Red Wing shoe Thread

cannotliao

cda163f492f731b77cbf6b23ac5fa3c4.jpg
if moc toe resole like this Nice

Shiro MS08th

Whoever it is, it beats sending it back to RW factory... I was quoted 4~6 months waiting time and 280USD+ :s13:

This one really super expensive and long LOL!

if moc toe resole like this Nice

Yeah, I will be sending in my 875 to resole to full sole raw cord (a bit similar to/closest that Lin has compared to commando sole). No more crepe sole for me, wear out too freaking fast.

kazuki666

this guy work look interesting too
the shipping cost is the killer, resoling is a great idea but every time i calculate the resoling cost plus all the shipping cost. buying a new pair is more sensible way.
I wont get any more white sole again. they are blown rubber, good for cushion but not for durability

Does anyone have experience with Shukey before? I am curious if they are as good as this one...

My 8165 definitely will need a resole soon. The back of the heels left around half cm till it reaches the line...
My 875 still has some lifespan to go, maybe can still tahan.

Btw guys. Anyone know if HK Red Wing is still the cheaper source than Singapore? I was comparing the prices in their official website, seem quite similar pricing le.

Shiro MS08th

Does anyone have experience with Shukey before? I am curious if they are as good as this one...

My 8165 definitely will need a resole soon. The back of the heels left around half cm till it reaches the line...
My 875 still has some lifespan to go, maybe can still tahan.

Btw guys. Anyone know if HK Red Wing is still the cheaper source than Singapore? I was comparing the prices in their official website, seem quite similar pricing le.

No idea how good shukey do the repasting of crepe sole. But I roughly remember other people mentioned it's about $80-90. I feel it's rather expensive for a re pasting and not a resole haha.

patryn33

Whoever it is, it beats sending it back to RW factory... I was quoted 4~6 months waiting time and 280USD+ :s13:

It's usd$100 the shipping fees is usd$180!
https://www.redwingheritage.com/us/USD/page/shoe-repair

Noirkw

F8IQmD1l.jpg

Here's an Alden Indy 405

I wear a 7D in RW Iron Rangers. But sized up 1/2 to 7.5D in the Indys and I'm glad I did. A 7D would have been too small.

Also have a pair of Santalum Service boots in their Slim last. EU 40 fits me like a glove.

If anyone is interested, here are my sizings

RW Iron Rangers - 7D
Wolverine 1k Mile (Original Oxfords) - 7D
Alden Indy - 7.5D
Santalum 5 last - EU 40

Sent from my S7 Edge using GAGT

cannotliao

zUBCG9H.jpg

these all my red wing hoots past few months alone. :s22:
i still got whites, hathorn, viberg, danner...and 1 pair of Wesco otw.:s22:
sometime i thinking should I hoot few pairs of real expensive top end boots then hooting so many pairs of red wing?
for all the red wings, i can hoot 3 pairs of Viberg service boots. :o

Shiro MS08th

zUBCG9H.jpg

these all my red wing hoots past few months alone. :s22:
i still got whites, hathorn, viberg, danner...and 1 pair of Wesco otw.:s22:
sometime i thinking should I hoot few pairs of real expensive top end boots then hooting so many pairs of red wing?
for all the red wings, i can hoot 3 pairs of Viberg service boots. :o

Wah piang your collection power.

I also want Viberg service boots but they are too expensive sia, only can either wait for a chance of sample sale (if I'm fast enough to get it) or hoping for a good deal on used pair on Reddit.

Or alternatively get Truman...

cannotliao

Wah piang your collection power.

I also want Viberg service boots but they are too expensive sia, only can either wait for a chance of sample sale (if I'm fast enough to get it) or hoping for a good deal on used pair on Reddit.

Or alternatively get Truman...
i still got
2x whites smoke jumper
2x of hathorn smoke jumper
1x hathorn traveler
5 pairs of danner mix of super rain forest, mountain light, bull run..etc
1 pair viberg work boot
1 pair Wesco jobmaster

really too many liao :s22:

after tried all these brands
I ranked red wing as mid range.
they are nice looking, comfortable and light boot for daily wear but the quailty and workmanship cannot match the tier 1.
of all the red wing i owned I will rank Beckman as my no.1 best in term of workmanship and fit(for me). the iron ranger also nice but the beckman give me good fit and with better built. the 877 also another nice great classic.

those top brand tier 1 like whites, viberg really no horse run. the quality and workmanship are really there. you can feel the boots are real damn solid but their biggest con is HEAVY. because of their full leather solid construct, a pair weights 2kg or more so wearing them long hours whole day might feel tire for feet.
my wesco is on the way so I got to wait for it but they likely it similar to whites.

if going to spend sgd$400 or more for a pair of boot I rather top up and go for those tier 1 brands. there are many out there just search and read about them.
for shipping I always use ezbuy. they can ship over a pair of boot for $20(average) but also depending on weight/volumetric.

i hoot all my boots with good discount and nice prices.
just hunt around and wait patiently for them online.

out of all i ranked hathorn as the best value for money.
they are make by whites and similar like whites boot but are lighter(more comfortable for daily wear). the built still very solid but the mid sole construct is thinner(still very good) and the leather is harder(likely lower grade than the whites but still very good)
if going to pay full price for a beckman, maybe can check out the hathorn traveler. really nice boot with good solid workmanship and quality.

Shiro MS08th

Cannot quote your post cause more than 2000 characters Liao.

But if next time got lobang sale for Viberg please let us know in this thread.

Yeah I agree with you, actually now all my boots I bought are on sales. Only exception is my first ever RW boots which is a 875 I bought at $200 USD + $20 SGD ezbuy shipping.

Even my recently bought lightly used (5 wears only) Beckman is $120 USD + $20 SGD ezbuy shipping.

Very hard to find good price Viberg service boots new or used sigh.

*edit*
Yes, I do prefer those heavier construction boots, I normally wear RW, then recently bought (and sold after a few wears due to not a good fit/last) a Wolverine 1000 Mile Centennial.
The Wolverine boots really feel much lighter and my feeling is not so sturdy compared to RW.

Looking to buy a MTO Txture Warhorse boots, but their response speed is so slow until I want to faint, last response from them was 1 week ago.
Hoping to quickly finalize all the details for my boots, and hope I can receive in time for my ROM zzz.

cannotliao

wa you really into those not so common brands
you like heavier construction boots? wait til you got chance to try a pair of whites smoke jumper, really no joke. i wore them for whole day i also start to wondering how people going to have these on whole day for wildlland fire fighting.

i always prefer work boots than those fashion style boot. their build is real super solid, they are real work horse that build to last for many years but the weight really..:(
so for daily wear I stil think beckman is the best buy if can hoot one below sgd$$250~$300.

Shiro MS08th

wa you really into those not so common brands
you like heavier construction boots? wait til you got chance to try a pair of whites smoke jumper, really no joke. i wore them for whole day i also start to wondering how people going to have these on whole day for wildlland fire fighting.

i always prefer work boots than those fashion style boot. their build is real super solid, they are real work horse that build to last for many years but the weight really..:(
so for daily wear I stil think beckman is the best buy if can hoot one below sgd$$250~$300.

Just test test la haha.
But really interested to get a Viberg or Truman on sale, at RRP really cannot justify buying with future family commitments coming haha!

So in your opinion Whites or Viberg better?

By the way, the heaviest boots I've ever owned is a Zamberlan 996 VIOZ GTX hiking boots, which I wore quite oftenly when I was traveling years ago (fitter and younger me), I think the boots weigh like freaking 2kg+-?.

http://zamberlanusa.com/catalog/?lang=en&pg=prod&idprod=13&idcat=2

Super heavy and tiring halfway through the day, but really protect/support the legs and fully everything-proof (ok maybe not walking on iceproof), I did some newbie hike at Blue Mountains area/trail in Sydney last time, and also when going to Yunnan/Lijiang Jade Dragon Snow Mountain.

kazuki666

But these boots are on top of your daily working shoes? For me, I gave up getting too many boots already, because I can only wear them on Fridays and weekends. The investment returns is too low le... :p
Red Wing 8165 and 875, Clark's desert boots, they are my dress down footwears le.

Sent from Xiaomi REDMI NOTE 2 using GAGT

cannotliao

Just test test la haha.
But really interested to get a Viberg or Truman on sale, at RRP really cannot justify buying with future family commitments coming haha!

So in your opinion Whites or Viberg better?
I also buy test test ended with so many pairs and to make thing worst whenever I keen in some models very soon some good lobang will pop up.
I started with danner when I looking for quailty work shoes then whites follow by red wing and viberg and wesco.
Red wing is the easiest available, always got good lobang online. maybe because they are mass production, although hand made but they are lesser steps and more machines involvement.
whites and viberg really solid with a lot of hands works involving like hammering. YouTube got many videos about their boots making.
Regarding whites vs viberg, It depending how you look at them.
I got my vibery recently so I still breaking them. To me Viberg got cleaner finish, their boot are solid and make for hard work.especially their nailed construct work boots, you can really appreciate the hard work making these boots looking at them.
Whites are famous for their wildland fire fighting boots. I think their smoke jumper are one of the best money can buy if you are looking for a very tough boots. They are made to endure and withstand in the high temperature wildland fire. The brand itself were long enough in the industry and still using by many wildland firefighter, that shown how good they are. I know whites had been sold to Japanese company same as danner. There are comments questions regarding about whites quality after sold off but from what I see their boots are still having very high good standard. Their finishing is not that nice, i had crooked uneven stitching on my whites but they are means for fire fighting and tough environment, not fashion style street or office shoes. They are made tough to last, not look nice. Nicks is another brand similar to whites but dont see any big discount for them and they dont show up much even on ebay.
google for used whites and viberg, the picts will tell you how good they were after went through all the shiit.
For spore environment they are abit wasted as they unlikely to be use in any real "action" they are made for. Construction line might be 1 of the environment to test them but I doubt any one in spore willing to spend so much money on them and use in construction site.
I hoot them mainly because I want to appreciate their workmanship and builts.
If you are into boots I think just a matter of time you will go hoot these tier 1 brands. Yes, They are expensive but many people out there are willing to pay for them. That why the brands can survive.
So you should start to think want to hoot 3 pairs of red wing or use the money to hoot 1 pair of viberg.

cannotliao

But these boots are on top of your daily working shoes? For me, I gave up getting too many boots already, because I can only wear them on Fridays and weekends. The investment returns is too low le... :p
Red Wing 8165 and 875, Clark's desert boots, they are my dress down footwears le.

Sent from Xiaomi REDMI NOTE 2 using GAGT
Some are my work shoes. I still got other shoes other than these boots. Running shoes, walking shoes...etc really too many. Think I must try to stop buying for a long long long times.
Everyday getting older and older so now I just whack do what I want so long within my means, dont want to think too much. Money can always make and im spending my own money, I dont have to answer to anyone except myself.
most important must be hapy. Life is short, nobody can tell will he stil be around tomorrow.
If want go into investment return, those spending on smoking, drinking clubbing, the money easily can hoot 1 pair top brand shoes every month. Not to mention gambling but these are their money so it up to them to decide.
Just cut aways 1 mid distance overseas holiday the money good enough to hoot all my red wing boots.
You want go for a 1wk overseas trip or own many pairs of red wing?

paladin

this guy work look interesting too
the shipping cost is the killer, resoling is a great idea but every time i calculate the resoling cost plus all the shipping cost. buying a new pair is more sensible way.
I wont get any more white sole again. they are blown rubber, good for cushion but not for durability

It's the wrong thread to post this but if you find yourself needing to resole often and it isn't cheap in Singapore, you might want to consider Dr martens for life. It's goodyear welt btw.
http://drmartensforlife.com

Lifetime resole by dr martens. You have to pay for admin and postage.

alf888888

Same here, i'm looking for the IR 8115 or 8116 in US10.5, majority shipping is a killer, online stores like eBay and Amazon alike.

Shiro MS08th

I also buy test test ended with so many pairs and to make thing worst whenever I keen in some models very soon some good lobang will pop up.
I started with danner when I looking for quailty work shoes then whites follow by red wing and viberg and wesco.
Red wing is the easiest available, always got good lobang online. maybe because they are mass production, although hand made but they are lesser steps and more machines involvement.
whites and viberg really solid with a lot of hands works involving like hammering. YouTube got many videos about their boots making.
Regarding whites vs viberg, It depending how you look at them.
I got my vibery recently so I still breaking them. To me Viberg got cleaner finish, their boot are solid and make for hard work.especially their nailed construct work boots, you can really appreciate the hard work making these boots looking at them.
Whites are famous for their wildland fire fighting boots. I think their smoke jumper are one of the best money can buy if you are looking for a very tough boots. They are made to endure and withstand in the high temperature wildland fire. The brand itself were long enough in the industry and still using by many wildland firefighter, that shown how good they are. I know whites had been sold to Japanese company same as danner. There are comments questions regarding about whites quality after sold off but from what I see their boots are still having very high good standard. Their finishing is not that nice, i had crooked uneven stitching on my whites but they are means for fire fighting and tough environment, not fashion style street or office shoes. They are made tough to last, not look nice. Nicks is another brand similar to whites but dont see any big discount for them and they dont show up much even on ebay.
google for used whites and viberg, the picts will tell you how good they were after went through all the shiit.
For spore environment they are abit wasted as they unlikely to be use in any real "action" they are made for. Construction line might be 1 of the environment to test them but I doubt any one in spore willing to spend so much money on them and use in construction site.
I hoot them mainly because I want to appreciate their workmanship and builts.
If you are into boots I think just a matter of time you will go hoot these tier 1 brands. Yes, They are expensive but many people out there are willing to pay for them. That why the brands can survive.
So you should start to think want to hoot 3 pairs of red wing or use the money to hoot 1 pair of viberg.

True that, currently just buying around 1-2 pairs of boots a year (either on big sale or lightly worn used), and all average about $150-200 SGD. Like you have also mentioned RW boots always got sales all round the year, which I got around that value for either Moc Toe/Iron Ranger/Beckman.

I really want to get Viberg, but brand new is $650-750 USD (and have not add on the 7% GST), which is closer to 5 pairs of RW boots haha! And rarely can get on sale, even if have my size/colour choice will be out of stock within an hour or 2, too popular on Reddit GYW/FMF subreddit threads.
At the moment don't think that will be the priority (plus family commitments in the near future), unless got promoted/high bonus, if not is saved up 2-3 years boots quota then get Viberg/Whites/Truman.

Thanks for the advice! :)

BTW, finally ordered the Txture MTO boots, communicating with them is a bit of problematic especially on their response time, which can take more than a week to answer simple questions like the different lasts they have, and some minor tweaks is it possible.

In the end, have to trust whatever they recommend as I need it before my wedding in September. They sort of make me feel I'm a troublemaker customer, when I am just sincerely enquiry on very simple/basic questions for first time buyer with them.

I'm not sure about their boots craftsmanship and quality, but the customer service part (in both response time and sincerity from them) really need to improve.

clokwerk0

BTW, finally ordered the Txture MTO boots, communicating with them is a bit of problematic especially on their response time, which can take more than a week to answer simple questions like the different lasts they have, and some minor tweaks is it possible.

In the end, have to trust whatever they recommend as I need it before my wedding in September. They sort of make me feel I'm a troublemaker customer, when I am just sincerely enquiry on very simple/basic questions for first time buyer with them.

I'm not sure about their boots craftsmanship and quality, but the customer service part (in both response time and sincerity from them) really need to improve.

Mind sharing which model and options did you picked? I just dropped them an email inquiry with filled MTO form.

Shiro MS08th

Mind sharing which model and options did you picked? I just dropped them an email inquiry with filled MTO form.

(copy paste from invoice)

Warhorse boots (oxblood colour)
Plain-toe
8 eyelets (solid brass)
Fully lined lambskin
Gusseted tongue
Budokan last
Veldtschoen/stitchdown construction
Brown Tea edge trim
Dainite soles
Regular heels

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.