Red Wing shoe Thread

huhu84

I have been wearing my 1907 for around 10mths. it doesn't "age" like the 875 does right?

that is wat im wondering abt also...just bought the 1907....my 875 age quite fast as i wear it on a daily basis...

HeyApple

Went down to the suntec to try the 875 series. The uncle measured for me size 8e. But i tried the size 8 and it feel so loose. I'm considering to downsize or follow the uncle's recommendations to buy size 8 or down size. But if i do downsize, there's isnt size 7.5 or 7 for some models :( anyone can help advise?

F.Torres

Went down to the suntec to try the 875 series. The uncle measured for me size 8e. But i tried the size 8 and it feel so loose. I'm considering to downsize or follow the uncle's recommendations to buy size 8 or down size. But if i do downsize, there's isnt size 7.5 or 7 for some models :( anyone can help advise?

The measurement won't be wrong, better to follow since there's no 7.5 or 7 for u, why not get size 8 and wear thicker socks if u feel too loose?

SinRed

My personal experience w RW shoes. My norm shoes size is US 8. My 9004 (like 875, but with checkered sides), I bought 9E as it was the last pair and dirt cheap. Wearing it was alrite, but fitted me perfect when I inserted an insole.

My blueberry chukka, i down half a size, US 7.5. My feet damn pain, cant take it. Literally at the end of the day there's serious discomfort just standing in the shoes. I sold it off and gotten a US 8.5 instead. Fits fine now. The chukkas only comes in D width I suppose.

When I measured at the RW store, my size was 8D. But from what I experienced, I'm guessing I need 8E. My conclusion is that for me at least, I should nvr downsize (thats what the ppl at the suntec store says too). Even if too big, nothing an insole cant fix. But if you get too small, prepare to live in discomfort or waste more money to buy the correct size.

mikeeeey

My personal experience w RW shoes. My norm shoes size is US 8. My 9004 (like 875, but with checkered sides), I bought 9E as it was the last pair and dirt cheap. Wearing it was alrite, but fitted me perfect when I inserted an insole.

My blueberry chukka, i down half a size, US 7.5. My feet damn pain, cant take it. Literally at the end of the day there's serious discomfort just standing in the shoes. I sold it off and gotten a US 8.5 instead. Fits fine now. The chukkas only comes in D width I suppose.

When I measured at the RW store, my size was 8D. But from what I experienced, I'm guessing I need 8E. My conclusion is that for me at least, I should nvr downsize (thats what the ppl at the suntec store says too). Even if too big, nothing an insole cant fix. But if you get too small, prepare to live in discomfort or waste more money to buy the correct size.
+1 for truth.

same goes for my 9013 beckman. was measured a 9.5. store at that time don't have 9.5 and I went with the size 10. Now I fit it with a Red Wing insole and its comfy like no other. benefits on an insole is also you can sun it to kill the germs.

From the Red Wing Germany website:
"Sie sollten bei der Größenwahl nicht geizig sein. Wenn Sie zwischen 2 Größen stehen wählen Sie bitte die größere von beiden."

Using Google Transate:
"They should not be stingy with the size of choice. If you are between 2 sizes, please select the larger of the two."

summersky1986

+1 for truth.

same goes for my 9013 beckman. was measured a 9.5. store at that time don't have 9.5 and I went with the size 10. Now I fit it with a Red Wing insole and its comfy like no other. benefits on an insole is also you can sun it to kill the germs.

From the Red Wing Germany website:
"Sie sollten bei der Größenwahl nicht geizig sein. Wenn Sie zwischen 2 Größen stehen wählen Sie bitte die größere von beiden."

Using Google Transate:
"They should not be stingy with the size of choice. If you are between 2 sizes, please select the larger of the two."

9.5? :eek:

Bro your first name is Ronald?

summersky1986

damn sian waiting for my supplier to send me my 9013 :D gotten it at a 30% discount cuz they are the distributor for RW in SEA :D

HeyApple

Thanks for the information about sizing. But size 8 looks quite big on my feet, it really look quite over size. Maybe going down to suntec again to ask for advise. :(

kazuki666

I will say go for the 8 as well.
u really need the thick socks de. If u wear it just nice but without thick socks, i dunno how u going to tahan sia... :p

Decarn

Hi Bro,

I also recommend buying the bigger size.

I recently purchased a pair of 877 and was torn between 7D and 8D. Unlike most Red Wing shoes which are 6 inches, the 877 is 8 inches. Hence I have less room for error. I was thinking since leather will expand, 7D should be sufficient. However, after reading the advice here and in various forums, I opt for the bigger size.

Wearing it for the first few times were quite uncomfortable and I develop blisters on the back of my feet. However, once the leather mold to my feet, I have not look back since. It fitted nicely and I do not even have to buy additional insoles (I did try but it became too tight). No special socks required, just good old fashion army socks. Just bought 3 pairs from the E-mart.

Hope this helps. :)

Noctix

Decarn

army socks are really best lah.
black and thick, and free lor. :s13:

I am wearing the green one meant for combat boots since my 877 are about the same height. I don't think black socks are long enough but good for my dress shoes.

Beta_Tester

theres a guy with 30% off amazon price. im sure much cheaper than SG even with shipping charge in. Do a search in marketplace.. Sharing is Caring. i should be aiming a pair of beckman thru him. :)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.