Red Wing shoe Thread

cutiepie23

now my boots are season liao
super comfort...
my feet does not sweat as much as other shoes!!!!

kazuki666

haha. gxgx.

i feel like mink oiling my boot for fun.

if u really going to do that, i think must rem to wipe it 1st before applying ya. Coz i suspect there be dust and dirt on the leather, then applying mink oil on them sounds weird...

Btw, my 3rd layer of mink oil finally dried le. But i didnt do it as 夸张 as taught here
http://www.mansway.com/bootscare.html

But i think should be ok liaoz. Actually the mink oil dun really give it any shine, i believe its more of a layer of protection and softening the leather.
I intend to wear it in my office attire tmr, though my mum was grumbling it looks weird in office wear coz of its white sole...

I have a bad feeling i will walk very stiff tmr, 1st wear lor lol

Dj-Jax

if u really going to do that, i think must rem to wipe it 1st before applying ya. Coz i suspect there be dust and dirt on the leather, then applying mink oil on them sounds weird...

Btw, my 3rd layer of mink oil finally dried le. But i didnt do it as 夸张 as taught here
http://www.mansway.com/bootscare.html

But i think should be ok liaoz. Actually the mink oil dun really give it any shine, i believe its more of a layer of protection and softening the leather.
I intend to wear it in my office attire tmr, though my mum was grumbling it looks weird in office wear coz of its white sole...

I have a bad feeling i will walk very stiff tmr, 1st wear lor lol
Of course you're supposed to clean it first!! :D

You don't apply bath foam with your body full of sand! Wash the sand off then apply bath foam :D

Your toes will hurt. Confirm. :D

kazuki666

Of course you're supposed to clean it first!! :D

You don't apply bath foam with your body full of sand! Wash the sand off then apply bath foam :D

Your toes will hurt. Confirm. :D

ya, which makes me thinking twice if i should wear it tmr to work...
Reminds me of wearing my saf boots day1 in tekong, whatsmore i was wearing the full leather pair, not gortex de...

How long of wears u all had before it soften? Especially the toe area...

Dj-Jax

ya, which makes me thinking twice if i should wear it tmr to work...
Reminds me of wearing my saf boots day1 in tekong, whatsmore i was wearing the full leather pair, not gortex de...

How long of wears u all had before it soften? Especially the toe area...
8138 doesn't hurt at the toe area as there is a soft layer of leather underneath it.

For your model, the raw leather would be piercing your toe, and i do mean piercing. :D

Enjoy the break in period! It initial break in period would be about 3 - 4 weeks.

centauri61

8138 doesn't hurt at the toe area as there is a soft layer of leather underneath it.

For your model, the raw leather would be piercing your toe, and i do mean piercing. :D

Enjoy the break in period! It initial break in period would be about 3 - 4 weeks.

if put those soft soft insoles will it help? :D

Dj-Jax

if put those soft soft insoles will it help? :D
Which model?

8138 very easy to break in.

Wear thick long socks, insoles, and a plaster at your ankle for 3 weeks :D

As for the round-tip models, the raw leather piercing your toes are just un-avoidable. I tried putting a plaster on my toes when i wore my 2906, it still hurt like hell. lol.

centauri61

Which model?

As for the round-tip models, the raw leather piercing your toes are just un-avoidable. I tried putting a plaster on my toes when i wore my 2906, it still hurt like hell. lol.

was referring to the guy who bought the one with "piercing hard leather" or something near the toes model... ouch!

ohh... think i know what you mean... it's on top not below right?

but after that ordeal... happy leh! =:p

Dj-Jax

was referring to the guy who bought the one with "piercing hard leather" or something near the toes model... ouch!

haha. really. i got a HUGE blister on my toe the other time. horrible! lol.

cutiepie23

Which model?

bro
after break in ur 8138
the top part which are swear together with the leather, does it looks like the leather open up a bit?
mine opened up a bit then i quickly sayang it to close

maybe my mink oil havent dry, then i wear liao
plus i ride bike... kick gear...

but funny part, right side also open a bit... think it's due to walking ard ba

how abt ur 1?

Dj-Jax

bro
after break in ur 8138
the top part which are swear together with the leather, does it looks like the leather open up a bit?
mine opened up a bit then i quickly sayang it to close

maybe my mink oil havent dry, then i wear liao
plus i ride bike... kick gear...

but funny part, right side also open a bit... think it's due to walking ard ba

how abt ur 1?
lol.. you mean the moctoe part? sure to open la.. lol.... if you can't tahan, super glue back lor.

Dj-Jax

With berms, not bad huh....

155.jpg
Oh, btw, any of you here know where i can buy socks like his? Thick and comfy. :D

Intro please :D

I using SAF socks with my RW's sia.

kazuki666

ME...

ok, it was stupid of me to tie the lace all the way till the last hook. It hurts like mad. So i loosen it to the 4th, then tie the lace ard the shoes.
Actually the ankle area isnt that bad, toe ok also. But is the sides.

Ok, imagine i talking abt right foot. Looking at the right foot, the left side of the foot, the part curving inwards de. It is painful... :(

And hor, the toe area starting to crease liaoz. CRY

Dj-Jax

ME...

ok, it was stupid of me to tie the lace all the way till the last hook. It hurts like mad. So i loosen it to the 4th, then tie the lace ard the shoes.
Actually the ankle area isnt that bad, toe ok also. But is the sides.

Ok, imagine i talking abt right foot. Looking at the right foot, the left side of the foot, the part curving inwards de. It is painful... :(

And hor, the toe area starting to crease liaoz. CRY
Once the toe area creases and the leather hits your toes.. you will really cry :D

Your sides hurt? Meaning it's too tight for you?

Oh, and a tip from the fellow RW staff in suntec.

I asked:
"Why do you tie the shoelace all the way up to the last eyelet, and tie it so tight?"

He replied:
"If you don't, the boot will deform! These boots are made to fit your feet, tie the shoe lace tight and right and let it conform to the shape of your foot."

Hope that gives you some advice for your Red Wings :D

kazuki666

Once the toe area creases and the leather hits your toes.. you will really cry :D

Your sides hurt? Meaning it's too tight for you?

the crease i am talking abt is the toe area lor.... :(

Dunno how to describe where, so have to past pics:

The circle areas...

Dj-Jax

the crease i am talking abt is the toe area lor.... :(

Dunno how to describe where, so have to past pics:

The circle areas...
Emo liao, time for the hurting to come. hehehe!

Oh, that area.. quite normal i guess, the leather will expand.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.