Red Wing shoe Thread

patryn33

Looks like the "complains" got through to Red Wing US. Amazon now no longer allow overseas shipping for Red Wing.

Congrats to all who got a steal while it lasted!

Mistake on their part, there are still ways outside Amazon.

WeDoIt

Looks like the "complains" got through to Red Wing US. Amazon now no longer allow overseas shipping for Red Wing.

Congrats to all who got a steal while it lasted!

Just use forwarder lor.+ another us$30-40 through

kazuki666

Anyone send their boots to US for resole? Will shukey do a good job for resole? My 875 needs to resole

locally only shukey seems to do it, at least thats what even the Red Wing Singapore recommends...

But if you have lobang and lotsa time in Japan, you will be shocked how they can customised your boots. (and not cheap)

IMGP2584_120816.jpg

IMGP7971_140121.jpg

And also, how do I get rid of the sweat +leather smell?

sweat??? Do you wear wear it everyday without airing it?

bernardgcz

Lineman 2904

Just got these today! The 2094s, anybody here got reviews about it? The length wise is just nice for me, but the sides are a little tight, will these expand over time, if they do, how long will it take? Also, how do i maintain these? TIA!

BTW, wanted to get the 875s, but felt that they were a little bulky for me, so i got these instead, hope i don't regret! But its really a little tight at the front
1964941_10152316431557391_1638920825046024416_n.jpg

Jeremy1

Congrats.

It's will expand after months of wearing if you wear it everyday.

I thought if you buy your pair at the Red Wings Shop, they will measure your both feets to check which size for you ?

Let the boot season first for a few months before doing any maintenance as what I was told by that shop assistant.

kazuki666

Did you get it locally? The background doesn't look like the store in Orchard... :p

If Han is still with the store, I think his recommendations tend to go bigger than fit, so it should not be tight. But to be sure, is it tight on the toes and ball of your feet, or just stiff? If its stiff, that one is no choice, will take quite a while to break in. If its tight on the toes and ball of feet, I may guess you are on the wrong size or width le...

Just curious. Why lineman? Quite a different choice from the usual classic round toe 9111 or beckman series. :)

bernardgcz

I got it from the denim store, cos my initial intent was to get a pair of 875s moctoes, but they ran out of stock at the OGW store, so i went to the denim store at mandarin gallery to have a look, tried the 875s on, but the store assistant advised me to try on the lineman. Tried it on, contemplated a little, and decided that the lineman looks better on me, as it was a slimmer look, and not as bulky as the moctoes, so I went ahead with the lineman. The 875s were more comfortable to be honest, "E" width, but the lineman was only available in "D".

I went with size 8.5. I was told that it will expand over time eh, and cos i tried size 9 and my feet was kinda sliding back and forth. Was already wearing thick socks, so i decided that 8.5 was more ideal, it's just a little tight at the sides la. Length wise okay. Also there's no "E" width for this model.

As to why i got the lineman, I kinda like the fact that the laces starts more from the front of the boots, at the toes, compared to the classic round toe, also the fact that the top 3 eyelets were hooks, and I kinda like it that way, easier to tie up them laces, haha!

thenakedshades

locally only shukey seems to do it, at least thats what even the Red Wing Singapore recommends...

But if you have lobang and lotsa time in Japan, you will be shocked how they can customised your boots. (and not cheap)

IMGP2584_120816.jpg

IMGP7971_140121.jpg

sweat??? Do you wear wear it everyday without airing it?

I wear them almost everyday and i sweat a lot. When i took off my boots, my socks are usually soak wet. Just normal air will do? Need to put under the sun to kill the germs?

kazuki666

I wear them almost everyday and i sweat a lot. When i took off my boots, my socks are usually soak wet. Just normal air will do? Need to put under the sun to kill the germs?

I do supposed you aren't joking, right???
Soaking wet is kinda over. If that's really true, you may not be very suitable to wear boots because honestly it can be quite stuffy, but usually not to the extent of soaking wet. Wet feet over long hours can be quite unhygienic imo, and may lead to possibility of feet conditions. I guess you have not serve NS yet? If not, I cannot imagine how you tahan the outfield lor...

As for airing, I was ever told that its not right to sun the boots for long period like few hours. I will usually just remove the laces and pull the tongue back to air it.

Of course this is just my 2 cents worth...

Noirkw

IMGP2584_120816.jpg

This is really really nice. Only available in Jp ?

Scribblemyname

Wearing leather boots shouldn't sweat that much because leather naturally have open pores. If you have sweaty feet, try buying those feet powder or antiperspirant.

Don't put your boots under the sun for prolong time as the sun will weaken the leather fibre and the colour might be faded as well. To prevent your boots from smelling or any shoe, try not to wear them consecutively over two days. Rotate them daily and allow it to air for a day after wearing a day.

MasonAndSmith

Wearing leather boots shouldn't sweat that much because leather naturally have open pores. If you have sweaty feet, try buying those feet powder or antiperspirant.

Don't put your boots under the sun for prolong time as the sun will weaken the leather fibre and the colour might be faded as well. To prevent your boots from smelling or any shoe, try not to wear them consecutively over two days. Rotate them daily and allow it to air for a day after wearing a day.

Anti perspirant works very well for me!

kazuki666

IMGP2584_120816.jpg

This is really really nice. Only available in Jp ?

I will also love to know if any locals know how to do it. From what I understand its very hands on workmanship, not just glue and go. So its actually not cheap in Japan also, ard 15000yen I think.

patryn33

I will also love to know if any locals know how to do it. From what I understand its very hands on workmanship, not just glue and go. So its actually not cheap in Japan also, ard 15000yen I think.

That's with cost to ship back?

meschan

Any bros here can advise me where is a good place to resole Beckman?
I did a search but all don't really give a solid answer.
Thanks in advance.

i just resoled at shukey, don't think its that bad but they actually stitched through the soles. im fine with that. but if you are generally looking at goodyear stitching resoles, i guess singapore don't really have any cobblers doing it, the majority prefer to buy a new pair and throw away instead of resole.

patryn33

When ppl say Goodyear well is good can save $$ is BS then. Throw and buy new ... Wealthy

DeadshotX

i just resoled at shukey, don't think its that bad but they actually stitched through the soles. im fine with that. but if you are generally looking at goodyear stitching resoles, i guess singapore don't really have any cobblers doing it, the majority prefer to buy a new pair and throw away instead of resole.

how much isit to resole beckman at Shukey?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.