Reddit's Log

Reddit

No workout today! i spent the morning at home playing with my kid before going to work.

here are the overdue photos that i took in the early afternoon.

img6036h.jpg

img6040x.jpg

Reddit

your size is good. may need more definition imo?

Definitely bro. I'm trying to get down to 99kg by 1st June, but it seems very unlikely now. I need to force myself to swim more intensely so that I can break this plateau.

Reddit

I've never heard of that before:( I will google it tonight before I sleep! Since I'm stuck, I'm going try something different.

Thanks!

galapogos

I'm carb cycling too. Not too complicated if you do it simply. Basic premise is low carb on non training days, high carbs on training days.

Reddit

I'm carb cycling too. Not too complicated if you do it simply. Basic premise is low carb on non training days, high carbs on training days.

Thanks man! I read up on it a little last night. I'm going to give it a try. I have to break this plateau.

Reddit

Sad man. I weighed myself this morning. 107.6. Still the same. I haven't made any improvements for a few weeks. Ghchay recommended that I try carb cycling. I'm going to do that this week.

Chest workout today. Instead of incline, I decided to go heavy on flat bench. I realise after experimenting that the best posture for me to assume is a relatively close grip, about 12 to 14 inches apart. That way I have to keep my elbows closed, and my shoulders don't ache. The range of movement is also larger. Went up to a comfortable 110kg 6 reps.

Incline bench was lighter. Just did 80 max. Followed by pull downs, weighted dips (I figured out how to kiap a 20kg dumb bell between my feet) and finally 6 sets of leg lifts. Went home a happy man.

Diet wise is same as always. Nice fat salmon steak and veggies, and dinner was juice. I've been thinking about how to lower my carbs. The only thing I can cut from my diet is fruits. So I'm not adding sweet fruits to my juice. Maybe limit to berries or something.

Just now I ate 6 soft boiled eggs. Nice... But a little guilty as it's already so late

galapogos

What are you doing for conditioning btw? I don't see anything in your log.

Reddit

What are you doing for conditioning btw? I don't see anything in your log.

oh yeah! i just realised i didnt post that for quite a while. thanks galapogos! nothing special really; still swimming 6 rounds after gym. 6 quick laps and 6 slow laps alternating. i dont cycle as much as before now, since i swim at tpy instead of going all the way to kallang. i spend too much time exercising, so that cuts down my hours from 2.5 to 2 hrs.

no exercise today. i went to the doctor with my son to get his vaccination. cried his eyes out hehe

galapogos

You might want to add in some HIIT/finishers at the end of your training.

Reddit

Lousy day:(

Tired + crowded gym = do nothing significant.

Didn't even swim today.

Tomorrow I will double my effort!

Reddit

You might want to add in some HIIT/finishers at the end of your training.

Im sort of doing hiit when I swim at the end. But it's definitely got a strict routine though. So far it seems ok to me. I'm starting to dread going into the pool, so maybe it's working:) thanks man!

Wah I just read foosoomin thread. Haha I'm going to stalk him!

Reddit

Walao this week cannot make it.

I was in Msia this weekend visiting my in laws. Worked out at the same gym as before. Nothing really special to report except one thing.

This morning I was working my chest when I dropped the bar on my chest instead:( pain pain. Never happened to me before. I have always used complete grips, no open grips. But for some reason, the bar slipped from my left hand during a negative rep and hit my left boob. Really agonizing. I could actually feel it bounce twice off my breast plate. Couldn't breathe for a few seconds. It wasn't my heaviest set so I could reset the weights without much problem. 110 + 20 for the bar = 130 on my nehneh:( I just tried to walk it off and do other exercises, but that incident pretty much took the wind out of my sails. Still hurts a little to breath deeply now.

Reddit

quick update!

i forgot to weigh myself this morning. i will have to do that tomorrow instead. i worked on my biceps and abs today. quite uneventful, so nothing interesting to report. it was a relatively good workout. i still cant break the 80 (lb?) plateau on the curl machine yet, so it was a little disappointing. i can barely manage 4 reps on my right arm, and 3 on my left. 6 reps is my short term goal for the next three months. the small dumb bells are really limiting. im going to try the towel trick next monday.

i have decided to exercise on sundays too. i desperately want to hit my target of 99 kg.

so my plan for now is
monday - biceps and abs
tuesday - shoulders
wednesday - back
thursday - triceps and abs
friday - legs (i realised that i can safely do another leg exercise! yay for me)
satuday - rest
sunday - chest

swim on monday, wednesday, thursday and friday.

just typing it out made me feel tired already. im going to try it out and see if its even possible.

the instructor reminded me today that my membership is ending in may. that means i have been working out for almost a year. time flies. it took almost a year, but i have nearly regained my entire upper body strength. i used to bench a little heavier in the past, and do weighted dips and pull ups. if i add in my (significant) weight gain, im doing almost the same weight now...hehe. i remember when i weighed 80 kg i did 50kg dips for a total of 130. im 107kg now, and i do dips with 20kg dumb bells for a total of 127. not bad la. just work a little more and i can do the same again. my pulls are still bad though. now im aiming to hit 99kg and gain more strength in my legs and lower back.

slow and steady!

Reddit

I forgot to weigh myself again...

Worked on my shoulders just now. My left shoulder now feels a lot better. The ache is mostly gone. Many many thanks to gkhchay for his advice not to use the smith machine, and to Xander as he suggested face pulls.

My workout just now was super simple. Ohp at the power rack up to 50kg, lateral raises, and then as many sets of face pulls as I can manage. I think I did about 10 or 12 sets. Started off very light and slowly progress, all the while keeping extremely strict form and slow speed. Ended with back extensions as I forgot to do them yesterday.

Reddit

Good workout today.

Started with 6 sets of 6 lousy pull ups. Next was 6 sets of lat pull down. I tried doing close grip using the bar, but that seem to work my biceps more than my back. There isn't any v grip. Moved on to 4 sets of seated rows, and then did some back extensions again.

Swimming today was a little uncomfortable. I haven't swam under such a hot sun for a while. Walking from the showers to the pool almost burned my feet. I slathered sun screen everywhere but my skin still stings a little

Reddit

Good news! I weighed myself this morning. 106.7kg. Not amazing, but at least I went below 107. I feel encouraged:)

For the first time in a looooong time I worked my legs and nothing else. Basically I camped myself at the leg press machine and hoot until my knees wobbled. 10 sets of 10 reps. Followed by 6 sets 8 reps of hamstring curls. Then I couldn't do any more as my legs were cramping. They are very weak now, but I'm sure with time and effort they will grow. Next I did leg lifts with a 10kg dumb bell. 5 sets 6 reps. Last set was terrible as I swung like a monkey.

Swimming was ok. The weather was still warm, so I'm a little burnt this week.

Unfortunately I didn't exercise yesterday. It was raining and I was just too lazy to cycle in the rain and change my clothes in the gym. I played with my baby instead.

Reddit

I had a pretty ok workout today. Feels a little weird as I haven't exercised on a Sunday in Singapore for a long time.

I went to the gym at 4.30, and the crowd that I expected wasn't there! A little crowded, but nothing like I'd imagined. Benched up to 120. But it was a lousy 4 rep. I'm still getting use to my new 14 inches apart grip. shoulders felt fine! Next was lat machine pull over, followed by standing tricep extension. I wasn't suppose to do that, but I just really felt like stretching my arms. Worked up to a comfortable 50. Moved on to dips next. I could only use the 16kg dumb bells since the others were taken. Couldn't do 8 sets of 8. Only managed 4 sets. Good news is that I did them relatively slowly.

I hope this week I can stick to my new 6 day workout plan and see if it's too xiong.

kakashixx

continue your hard work bro but remember nt too push yourself too hard! going 6days a week is alot (at least to me), the max i go is 4days a week den i feel abit sian liao, hopefully dat wont be the case for u to the extent that it makes u sian of gg to the gym haha. work hard!

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.