Reliable Private Driving Instructor?

snowball08

For those under Mr. William at YCK, how do you all find about his teaching? My friend was used to learn from him too. He said initially felt he's very nice, but after several lessons he'd like to concel yr appt or change time slot. Sometimes planned to go circuit but when my friend went for lesson, he was told couldnt buy the ticket? Is that true? How those people learning from him so far? Will your come across the same? Or only ok at the beginning but not so satisfied later on?

aspir3

Hi, I'm looking for a reliable driving instructor for manual at BBDC.
Does anyone have any good recommendations??

Thanks!!

shirlynn_ng

hey guys,

i want to engage a private instructor. have an account at ssdc and having my ftt there next mth. i thought of changing my sch to bbdc for convenience (driving lessons etc). must i terminate my account or smth before i can enrol at bbdc?

thanks alot! =)

lwch_1990

if anyone got good private instructor to introduce @ woodland who provide fetch & send pm me the information. Thanks !

snowball08

For those who are looking for private instructors, can look at this:

http://learn-to-drive.spf.gov.sg/services/Learn_To_Drive/passingrates/private.htm

This is statistics of passing rate for all registered private instructors under the three driving centres. It's from traffic police website and updated every month. There are some contact numbers in the forms. Can call and find out.

For me, I dont really care whether the instructor kind,nice or what. I DO care about the passing rate. The person teaching can be strict, fierce, and like scolding, as long as s/he makes me pass at the first time, it is ok. My purpose is to learn and pass, but not go to make friends. Chinese said "严师出高徒“( Strict teacher makes high level student).

snowball08

If you learn from instructors who pick up at AMK or YCK but the test centre is at Ubi, I think it's a wastage of time and money to drive from YCK to Ubi for training and back from Ubi to YCK. It is almost one hour. I'd better spend my own time and transport fee to go to Ubi to train rather pay instructos to acompany with me. That day went to CDC Ubi, it's really shock and surprised. There are plenty of PDI with cars at the both sides of the street. Majority charge 24/26$ and some even lower than this, only a few charge as same as those at YCK like26/28$. Some enrollment fee is 30$ only. I think for those looking for instructors and who want to test in Ubi can go there to have a look.

shalome

If you learn from instructors who pick up at AMK or YCK but the test centre is at Ubi, I think it's a wastage of time and money to drive from YCK to Ubi for training and back from Ubi to YCK. It is almost one hour. I'd better spend my own time and transport fee to go to Ubi to train rather pay instructos to acompany with me. That day went to CDC Ubi, it's really shock and surprised. There are plenty of PDI with cars at the both sides of the street. Majority charge 24/26$ and some even lower than this, only a few charge as same as those at YCK like26/28$. Some enrollment fee is 30$ only. I think for those looking for instructors and who want to test in Ubi can go there to have a look.

i just passed FTT yest, took my PDL. wanted to get Mr william at YCK already wor. so what do u suggest. i also think cdc many students and pdi and the roads.. i dont really like but highly recommended pdi william leh whose booking fully booked till 2 weeks later.. and i want to pass my TP by sept. ssdc testdate oct lo. the other 2 centers are in aug. i stay around yishun. my fren recommend mr puah at ssdc cos he just passed his TP also.

so now i preferably want ssdc/bbdc pdi. help?

snowball08

i just passed FTT yest, took my PDL. wanted to get Mr william at YCK already wor. so what do u suggest. i also think cdc many students and pdi and the roads.. i dont really like but highly recommended pdi william leh whose booking fully booked till 2 weeks later.. and i want to pass my TP by sept. ssdc testdate oct lo. the other 2 centers are in aug. i stay around yishun. my fren recommend mr puah at ssdc cos he just passed his TP also.

so now i preferably want ssdc/bbdc pdi. help?

for me, I tried before, from YCK to Ubi it took one hour which I think it's quite wasted.
I just checked CDC Ubi test date already in 16th, Oct. (you dont look at the test date under school, should see under PDI one). The SSDC's date is the earlist data but on traffic police website, it shows SSDC has the lowest passing rate. Many of my friends staying in Yishun like to take TP in BBDC.
For PDI, i still think it's good to learn under those whose passing rate are high. It doesnt matter if anyone recommended, as long as we'll pass TP at first time, right. And you can see the website, Mr. Lek's passing rate is not high. (37-38%).

snowball08

Post kao's thread here also:

I also think pickup is a waste of time. I suggest u learn close to the place where u going to take the test. Example if u intend to take test @ ubi, take lessons either private/school near there. The reasons becoz the test routes are usually near the test centre. So no pt learning to drive from your hse to centre.

It also good to familiarize with the test routes so that you can look out for certain areas. Slopes, road traffic, etc etc.

shalome

for me, I tried before, from YCK to Ubi it took one hour which I think it's quite wasted.
I just checked CDC Ubi test date already in 16th, Oct. (you dont look at the test date under school, should see under PDI one). The SSDC's date is the earlist data but on traffic police website, it shows SSDC has the lowest passing rate. Many of my friends staying in Yishun like to take TP in BBDC.
For PDI, i still think it's good to learn under those whose passing rate are high. It doesnt matter if anyone recommended, as long as we'll pass TP at first time, right. And you can see the website, Mr. Lek's passing rate is not high. (37-38%).

logical.

who is mr. lek btw? i dono their full name leh. they all put surname or common name only. sigh

ur frens all take different PDI at BBDC?

snowball08

logical.

who is mr. lek btw? i dono their full name leh. they all put surname or common name only. sigh

ur frens all take different PDI at BBDC?

Mr. lek is Mr. William. His namecard shows William Lek. You can look through all the names on the website which I post previously. Among hundreds of PDI, only one whose surname is Lek, so it's him lah (you can ask him to confirm). The method of checking traffic police website was taught by my friends. Initially I also looked for nice, patient, recommended PDI, but scolded by my friends. They said the purpose is not to making friends, it's to learn and pass at first time...They also called those high passing rate ones...

winterpolaris

Hi Guys,

long time no see =)

lesson with Mr William is good. I think i really enjoyed my lesson with him especially i got a very lousy instructor in the past.. so comparing with the ex-instructor, he is a saint haha

I am going to take my Practical test in end of August :p

But i been so busy with work so i thought having intensive training with him in August. But i want to ask you guys advice at least how many times i should practice in circuit?

In anyhow, i think he is a very patient instructor. I do encouraged you all to sign up with him. But i think he also very popular so his schedule is pretty packed! But many students could also be graduating soon so very soon you gonna book a slot with him ya!

Will update you my progress again. So far been driving quite well on the road except my U-turn like crap! hahahaha :p

:s12:

*sorry i don't login here often and i didn't realize i have unseen private msgs.. i apologized if i did not reply. *

NWT1978

Hi Guys,

long time no see =)

lesson with Mr William is good. I think i really enjoyed my lesson with him especially i got a very lousy instructor in the past.. so comparing with the ex-instructor, he is a saint haha

I am going to take my Practical test in end of August :p

But i been so busy with work so i thought having intensive training with him in August. But i want to ask you guys advice at least how many times i should practice in circuit?

In anyhow, i think he is a very patient instructor. I do encouraged you all to sign up with him. But i think he also very popular so his schedule is pretty packed! But many students could also be graduating soon so very soon you gonna book a slot with him ya!

Will update you my progress again. So far been driving quite well on the road except my U-turn like crap! hahahaha :p

:s12:

*sorry i don't login here often and i didn't realize i have unseen private msgs.. i apologized if i did not reply. *

is that the one i recommend ? :D

i went inside for 5x or so or, the entrance to enter the cdc circuit abit tight for comfort. dont drive too fast inside =:p u-turn... u need to judge properly, think he already teach u but u just need more practices... went on one of the test route during one of the practices... then saw the traffic jam... thus quite nervous.

btw his car still good? aircon good? :D

winterpolaris

hahaha i think so Mr William with the grey mitishibushi car. aircon quite strong

am quite nervous whenever i do left or right turn. And hold the wheel especially tight. he was like haiyo! why you so uptight :p

but yes should having about 10+ intensive training with him in August. Super siong ... cost me quite a fair bit so hope i can pass =)

NWT1978

hahaha i think so Mr William with the grey mitishibushi car. aircon quite strong

am quite nervous whenever i do left or right turn. And hold the wheel especially tight. he was like haiyo! why you so uptight :p

but yes should having about 10+ intensive training with him in August. Super siong ... cost me quite a fair bit so hope i can pass =)

ah the same then :D no need so tight... later the steering wheel broke :eek: be gentle with it...=:p i enjoy his lessons alot too... slopes and jams are not fun... first time slope didnt pull handbrake nearly roll back lucky his side got extra footbrake... rest of lessons i alert for this =:p

i dont like the jams... hold the clutch and brake then clutch and accelerator again...legs tired fast =:p

i also dont like changing lanes that much...some dont gave u any chance one... u signal already they purposely speed up and overtake u and cut in :eek:

mrpega

mr william sure is busy..i called him to ask him some questions then half way he said he's busy and before i can say goodbye he "cup" my phone liao..lol

when is the best time to call?

my friends recommended me to go Woodlands driving centre as well..their instructors can teach anywhere you want.any reviews abt this centre?

anyone tried before this guy?

michael

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.