Reliable Private Driving Instructor?

sammmmmm

This is gonna be a longgggggg post!
So anw, i finally passed my practical (class 3A) on my second attempt under Comfort Delgro Centre at Ubi! Was previously a private student under ssdc@woodlands. Had this pdi named MR Lim khim smth? He was quite nice at first and sometimes would even buy you food!However, after a few lessons, he became very angst, distracted and all. When we were at the circuit for the first time, i didnt know what to do and thus made many mistakes. He scolded me for those mistakes made when in the first place he didn't even teach! He was busy using his phone! When i asked him questions, he would go "follow your gut feeling/Agar Agar lo". Walao, if everything agar agar, still need him for what? I might as well agar all the way, then get both of us into an accident and just die la! SO MAD :mad:. He is always telling me that he is busy. I only managed to have ONE lesson per mth despite me booking lessons in advance. Sometimes, he would even cancel my lessons, telling me that he is unwell/not in town. He said that he would call back and reschedule but he never did. I have to call him to check. And guess what, he would then say that his schedule was packed for that particular month and i have to wait for another two weeks or so. This happened more than once. SO, finally i had enough and didn't bother to call him anymore. money wasted... Had to renew pdl as well :s27:

Fortunately, i later on found Mr Loh! He teaches at Ubi. He is a very organized and caring person. He writes down students's name/time of lessons neatly on his planner and he is always punctual. He has these 2-3 files that he used to keep all his docs. Eg, print outs, pictures of test routes and student's sign in sign out form. I really like the fact that he doesn't seem to have that many students as compared to other PDIs as (if i am not wrong) he doesn't teach at night. The latest slot would be like 5pm-6.40pm. So, you wont see him having too many of his students calling him in the midst of your lesson. Also, he can focus on you more and schedule you for more lessons! He starts from the basic;like how to steer steering wheel and etc. Can be a little lame la but he just wants to ensure that you know your stuff. Occasionally would chat and joke with you but most of the time he really just focus on teaching whatever is needed to learn for you to pass. Of course, there will be times he would raise his voice, but it is all understandable la. It's cute that he would even feel bad for raising his voice. He would try to break the ice by making jokes and afterwards explain to you patiently again. Oh and yes, he converses mostly in mandarin. Mr Loh genuinely cares for his students. I could see how disappointed his was when i failed on my first attempt. And i would never forget how he broke into smiles and laughter when i told him that i passed on my sec try.

He provides lessons for people with disabilities as well. This just show how compassionate a person he is. Can actually goggle his name and find out more. He appeared on some sort of news/articles i think? He is charging $60/100mins. Pick up place (eunos/ubi area) can be further discussed. I think his rate is slightly higher as compared to the rest. But for his effort and quality lessons, i think its all worth it. Sometimes, it's just really "you get what you pay". For me to travel all the way from the north to Ubi to attend his lessons simply proves how good this pdi is.

Okay enough of story! I am just so so so thankful to have Mr Loh Lian Choon as my PDi!

pink_akachan

Hey bro, sorry but mr frankie only teaches at cdc :(

Hi Durachaos, can you PM me Frankie's number as well.
I have been taking Class 3 lessons with 2 PDIs but still having problems co-coordinating. Decided to give up manual and learn auto instead. My FT expires this October so I need to get my lessons asap! Thanks!

ninedates

Hi, anyone heard of Mr Yeow from bbdc? any comments?

Also, would like to find out if students are insured if learning under private instructors?

Thanks!

sebastlim11

There's this Instructor, drive a gold Nissan sunny , SJJ plate one. I used To go for he's class 3, manual lesson. He always start the lesson with 10mins toilet break. And then do admin like pay money alr then only move off with actual driving. Actual driving is about 50% hear him talk theory on why must do this why must do that. End of lesson, the amount of hands on experience is little. I don't like it and I find it cheating of student money. (Mr Tay pin Hong )

I then went on to find a class 3A Instructor located in Admiralty, he drives a fairly new Mazda 2. When I took he's lesson, the car is less than 6 month so old. Initially he's rather strict. However, at last I realised he does so is so that you won't lost and stun and don't know how to react when in times of panic. He's good. I pass 1 time:) ( Mr kan:) )

dominicmjw

Hi All,

I'm looking for Class 3 reliable PDI at west area like
ghim moh/clementi/jurong east.

Any good PDI to recommend?

And what is the charges for peak and non peak hours.

TIA :)

yingkaik

Hello all!

Just posting again to get more feedback and recommendations

I passed my basic several years ago when i was in Poly. Didnt have the chance and time to take it. Now im currently planning to take my lessons (Its about time) . Looking at Manual transmission.

I am not decided on what school to take my test at the moment. But am wondering if there are any private instructors available at Toa Payoh to teach ?

lalalaland123456

Hi I have registered with cdc for my BTT and FTT but the PDI that I engaged with is with ssdc. Will this be a problem or can I just go ahead and take my tp at ssdc? Thanks for the advice.

b_ongzhenyu

looking for PDI at woodlands ssdc, manual.

There's this Instructor, drive a gold Nissan sunny , SJJ plate one. I used To go for he's class 3, manual lesson. He always start the lesson with 10mins toilet break. And then do admin like pay money alr then only move off with actual driving. Actual driving is about 50% hear him talk theory on why must do this why must do that. End of lesson, the amount of hands on experience is little. I don't like it and I find it cheating of student money. (Mr Tay pin Hong )

I then went on to find a class 3A Instructor located in Admiralty, he drives a fairly new Mazda 2. When I took he's lesson, the car is less than 6 month so old. Initially he's rather strict. However, at last I realised he does so is so that you won't lost and stun and don't know how to react when in times of panic. He's good. I pass 1 time:) ( Mr kan:) )
can you PM mr kan's number? thanks !

mdfareast

Hi all, anyone interested to learn driving for 3A, please look for Mr. Ivan Tan. He is very jovial, outspoken, sincere, patient & will teach you how to avoid small little common mistake.FYI, he is also available till 9pm daily. Its proven to me and few of his students. My advice, once you have choose him as your instructor, please commit & do not stop halfway. He have so many students to teach. Hope you guys can give & take. I did my test once & passed with Mr. Ivan Tan. Give a try, you wont regret . 96676769 .

pink_akachan

Just wondering if anyone can share a good and patient auto PDI at CDC...

I've been learning manual for a couple of months (two times) and have given up 'cuz I prolly have problems changing gear and driving on the roads.... decided to just take auto before my FTT expires Oct this year...

I can only take night classes due to work. I've called Mr Lee Liak Hong but he don't give night classes.
I called Mr Luo Liang So but overseas tone. Called Mr Toh but line was not available.

Any others to recommend please....? TIA

durachaos

I have been taking Class 3 lessons with 2 PDIs but still having problems co-coordinating. Decided to give up manual and learn auto instead. My FT expires this October so I need to get my lessons asap! Thanks!

Hi pmed you Mr Frankie's number! All the best for ur driving journey!

durachaos

Hi pmed you Mr Frankie's number! All the best for ur driving journey! Sorry for the late reply, have been rather busy recently and didn't have much time to check the forums.

durachaos

Hi all, anyone interested to learn driving for 3A, please look for Mr. Ivan Tan. He is very jovial, outspoken, sincere, patient & will teach you how to avoid small little common mistake.FYI, he is also available till 9pm daily. Its proven to me and few of his students. My advice, once you have choose him as your instructor, please commit & do not stop halfway. He have so many students to teach. Hope you guys can give & take. I did my test once & passed with Mr. Ivan Tan. Give a try, you wont regret . 96676769 .

This is probably yet another account created by Mr Ivan yourself eh? New scam to psycho ur existing students not to quit and find another instructor ?? My advice to you is if u want more students or to keep ur current students, pls change ur negative attitude, ur students are not paying money to get scolded by you. For those who is thinking about engaging him as a pdi, pls kindly think twice... I was once a student under him and I will post my review about him for all to read.

Hi bro, I just passed my test last week at cdc on my first try with 18 points though, even though i felt some of the points were not given correctly but hey a pass is still a pass right?? Oh and btw my first pdi was actually Ivan tan, after a few lessons with him, I really buay tahan his attitude... so unprofessional and always scold without any reason!! After that i decided to look for a new instructor online, i was interested in the top few instructors with tons of good reviews hence i decided to call them but it was no surprise that they were all fully booked within the next 2 months( in fact i think 1 of them would be the mr lee u contacted) And since i dont wanna risk finding another lousy instructor, i decided to ask them to recommend me some instructors, out of 3 pdi recommended if i rmb correctly, only 1 was currently free to accept new students. His name is Frankie. Even though his schedule is actually quite tight but if u inform him early enough he will try his best to accomodate ur schedule. During my first lesson with him, he asked me if i knew how to drive already, i said yes since i took a few lessons with ivan tan alr but turns out i missed out so many things that is required in a tp test( checking blindspots, correct turning point etc) which ivan tan nv emphasised during the few lessons i learnt from him. after he saw my driving skills which was really bad at that point in time, he took out a file, a THICK file with lots of notes inside and he took a toy car tgt with his notes and showed me how to turn properly,( dont cut into other lane, dont turn too early/late) which I felt was very effective. he also emphasised a lot on checking of blindspots which is a good habit esp during ur tp! after i took a few lessons with him, when he started to teach me parking, he took out the toy car along with his notes and demonstrated the whole process which again i felt was very effective.

All in all, he is a pretty damn good instructor imo but pls be cautioned he only speaks chinese and he is not the chatty type so dont expect him to chat with u thru out the whole lesson but he is definitely very patient and doesnt scold, the most he do will be to remind u about ur past mistakes and not to repeat them.( and maybe sometimes sigh a bit?? can also be due to him being bored la, whole day in the car, or maybe im too sensitive lol). Also, for those "ji jiao" people who scared their pdi scam their money by wasting time, thru out my 10+ lessons with him, he only went to the toilet twice and its less than 5 min so pls be rest assured he will treat ur time seriously. If u want his contact number pls pm me as I'm not sure if it will be nice to give his number out openly.

dominicmjw

Repost

Hello Bros & Sis,

I'm looking for Class 3 reliable PDI at west area like
ghim moh/clementi/jurong east.

Any good PDI to recommend?

And what is the charges for peak and non peak hours.

TIA :)

radbonez

So anw, i finally passed my practical (class 3A) on my second attempt under Comfort Delgro Centre at Ubi! Was previously a private student under ssdc@woodlands. Had this pdi named MR Lim khim smth? He was quite nice at first and sometimes would even buy you food!However, after a few lessons, he became very angst, distracted and all. When we were at the circuit for the first time, i didnt know what to do and thus made many mistakes. He scolded me for those mistakes made when in the first place he didn't even teach! He was busy using his phone! When i asked him questions, he would go "follow your gut feeling/Agar Agar lo". Walao, if everything agar agar, still need him for what? I might as well agar all the way, then get both of us into an accident and just die la! SO MAD :mad:. He is always telling me that he is busy. I only managed to have ONE lesson per mth despite me booking lessons in advance. Sometimes, he would even cancel my lessons, telling me that he is unwell/not in town. He said that he would call back and reschedule but he never did. I have to call him to check. And guess what, he would then say that his schedule was packed for that particular month and i have to wait for another two weeks or so. This happened more than once. SO, finally i had enough and didn't bother to call him anymore. money wasted... Had to renew pdl as well :s27:

Fortunately, i later on found Mr Loh! He teaches at Ubi. He is a very organized and caring person. He writes down students's name/time of lessons neatly on his planner and he is always punctual. He has these 2-3 files that he used to keep all his docs. Eg, print outs, pictures of test routes and student's sign in sign out form. I really like the fact that he doesn't seem to have that many students as compared to other PDIs as (if i am not wrong) he doesn't teach at night. The latest slot would be like 5pm-6.40pm. So, you wont see him having too many of his students calling him in the midst of your lesson. Also, he can focus on you more and schedule you for more lessons! He starts from the basic;like how to steer steering wheel and etc. Can be a little lame la but he just wants to ensure that you know your stuff. Occasionally would chat and joke with you but most of the time he really just focus on teaching whatever is needed to learn for you to pass. Of course, there will be times he would raise his voice, but it is all understandable la. It's cute that he would even feel bad for raising his voice. He would try to break the ice by making jokes and afterwards explain to you patiently again. Oh and yes, he converses mostly in mandarin. Mr Loh genuinely cares for his students. I could see how disappointed his was when i failed on my first attempt. And i would never forget how he broke into smiles and laughter when i told him that i passed on my sec try.

He provides lessons for people with disabilities as well. This just show how compassionate a person he is. Can actually goggle his name and find out more. He appeared on some sort of news/articles i think? He is charging $60/100mins. Pick up place (eunos/ubi area) can be further discussed. I think his rate is slightly higher as compared to the rest. But for his effort and quality lessons, i think its all worth it. Sometimes, it's just really "you get what you pay". For me to travel all the way from the north to Ubi to attend his lessons simply proves how good this pdi is.

Okay enough of story! I am just so so so thankful to have Mr Loh Lian Choon as my PDi!
Hi, can you PM his number to me? Sorry to trouble. Btw, is he english speaking or only chinese?

mdfareast

This is probably yet another account created by Mr Ivan yourself eh? New scam to psycho ur existing students not to quit and find another instructor ?? My advice to you is if u want more students or to keep ur current students, pls change ur negative attitude, ur students are not paying money to get scolded by you. For those who is thinking about engaging him as a pdi, pls kindly think twice... I was once a student under him and I will post my review about him for all to read.

Hi bro, I just passed my test last week at cdc on my first try with 18 points though, even though i felt some of the points were not given correctly but hey a pass is still a pass right?? Oh and btw my first pdi was actually Ivan tan, after a few lessons with him, I really buay tahan his attitude... so unprofessional and always scold without any reason!! After that i decided to look for a new instructor online, i was interested in the top few instructors with tons of good reviews hence i decided to call them but it was no surprise that they were all fully booked within the next 2 months( in fact i think 1 of them would be the mr lee u contacted) And since i dont wanna risk finding another lousy instructor, i decided to ask them to recommend me some instructors, out of 3 pdi recommended if i rmb correctly, only 1 was currently free to accept new students. His name is Frankie. Even though his schedule is actually quite tight but if u inform him early enough he will try his best to accomodate ur schedule. During my first lesson with him, he asked me if i knew how to drive already, i said yes since i took a few lessons with ivan tan alr but turns out i missed out so many things that is required in a tp test( checking blindspots, correct turning point etc) which ivan tan nv emphasised during the few lessons i learnt from him. after he saw my driving skills which was really bad at that point in time, he took out a file, a THICK file with lots of notes inside and he took a toy car tgt with his notes and showed me how to turn properly,( dont cut into other lane, dont turn too early/late) which I felt was very effective. he also emphasised a lot on checking of blindspots which is a good habit esp during ur tp! after i took a few lessons with him, when he started to teach me parking, he took out the toy car along with his notes and demonstrated the whole process which again i felt was very effective.

All in all, he is a pretty damn good instructor imo but pls be cautioned he only speaks chinese and he is not the chatty type so dont expect him to chat with u thru out the whole lesson but he is definitely very patient and doesnt scold, the most he do will be to remind u about ur past mistakes and not to repeat them.( and maybe sometimes sigh a bit?? can also be due to him being bored la, whole day in the car, or maybe im too sensitive lol). Also, for those "ji jiao" people who scared their pdi scam their money by wasting time, thru out my 10+ lessons with him, he only went to the toilet twice and its less than 5 min so pls be rest assured he will treat ur time seriously. If u want his contact number pls pm me as I'm not sure if it will be nice to give his number out openly.

bro, take it positively. why 1/10 only you giving Mr. Ivan negative feedback. he try to correct you but instead youre trying to say youre always right. maybe next time learn to accept mistake that alr you make. He is very reasonable. Obviously he will scold if you repeat the same mistake. its for your own benefits also.

oxymoronbzy

Hi can you intro Mr. Loh number to me? thanks ... i cant PM s i am new.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.