Red Wing shoe Thread

goat1991

this is so confusing...

some say mink oil is to soften the leather so that the hard leather wont crack that easily when you walk...

so back to the main question

Buy new -> wear -> oiled
Is more correct than
Buy new -> oil -> wear
??? :( :( :(

alanjw55

aiyah doesnt matter u wan u oil lo dun wan den dun wan lo no need t care what ppl do

karyaC

people oil new leather shoes coz it's too stiff. just to soften it a little for easier wearing (usually the heels and ankles). brand new is already conditioned and stuff... usually will not require oiling. i always wonder why would people want to apply mink oil on top of a nice wax finish anyways... oh wells :o

kazuki666

Dunno right or not.

I have to get a smaller size 875, as compared to 8165.

I have a pair of size6 8165 for ard 8mths le. Just hoot 875 back from hk, size 5.5E. But strange enough it feels looser than my 8165! I suspect is coz the width makes the difference significantly.

Anyway, I just applied a thick layer of mink oil this morning, now its suntanning on my basin. I think I will give it another layer tonight, then i can wear it on dressdown Fri le. :D

Btw, for those who are going to hk soon and keen to buy from there. This is the only distributor there:
3/f, Multifield Centre, 426 Shanghai Street
Mongkok, Kowloon

They are not easy to find coz its very ulu away from the usual shopping area, coz its in an office building, small one. But they have very good variety of models to choose from.
But too bad they didnt carry my size, so the chap (dunno issit boss) printed me a list of his authorised sellers. Those who are keen to have it, i can scan and email u. Pls PM me separately for it. ;)

ps; The pax told me that in terms of pricing, JP is the most ex, followed by SG. HK is among one of the cheapest.
I paid hkd1960 for 875, which is there abt sgd330-340.

alanjw55

Dunno right or not.

I have to get a smaller size 875, as compared to 8165.

I have a pair of size6 8165 for ard 8mths le. Just hoot 875 back from hk, size 5.5E. But strange enough it feels looser than my 8165! I suspect is coz the width makes the difference significantly.

Anyway, I just applied a thick layer of mink oil this morning, now its suntanning on my basin. I think I will give it another layer tonight, then i can wear it on dressdown Fri le. :D

Btw, for those who are going to hk soon and keen to buy from there. This is the only distributor there:
3/f, Multifield Centre, 426 Shanghai Street
Mongkok, Kowloon

They are not easy to find coz its very ulu away from the usual shopping area, coz its in an office building, small one. But they have very good variety of models to choose from.
But too bad they didnt carry my size, so the chap (dunno issit boss) printed me a list of his authorised sellers. Those who are keen to have it, i can scan and email u. Pls PM me separately for it. ;)

ps; The pax told me that in terms of pricing, JP is the most ex, followed by SG. HK is among one of the cheapest.
I paid hkd1960 for 875, which is there abt sgd330-340.
make me ish wanna go HK...heehee...next year planning a trip there

kazuki666

make me ish wanna go HK...heehee...next year planning a trip there

but hor, apparently RW and RW lookalike very very popular there. 875 moctoes especially.
Dunno issit coz of the cold weather, or its the trend there now.

down at mongkok area, i can see 7 out of 10 younger guys all wearing RW and lookalike!

alanjw55

u mean fakes???

hmm, i ish already have RW le i just hoot rast week, i ish just wanna go HK shopping and eat..maybe go 3d2n

kazuki666

u mean fakes???

hmm, i ish already have RW le i just hoot rast week, i ish just wanna go HK shopping and eat..maybe go 3d2n

fake or not cant tell lor, but really many shops selling RW along fa yuen street. They are the authorised sellers by the distributor

laviola

Please help me =(

Hi guys,

sorry i know this is not the right thread but here is my last destination for help.
I washed my DR MARTENS ANDREW SHOE thrice and the dirt wont get away.
The shoe material is canvas and the colour is light brown. I washed it with detergent and toothbrush.. Any cleaning stuff i can use to clean it off?

Thank you guys

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.