordered online... anybody oso the same? Have 2 and they turn out ok...

1982-1994

Yes this
Wanted to engage normal licensed electrician to install because it is much cheaper
But think again, I paid $250 for AO smith electricians to do it since I am using their brand ,better be safe than sorry
Been using the heater for coming to 3 years
Think most important need let licensed electrician to install.

even shop you buy from they install also cannot because they used unlicensed worker sia

pohw0008

How long does it take for an instant heater to heat up the water?promptly after switching it on?
All the heater should takes only seconds to heat the water.. but there would be some cold water in the pipe which is not heated up.. that's why when you turn on the tap will take some time for the hot water to reach.. instant water usually is directly connected..

ahnyaahnya

Personally, I would not want to install instant heater to minimize the risk of kena electrocuted
Secondly, to look nicer without a chunk of heater hanging on the wall in the showering area
Better the little instant heater than a big bulky tank . For HDB mah

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.