Reliable Private Driving Instructor?

melancholy05

Could you pm me his contact? My post count is too low to send pm to you. =:p Thanks.

saw this thread while actually googling my instructor's name out of curiosity..

i just passed my tp first attempt thanks to the help of my very awesome instructor, uncle Gordon at CDC. Drives a manual silver nissan sunny but think he changing car to the new manual almera soon.. charges 32/hr and only charge 220 for car rental and insurance for tp excluding warmup lessons.. super nice and friendly uncle, provides many insights and pinpoints my weaknesses and bad habits due to illegal driving experience in malaysia :s22: fixes them and gives enough lessons to be familiar with what we're supposed to do for the test.. he's quite chatty or can be quiet depending on how u prefer (always talk nonsense with him while driving cos boring ma) and very respectful of time.. always reaches the coffee house just beside cdc 3 mins before ur lesson starts but always has to take a pee before starting (people old liao..). But because he is very good, usually his schedule very busy so have to book him arnd 2 months beforehand so he can schedule ur slots.. and he schedules ur lessons in a very systematic way. although he might be flipping through his diary and answering texts from students while u're driving, he never fails to guide u through where you're going and somehow manages to pay attention to what you're doing.. he is also fluent in both english and mandarin so no worries about that.. many more good points about him, one of the best if not best instructor that's around.. really grateful i could pass in 1 attempt. :s22: can pm me for his number.

Pampered pwincess

My 3rd lesson with my pdi at admiralty. Supposed to start at 6pm. But started only abt 6.15pm-6.20pm like that. His smoking break. Then just turn and turn around spectra school there all the way to next to ssdc where he will take his kopi break for abt 20-30mins. Usually till abt 7.15pm. Then continue drive till admiralty mrt stn end chun chun 7.30pm inclusive of discussion on booking of next lesson plus payment for next lesson.
Instructor keeps tapping on his side of brakes. Never even give me chance to practice on when is good timing to break. And he controls steering wheel also. U be my judge. 😫😫

BlurKillerEX

Agree with cjw on instructors having a better judgement, however if you're feeling confident, you should definitely speak your mind to your instructor about letting you be in more control.

I myself also started driving on road first before going circuit, althoughy instructor almost never used his brakes or turned my steering, he would point out to me exactly when to start turning etc, not allowing me to judge myself until I told him I know what I'm doing.

I definitely feel that your instructor take too many damn breaks. You should speak your mind and let him know you're unhappy you're not getting your money's worth.

crankymeow

Anyone taken private lesson with Chua Im Hua or Tan Lian Watt before?

Is he good?

Thanks!

Jameschua003

Any PDI to recommend for manual at Hougang MRT area, testing area at Ubi?
Wanna prove my previous PDI who claim that I cannot make it and only he willing to teach someone like me wtf. Ps also would be great if he is English ed can't stand them talk in dialect ...

Jennifer888

Mdm Yap CDC Class3 (manual)

Hi all, started lessons some time in October 2016 and just passed my test yesterday at Ubi CDC, manual, on first try, 14 points (should have been 8 :( as I disagreed with the tester for a 6-point offence but i can't possibly argue with him, can i?).

I had a nightmare initially looking for PDIs, let's just say there are so many fake reviews and crooks out there, and here's hoping my sharing of PDI contact will help. If anyone is looking for a reliable PDI, can consider Mdm Yap Siak Chok. I cannot be more grateful to her. If you've done due research, you'll agree there are no perfect instructors. I was too thrilled to finally start lessons after being played out by another PDI (auto) by the name of William (teaches in Tampines), who dropped me a text (he didn't even bother to call) a couple of days before my first lesson to say he could not commit.How unprofessional. Anyway, with Mdm Yap, she was pretty strict the first 5-6 lessons and I was demoralised. While she wouldn't yell, she may show her annoyance (hence my initial annoyance at her. admittedly, I'm prideful) at certain things I did/did not do. Hindsight is 20/20, and it was her consistent corrections during those formative lessons that (i realised later) good driving habits were formed. I even contemplated searching for another instructor (oops, sorry mdm yap) in case this doesn't work out but my hub advised that I stick around for 2-3 more lessons before deciding. boy was I glad I did. In the subsequent lessons, the dynamics changed. I can't put a finger on it, but we started chatting throughout the lesson (but still corrects me where necessary) and I attribute it to perhaps me starting to grasp driving (muscle memory) and she could trust me a little more on the roads (she has a pretty new Vios). I looked forward to every lesson since then and really enjoyed our convos. she's really quite funny.:D i found out later it's her way of getting me to relax (my body was very stiff from the stress)so i can drive better. worked like a charm.Also, her mandarin is way superior than her English, and I eventually switched to speaking mandarin with her, and that's when I learnt a lot from her. (she still gave driving instructions in english though, so she codeswitches back and forth).Another thing is,by the 5th or 6th lesson, i began to find lessons a little repetitive (i believe it's called complacency :s22: ) but once again, in hindsight, those lessons were necessary to hone certain skills and commit them to muscle memory, before she deems you ready to go into circuit, where those skills (like clutch control) is absolutely necessary.

My take on this is, if you are conversant in mandarin, can take constructive criticism and trust she has your best interests at heart, if you approach driving diligently, then you'll gain much under her tutelage/guidance. However, if you are the type who is super particular about certain things like ending lesson on the dot (she's super punctual. on certain days, she ended lessons 5 minutes before official time.. hello? given the nature of the job and traffic conditions, don;t be an arse and demand that it be made up another time. gosh. or if you start lessons 2-3 mins later cos previous student's lesson ends slightly later, don't go apeshit). In short, I think she teaches well, and from my convos with her, she has a lot of integrity and is very hardworking. in sum, if you can take constructive criticism, are not overly calculative (i believe the hokkien equivalent is "gniao"), do engage her. she is very busy though, cos she has loads of students, so no time to entertain some ridiculous people, so please don't call and ask 1001 questions or bargain for a lower price. Trust me, she'll tell you off (and i think you deserve it :s13: ) She's cool that way. Mdm Yap rocks!

I paid $50 for 1.5hr lessons, and $382 for driving test 'package' to be paid on driving test day which includes the usual 1.5hr warm-up, circuit entry on driving test day, car rental for test, insurance, everything lah etc)

additional tip: I personally found the initial circuit lessons daunting, and the learning curve steep. because we are sharing the circuit with other cars, in order not to hog the parking lot so others can come in and learn, there's a limited number of times we can queue up and go thru the motion again. And if you are like me, whose brain is the size of a pea, you may want to ask if you could take some time to write down the steps (after physically going thru all the steps a couple of times though). I prepared a paper and pen and scribbled down the steps hastily before turning out of the parallel/vertical lot. then go home and memorise these steps, revise them before your next circuit lesson. if the circuit is crowded, immediately note down notes after the lesson.

Good luck!:):):)

peutiare

Pls help...

Hey.... Im new here...

Need recommendation for a good and patient PDI for auto at CDC pls....

I've contacted Ivan Tan, and yes... i agree with some of you here that he's horrible...! so difficult to set a lesson and will ask the same questions over and over again... Ended up, he replied me in such a sarcastic manner...! Haven even start a lesson with him and yet, such a bad impression created towards him! :s27:

I've also contacted Mr Lee but his schedule is full for the next 2 mths.... :sad:

Does Uncle Soon teaches auto?

Please recommend me your contacts!

TYIA!

durachaos

Hey.... Im new here...

Need recommendation for a good and patient PDI for auto at CDC pls....

I've contacted Ivan Tan, and yes... i agree with some of you here that he's horrible...! so difficult to set a lesson and will ask the same questions over and over again... Ended up, he replied me in such a sarcastic manner...! Haven even start a lesson with him and yet, such a bad impression created towards him! :s27:

I've also contacted Mr Lee but his schedule is full for the next 2 mths.... :sad:

Does Uncle Soon teaches auto?

Please recommend me your contacts!

TYIA!

Hi bro, I just passed my test last week at cdc on my first try with 18 points though, even though i felt some of the points were not given correctly but hey a pass is still a pass right?? Oh and btw my first pdi was actually Ivan tan, after a few lessons with him, I really buay tahan his attitude... so unprofessional and always scold without any reason!! After that i decided to look for a new instructor online, i was interested in the top few instructors with tons of good reviews hence i decided to call them but it was no surprise that they were all fully booked within the next 2 months( in fact i think 1 of them would be the mr lee u contacted) And since i dont wanna risk finding another lousy instructor, i decided to ask them to recommend me some instructors, out of 3 pdi recommended if i rmb correctly, only 1 was currently free to accept new students. His name is Frankie. Even though his schedule is actually quite tight but if u inform him early enough he will try his best to accomodate ur schedule. During my first lesson with him, he asked me if i knew how to drive already, i said yes since i took a few lessons with ivan tan alr but turns out i missed out so many things that is required in a tp test( checking blindspots, correct turning point etc) which ivan tan nv emphasised during the few lessons i learnt from him. after he saw my driving skills which was really bad at that point in time, he took out a file, a THICK file with lots of notes inside and he took a toy car tgt with his notes and showed me how to turn properly,( dont cut into other lane, dont turn too early/late) which I felt was very effective. he also emphasised a lot on checking of blindspots which is a good habit esp during ur tp! after i took a few lessons with him, when he started to teach me parking, he took out the toy car along with his notes and demonstrated the whole process which again i felt was very effective.

All in all, he is a pretty damn good instructor imo but pls be cautioned he only speaks chinese and he is not the chatty type so dont expect him to chat with u thru out the whole lesson but he is definitely very patient and doesnt scold, the most he do will be to remind u about ur past mistakes and not to repeat them.( and maybe sometimes sigh a bit?? can also be due to him being bored la, whole day in the car, or maybe im too sensitive lol). Also, for those "ji jiao" people who scared their pdi scam their money by wasting time, thru out my 10+ lessons with him, he only went to the toilet twice and its less than 5 min so pls be rest assured he will treat ur time seriously. If u want his contact number pls pm me as I'm not sure if it will be nice to give his number out openly.

radbonez

hi, does any one of you know of Mr Jackson Ng (9733 65**)? any reviews of him? found him on this thread but only 2 reviews so far. would like to find out more. thanks!

peutiare

Hi bro, I just passed my test last week at cdc on my first try with 18 points though, even though i felt some of the points were not given correctly but hey a pass is still a pass right?? Oh and btw my first pdi was actually Ivan tan, after a few lessons with him, I really buay tahan his attitude... so unprofessional and always scold without any reason!! After that i decided to look for a new instructor online, i was interested in the top few instructors with tons of good reviews hence i decided to call them but it was no surprise that they were all fully booked within the next 2 months( in fact i think 1 of them would be the mr lee u contacted) And since i dont wanna risk finding another lousy instructor, i decided to ask them to recommend me some instructors, out of 3 pdi recommended if i rmb correctly, only 1 was currently free to accept new students. His name is Frankie. Even though his schedule is actually quite tight but if u inform him early enough he will try his best to accomodate ur schedule. During my first lesson with him, he asked me if i knew how to drive already, i said yes since i took a few lessons with ivan tan alr but turns out i missed out so many things that is required in a tp test( checking blindspots, correct turning point etc) which ivan tan nv emphasised during the few lessons i learnt from him. after he saw my driving skills which was really bad at that point in time, he took out a file, a THICK file with lots of notes inside and he took a toy car tgt with his notes and showed me how to turn properly,( dont cut into other lane, dont turn too early/late) which I felt was very effective. he also emphasised a lot on checking of blindspots which is a good habit esp during ur tp! after i took a few lessons with him, when he started to teach me parking, he took out the toy car along with his notes and demonstrated the whole process which again i felt was very effective.

All in all, he is a pretty damn good instructor imo but pls be cautioned he only speaks chinese and he is not the chatty type so dont expect him to chat with u thru out the whole lesson but he is definitely very patient and doesnt scold, the most he do will be to remind u about ur past mistakes and not to repeat them.( and maybe sometimes sigh a bit?? can also be due to him being bored la, whole day in the car, or maybe im too sensitive lol). Also, for those "ji jiao" people who scared their pdi scam their money by wasting time, thru out my 10+ lessons with him, he only went to the toilet twice and its less than 5 min so pls be rest assured he will treat ur time seriously. If u want his contact number pls pm me as I'm not sure if it will be nice to give his number out openly.

Congratulations to you!!

I would love to contact ur PDI, Frankie, unfortunately, i dont speak mandarin... :sad:

Anyway, I called another PDI earlier, Mr Lim Pien Hong.. coz i read quite good reviews about him here... but i guess he's packed or he cant converse in English well... so he recommended me to call Mr Ng (968xxx21)... tried to google search him but unable to match the number to those Mr Ngs... lol....

whyyy izzit so difficult to get a PDI........ can cry....... :s13:

mestocapio

standard hourly rate

How much usually is the standard 1 hour rate for manual? Someone quote me for $60 per 90mins.

Thanks,
Mark

paenjace

Can school learner take private lessons?

Hi guys! I need some help

Im a cdc school learner, took my tp today and i failed, booked next tp in mid march, but there arent any available practical lessons for me to book as refresher.

Hence i was wondering if i could take private lessons on my own before taking my next tp?

advise please!!! thank you sooo much!! also are there any cdc class 3a PDI to recommend?

rochelleglim

Hi!
May I know the contact details of Mr Frankie?
Thank you:)

paenjace

Hi!! Does mr frankie teaches auto or manual? Can i have his contact number please!!!

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.