Reliable Private Driving Instructor?

Petrelli_83

Does anyone have a private driving instructor to recommend? I stay at buangkok area. Failed 4 times and i think it's time to change a driving centre (ubi) or change an instructor.

Is it possible to enroll with a school halfway through their course? Or must i go through the entire system again, e.g. basic theory --> advanced theory ---> practical?

zuldevil

Thanks for the valuable advices. I'll go to BBDC circuit for the next 1-2 times.

Ya the one I mentioned is the turn right after stop sign, because its a up slope so must use the handbrake method. At private circuit I can do it very well as its OTOT but at the main road I can't because got traffic and everything.

I'll get back to you guys on friday after my TP! Rest assured it'll be a good news :s12:

I've written about circuits before here : http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showpost.php?p=52030414&postcount=784

Definitely agree with valuesniper regarding trying the circuit at least twice. More, if you can, even. And I made the same mistake he did during my first time in the circuit too! Turned into the wrong lane, and felt really depressed 'cause it was close to my TP date. Hah.

Well, if you can do the handbrake method when you're in private circuit, then you should be able to do it on the road as well. Just ignore all the drivers behind you, and don't panic. If all else fails, just press the accelerator more even if you haven't let go of the clutch fully. Better be penalised for revving the engine than rolling back. lol.

valuesniper

Does anyone have a private driving instructor to recommend? I stay at buangkok area. Failed 4 times and i think it's time to change a driving centre (ubi) or change an instructor.

Is it possible to enroll with a school halfway through their course? Or must i go through the entire system again, e.g. basic theory --> advanced theory ---> practical?

I would strongly recommend my PDI but then he teaches at bukit gombak. you have to decide whether is it worth it for you to travel or not.

shalome

re-looking for manual pdi at north area. what is the lessons rate now? what if FTT expiring in two months? enough time? can cheong?

any good one?

otacon

re-looking for manual pdi at north area. what is the lessons rate now? what if FTT expiring in two months? enough time? can cheong?

any good one?

my wife just signed up with Mr Ng who teached 3A in north area, TP at SSDC. he said TP date at SSDC very fast, likely apr can get a date liao. my wife FTT due date also 2 mths time

xiaode1987

Hi guys, after failed tp 2 times, i stop learning for 2 years. last week was first lesson with Mr yeo,.
overall mr yeo is much better than my last instructor. he even pointed me out that my shoe is not good. should wear those thin thin one.

After 2 years nv drive, seems forget few things. The diff between last time i take and this time i take is, one with pole and one without pole. so had to learn how to park without pole. (which is good).
Realise the step that mr yeo teach parallel parking like got many step. and i have forget. anyone under mr yeo mind telling me the steps he teach u parallel parking?

zuldevil

Hi guys, after failed tp 2 times, i stop learning for 2 years. last week was first lesson with Mr yeo,.
overall mr yeo is much better than my last instructor. he even pointed me out that my shoe is not good. should wear those thin thin one.

After 2 years nv drive, seems forget few things. The diff between last time i take and this time i take is, one with pole and one without pole. so had to learn how to park without pole. (which is good).
Realise the step that mr yeo teach parallel parking like got many step. and i have forget. anyone under mr yeo mind telling me the steps he teach u parallel parking?

Another Mr Yeo's student! Whee! :D

Yah, got many steps... I can't recall all of it (now automatic already - heh), but when I was learning under him, I actually stood with him, and drew out the steps with his guidance. He didn't mind at all. Next time you are doing parking, he will go through the steps again. I recommend that you draw it down. Otherwise, a bit hard to recall.

shalome

my wife just signed up with Mr Ng who teached 3A in north area, TP at SSDC. he said TP date at SSDC very fast, likely apr can get a date liao. my wife FTT due date also 2 mths time

so your wife has already lined up for TP soon?
Private usually need to wait quite long? so fast april can get le? but only have 2 months to learn finish the lessons.

your wife has been changing instructors and also delayed her lessons, IIRC?

how much is this PDI and is he good? what is the contact number and full name? :D

otacon

so your wife has already lined up for TP soon?
Private usually need to wait quite long? so fast april can get le? but only have 2 months to learn finish the lessons.

your wife has been changing instructors and also delayed her lessons, IIRC?

how much is this PDI and is he good? what is the contact number and full name? :D

not yet take date for TP, maybe doing it later after registering at SSDC. she learned manual before with Mr William n TP at Ubi. generally, i think ubi too many cars, a bit hard to learn driving or take TP there.

she only had 1 instructor before lah, she gave up after 2 failed attempts. so encouraged her to continue n take auto instead.

not sure yet cos today first lesson n he costs $42 for 1.5 hrs. only know him as Mr Ng, his contact is 97947250

otacon

My wife just finished first lesson with Mr Ng, she mentioned that he is quite naggy but also quite detail in his.teaching. he had some toy models in his car to enhance his teaching. Now at ssdc waiting to register n hopefully can book a TP date end of apr

shalome

not yet take date for TP, maybe doing it later after registering at SSDC. she learned manual before with Mr William n TP at Ubi. generally, i think ubi too many cars, a bit hard to learn driving or take TP there.

she only had 1 instructor before lah, she gave up after 2 failed attempts. so encouraged her to continue n take auto instead.

not sure yet cos today first lesson n he costs $42 for 1.5 hrs. only know him as Mr Ng, his contact is 97947250

:s11:
so this mr ng is auto or manual?

My wife just finished first lesson with Mr Ng, she mentioned that he is quite naggy but also quite detail in his.teaching. he had some toy models in his car to enhance his teaching. Now at ssdc waiting to register n hopefully can book a TP date end of apr

thanks for the update

lostnfound

Hello all..

I'm looking for PDI (Class 3 Manual) that can pick up around amk/yck/upper thomson area.
Operating from either SSDC or CDC, both are equally near (or far) from my house in upp thomson.

Some recommendations please! thanks

whatme

Actually i find that most of the private driving instructor very seldom do pick up as they would hang around the same location for students to get in the car quickly and so instructor wont be late and hence they have more time.

I rather take the time to drive around the test route area than driving around my house area.. :s13:

xiaode1987

Its also in zul's links.

In case any one needs to know the charges/fees:

One time registration fee: $50
Off peak : $28 per hour (Mon- Fri 9am – 6pm)
Peak: $30 per hour (Mon – Fri after 6pm, weekends and public holidays)
Private circuit: $50 (unlimited usage)
Booking for car for TP test: $150
BBDC circuit: $33

Private circuit $50? but me yeo tell me it free. he got 3 circuit. and i think mr yeo is getting more and more student. someone snatch my slot :(
it best to book the date early and pay first, so no people can snatch ur slot. (mr yeo tell me). e.g if u book a date. and intend to pay after ur lesson. most poperly ur slot is taken if someone wans ur slot and pay for the slot.

seePyou

Grats hahahhaha.
He is ok but really make you understand who to drive

seePyou

Hello all..

I'm looking for PDI (Class 3 Manual) that can pick up around amk/yck/upper thomson area.
Operating from either SSDC or CDC, both are equally near (or far) from my house in upp thomson.

Some recommendations please! thanks

Most SSDC instructors don't do pick ups or drop downs. Most the PDI students go to Marsiling MRT opposite to wait for pickups

valuesniper

Thanks for the valuable advices. I'll go to BBDC circuit for the next 1-2 times.

Ya the one I mentioned is the turn right after stop sign, because its a up slope so must use the handbrake method. At private circuit I can do it very well as its OTOT but at the main road I can't because got traffic and everything.

I'll get back to you guys on friday after my TP! Rest assured it'll be a good news :s12:

No update means good news?

valuesniper

Private circuit $50? but me yeo tell me it free. he got 3 circuit. and i think mr yeo is getting more and more student. someone snatch my slot :(
it best to book the date early and pay first, so no people can snatch ur slot. (mr yeo tell me). e.g if u book a date. and intend to pay after ur lesson. most poperly ur slot is taken if someone wans ur slot and pay for the slot.

Its good if he has more lobang for private circuit, students can save the money. The one that I went to looks like a deserted army barrack camp. Mr Yeo mentioned that he has to pay rental for it, thus he has to charge us for it.

Its not the newbie student that took your slot, its actually the more 'senior' students who are going to take their TP test. If they want to book more slots for practice and no more slots are open, Mr Yeo will then 'release' the slots that are booked but unpaid yet, to them. Priority has to be given to them to ensure that they have more practice and have a better chance of passing. Your turn will come soon, no worries. That's what I did too when not enough slots were available to me.

When it comes to booking slots, I was abit kiasu:

1. When I just started:
Eg, this week I have one lesson, end of lesson, I will book the next lesson and pay him on the spot. So no one can cancel mine.

2. When I'm more familiar with driving:
I will try to book 2-3 slots at one go. Eg, this week I have 3 lessons, on my 1st or latest 2nd lesson, I will book my 2-3 slots for next week already. And on my 3rd lesson, I will one shot pay everything for the 2-3 slots next week.

Most ppl will book for the next lesson for the coming week, so if your slot this week is at Fri-Sat, all the good slots for the coming week will have been taken students who had their lesson on Mon-Thur. So sometimes you have to be kiasu and plan in advance.

3. After I book my TP test:
I book 3 slots for that week, inclding warm-up. And I also arrange to go to BBDC circuit with Mr Yeo. One week b4, I one shot paid all the fees, car rental.

When you paid consistently upfront, firstly, he knows that you are a good pay master. And he wont play you out. I remembered booking for BBDC circuit. Mr Yeo has got the ticket for it and it was still a few weeks later (closer to my TP test date). I offered to pay him first but he declined and told me to pay when the date is closer and thet he will keep the circuit slot for me.

Sometimes it helps to build up trust with your PDI and it can be as simple as paying upfront and promptly.

Hope my experience helps. Cheers!

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.