Reliable Private Driving Instructor?

Bora777

3. Soo Lai Chuan
Falls asleep while I'm driving. Kinda sums it up, really.

But if that's not enough for you, after failing my TP twice I realise from testers' comments that he tends to leave out stuff while teaching.

In fact the reason why I happened to be reading this thread in the first place is to find a new instructor for my third attempt....

johnny_cold

Hi Guys, i need to find a driving instructor who can pick me up at Marsiling Mrt or North Area; learning Auto Transmission. Anyone have any good instructor to recommend me? Thanks in advance:s12:

theclubmed

personally i did my driving from this instructor call raymond.
pass after my 2nd attempt.
first attempt i did not have enough practise. my fault.
when i fail my first round he was very sorry to me too. A friend use to be studying in ngee ann poly recommanded me. heard that raymond got very good passing rate a class of them learn from him and only about 2 or 3 need to retake for the 2nd time.

he is very kanchiong in the circut and i find it too fast to digest. however, i notice that bbdc examiners some are quite kanchiong too.
those interested can pm me for his contact.
he picks and drops students at lakeside mrt.

elevate

hi,
lookin for patient 3A instructor at ubi.
any recommendations? (pm me if possible ^^)
thanks!

zuldevil

Hi, anyone have any private instructors to recommend in the woodlands area? any help would be much much appreciated. THANKS!!

nid one too . if anyone haf to recommend do tell me also :)

Hi Guys, i need to find a driving instructor who can pick me up at Marsiling Mrt or North Area; learning Auto Transmission. Anyone have any good instructor to recommend me? Thanks in advance:s12:

Whoever you find, don't learn from Albert Yap from Woodlands Driving School. I've already reviewed him in this thread. Lousy instructor.

chainer22

Before I found my current pdi, i read through this whole thread months ago and prepared myself for the worst pdi i could get. So from the list of pdi posted here I called and finally found one that bothered to picked the phone and actually talk to me. Well I picked those with higher passing rate. I ended up learning from Neo Eng Soon. His car is a silver Nissan Sunny with car plate SJH796.

Initially I thought I found myself a decent pdi.
Here's some of the things that happened
-Start late, end early--- Normal I guess since so many ppl complain the same of their pdi here.
-Toilet breaks--- Still normal i supposed, when u gotta go u gotta go
-Talking on the phone most of the time--- maybe pdi is a boring job
-Pump Petrol during lessons--- Well cant teach without petrol.
-Buy groceries when paying for petrol--- Cant blame a man for saving some time, should blame the petrol kiosk for putting the mart and petrol payment counter together.
-Deciding on his own to drop me at a place far from my place to facilitate his next activity....
-Keep chatting to other pdi while I wait at his car up to 10mins past lesson time--- :(
-Then the aboves keep repeating-- :(:(:(
-Getting me to drive around a HDB block for 15mins so he can pass something to his friend--- One off incident, hope it doesn't repeat.

-At first, booking lessons with him was smooth. Then there were times where he gives me the feeling that he wants me to learn more, him earning more at the same time, and he psychos me to have many lessons within short period of time, ie 4times per week.

-Then came the time where he realised my timing is actually quite flexible and he decided to slot me in after he allocated other ppl with more fixed timings. Feels exploited but....

I knew right from the start that pdi would try to make u attend more lessons and delay yr tp in bid to earn more $$$. Hence I quickly booked a tp date to prevent that(and so I can take tp b4 they remove parking poles). Now he either ignores my calls or (patronize me by saying he will call me back)X7 times over 10days. Great, my tp is next week. Finally my mum called him and he claims my driving sucks. Excellent job man! Why didn't he just tell me upfront instead of hiding from me after attending 30+ lessons. I should mention that I do not think my driving sucks, (probably one of the tactics pdi like to use if u read this thread). He lets me drive on my own with little interference.

Long story short, I think my pdi want to ditch me just before my tp which is directly CNY. (This should be a new type of bitching for this thread).

i feel sad for you, and the more i read the more it reminds me of my instructor. super piss off with him. hes teaching at bbdc and his carplate is 6002 (forgot what alphabets infront) mitsubishi glx, think some of you may have seen him.

initially when i just started learning, he will say i have to go more often, say need to practice more for tp. ok i listened so booked up to 3 times per week. everything were ok in first few lessons, but after that he started to chut pattern, like toilet break that took 15mins, sleeping when im driving, eating when im driving, drinking beer when im driving and still dare to ask if i wanna drink too:s22: then failed my first tp.

things got worse after that. i tried calling him afterwards as 2nd tp coming, but either he doesnt pick up or just say he will call me back later to confirm lesson timing (which he never did). still remember once it was 1 week before tp and he said he no more slot for circuit practice when he PROMISED so. wa i just step on the accelerator all the way man, think he shocked. seriously, he is once f***ed up instructor. felt like punching him.

oh ya and having him as instructor is as good as not having, as for my 2nd and 3rd tp, i actually borrowed my friends bbdc booklet to read on the steps. its like im paying just to rent his car to drive and practice. he never even bothered to teach me about blindspots, how to check them CORRECTLY.

sometimes when im driving now, i see his car but then usually opposite lanes. if same direction, im gonna play with him, that #@#@^%!

tansrb

pte auto lesson,

$30/hr off peak, $32 peak..

worth it?

the fee not a problem, as long as the instructor good can liao. you can pay $20 bucks an hour but if the instructor not good, is bo hua ultimately.

elevate

the fee not a problem, as long as the instructor good can liao. you can pay $20 bucks an hour but if the instructor not good, is bo hua ultimately.

okie..thats wad i thot too..gg to learn from mr soh guan hong.
(blues ftw! :D)

simplyfizzy

mine for the cdc area or and other places lol

he good and patient... teach u step by step...

bring u every where for practising

car is good and air con is cool :D

Main area outside CDC so those interested can find him outside...

btw it manual :D

Hi there,

Based on NWT1978, otacon and rivale's posts, I have formed a rather good impression of Mr William.

What I gathered is that Mr William is based with CDC but does his pickup at YCK (good for me since I live in Woodlands). However, considering that YCK is quite a distance away from CDC, does the lesson time of 100min includes traveling time to ubi? Additionally, would Mr William allow his students to familiarize themselves with the Ubi test routes and CDC circuits? Would Mr William allows his students to try out emergency brakings using handbrakes, etc?

Would greatly appreciate it if anyone who learns under Mr William replies to this post.

shiru2905

Hi people ...

I need recommendations for private auto instructor.
Test Center at Ubi CDC.

Need a patient one who dun keep scolding people (coz i am slow learner).
Preferably Hougang/Sengkang/Punggol Area.

I went for my first test but failed due to circuit...

My instructor give me very little practice for parking ...
he always teach me parking in circuit ... so end up like my
fees are quite ex ... tt's why wanna change instructor ...
i cant afford to learn parking only in the circuit.

NWT1978

Hi there,

Based on NWT1978, otacon and rivale's posts, I have formed a rather good impression of Mr William.

What I gathered is that Mr William is based with CDC but does his pickup at YCK (good for me since I live in Woodlands). However, considering that YCK is quite a distance away from CDC, does the lesson time of 100min includes traveling time to ubi?

dont know =:p last time i book 2 hrs ones... he allow me to drive from ubi to Yishun / Sengkang or any other place he ask me lol :s13:

Additionally, would Mr William allow his students to familiarize themselves with the Ubi test routes and CDC circuits?

of course... isnt that the SOP for everyone taking the TP? he allow u to drive there and point out he areas to note...

Would Mr William allows his students to try out emergency brakings using handbrakes, etc?

use that for slopes only lol... just a light tap on the brake... since u are not going that fast so dont think u need to play with hand brakes for emergency

Would greatly appreciate it if anyone who learns under Mr William replies to this post.

there u go =:p

johnny_cold

Hi Guys, i need to find a driving instructor who can pick me up at Marsiling Mrt or North Area; learning Auto Transmission, ideally in BBDC. Anyone have any good instructor to recommend me? Thanks in advance:s12:

Any recommendation for a good instructor in Woodlands area or from Woodlands Driving School? Hmmm, i passed my Advance theory today already, and also got my PDL liao. Went to counter to book for TP, but they say need private instructor ID. Need help badly.. thanks.

sugasuga

Hi all, anybody has Mr Ong's (as mentioned by Leonard90)contact can pm me? currently learning manual but thinking of switching to auto. Thanks lots!

zuldevil

oic. thanks. was about to go to woodlands driving centre. but do u have any instructors to recommend?

Any recommendation for a good instructor in Woodlands area or from Woodlands Driving School? Hmmm, i passed my Advance theory today already, and also got my PDL liao. Went to counter to book for TP, but they say need private instructor ID. Need help badly.. thanks.

I'm not sure if it's worth it to learn driving in Woodlands, when the driving test will be elsewhere... Unless if you wait until SSDC move to Woodlands lah, which will be in March this year. Even then, I don't know if the PDIs would know which routes to teach you.

My dad swears by Mr Chua from Woodlands Driving School (call the same number, but specify that you want to learn from Mr Chua), but Mr Chua was too busy and honestly, he seemed to be very reluctant to take me on as a new student months ago. I learned from Albert Yap who sucks, so don't learn from him (check out my previous posts in this thread).

All the best for your PDI search! :)

Fabaceae

Hi, does anyone have a good private instructor from the West to recommend? I live in Clementi and my test centre will probably be BBDC.

Also, could I have an opinion on whether it is worth it to pay a $10 registration fee because I registered for my BTT under auto transmission but am now considering switching to manual? Would it be more worthwhile to pass auto first and then try to pick up manual on my own and get an add-on license later or something?

Thanks! :)

Fabaceae

Sorry for the double post... does anyone know anything about Mr Tan Tim Lai from www.drive3a.com? I just called him to arrange for a lesson and he seems quite friendly...

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.