Red Wing shoe Thread

kazuki666

haha yep gotta agree with that. SAF green socks the best. :D

Ya. For me its not abt trend or what, but rather the functionality. Some may say must get what branded socks. But I feel nothing is as thick and hardy as those green socks lor. Imagine lah, its created for soldiers, have to be tough to last right. :s12:
(plus its free with credits. haha)

Alexleeweiqiang

Ya. For me its not abt trend or what, but rather the functionality. Some may say must get what branded socks. But I feel nothing is as thick and hardy as those green socks lor. Imagine lah, its created for soldiers, have to be tough to last right. :s12:
(plus its free with credits. haha)

i do have the saf green sock. Just want to check with the bro here if the thick white sock from red wing is even better than the saf one den i will buy the red wing white sock.

d3n

i am wearing renoma boot socks bought from john little.

the sock is not too thick or think just nice... height is slowly above my RW black cherry beckman :)

something like this:

1446-DEFAULT-s.jpg

only have grey and black color.

find it better then SAF socks, too long.

subcrew

Hi guys, if im able to fit into a 7D rw moc toe , will a 7D rw chukka fit me as well?as there're reviews saying the chukka fitting is quite narrow. Need advise.Thanks!

jahredwee

Uniqlo socks not as comfortable as the red wings socks. Think I just buy 1 pair of red wings socks first

jahredwee

Loving the red wing socks. 15.90 per pair though. Any idea where to find socks as good as red wings one? Cheaper ones

vinho_16

Hi guys, if im able to fit into a 7D rw moc toe , will a 7D rw chukka fit me as well?as there're reviews saying the chukka fitting is quite narrow. Need advise.Thanks!

I was just in the Red Wing shoe store in Queens and was trying out the moc toe and chukka.
My nike free is a US9 but i fitted good in a 8.5 for RWs.
Both the moc toe and chukka 8.5 fitted well and just the same.
N for the narrowness of the chukka, ney, its not tht narrow. The leather will stretch arnd your foot in time.

kazuki666

Loving the red wing socks. 15.90 per pair though. Any idea where to find socks as good as red wings one? Cheaper ones

U gotta use the saf green socks bro. I think the thickness is bout the same.

And I thought I am the only advocate here that the saf green socks is the best match for these boots... :p
Sadly some will prefer branded socks to match with their branded footwear. But I feel whats important is the comfort and functionality. Seasoned RW wearers will know the boots are a b!tch to wear seasoning them before they are the most comfortable footwear one needs.

Toby88

For SAF socks, the latest one is the best. Smooth green with the 'elastic band' only on top (apparently placed such that it only secures the socks to the calf and not the entire region which might cause itchy-ness to some). It has thicker cushioning due to usage of microfiber i think. I used to wear the old one, but it causes 'stripe marks' when I pull them off after a day, quite itchy afterwards.

Anyway, I am selling away a pair of vintage red wing moc toe boots, similar to 877 style.
PM me for more details if interested.

Alexleeweiqiang

That looks really good :D:D

Tks tks, now left the breaking of the shoe. Will trying wearing the saf green socks. So anyone here who own 8165? Other than using red wing polish/kiwi, are there any other good ones around? I using the kiwi neutral on my new 8165.

Milo37

hi I've a couple of red wing boots up for sale

https://m.facebook.com/tan.milo.92?__user=100006909963938

I have insufficient post count to post the link. do view my page thanks. I've one more beckman boots in size 10 that's brand new up for sale. do contact me at 8551 5138

kazuki666

Tks tks, now left the breaking of the shoe. Will trying wearing the saf green socks. So anyone here who own 8165? Other than using red wing polish/kiwi, are there any other good ones around? I using the kiwi neutral on my new 8165.

I am wearing a 8165. But when u are mentioning kiwi, do you mean those which use for saf no.4 boots???:eek:
Pls don't ya... It will "kill" the leather...

For me, I have only been using the cheapo mink oil easily available at bata for less than $10. Start wearing it first for a few mths, no need care abt the oiling part coz usually the shoes itself should have been coated liaoz. Then along the way as u notice the leather starting to be a little creasing le (usually 5-6mths), u can slap a layer of those oil and massage in with your fingers. I read that its better to use fingers to rub in than use cloth coz of the heat. Go into every corners, and then let it dry naturally.

Thumb of rule, don't be too nice to your RW. Trash it well, and it will return beautifully. :)

vinho_16

And I thought I am the only advocate here that the saf green socks is the best match for these boots... :p
Sadly some will prefer branded socks to match with their branded footwear. But I feel whats important is the comfort and functionality. Seasoned RW wearers will know the boots are a b!tch to wear seasoning them before they are the most comfortable footwear one needs.

They are definitely a b!tch when breaking em in. But when they are already seasoned, they are best boots in the world and you would be thinking 'why wasnt i wearing these since my sec schl days?! What have i been wearing?!' :D

Alexleeweiqiang

I am wearing a 8165. But when u are mentioning kiwi, do you mean those which use for saf no.4 boots???:eek:
Pls don't ya... It will "kill" the leather...

For me, I have only been using the cheapo mink oil easily available at bata for less than $10. Start wearing it first for a few mths, no need care abt the oiling part coz usually the shoes itself should have been coated liaoz. Then along the way as u notice the leather starting to be a little creasing le (usually 5-6mths), u can slap a layer of those oil and massage in with your fingers. I read that its better to use fingers to rub in than use cloth coz of the heat. Go into every corners, and then let it dry naturally.

Thumb of rule, don't be too nice to your RW. Trash it well, and it will return beautifully. :)

Oh no, I already coated it with the no 4 kiwi... Lol. Done is done nevermind. Will try the mink oil u recommend.tks tks.

vinn

the new saf socks really comfortable wif rw.
dun need spend so much on rw socks la

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.