Reliable Private Driving Instructor?

IAWLheh

To those who wants to learn AUTO PRIVATE at BBDC, I will recommend learning from my instructor MR TAN - 81946933. I have passed my driving (first time pass!) two weeks ago with the help of Mr Tan :)

Mr Tan is the 3rd private driving instructor I've learnt from. 1st instructor also teaches at Bukit Gombak, while 2nd teaches at Bukit Batok.

For the record, Mr Tan:

1) does not eat into my time. E.g. go toilet break halfway/stop to buy coffee/pick up things from friend halfway through lesson.

2) is not calculative on time. Sometimes my lessons end few minutes later than the scheduled end time. (My past instructors always END on DOT, or end FEW minutes beforehand)

3) is very patient in teaching. If I made a mistake, he will correct me by explaining to me what should be done instead, and the logic behind my mistake and the logic of how it should be done. (He does not scold or put me down like my past instructors)

4) allows me to drive at reasonable speed within speed limit, slow down when I should and speed up slightly when I can/should. (I only drive at approximately 30km/hr with my past instructors. They will ask me slow down whenever I reach 40km even if speed limit says 70km. I was asked even asked to slow down when I was at 30km/hr, and what? I'm not even stepping on accelerator anymore, I was just rolling......)

5) is a responsible instructor. I booked a morning practice session before my final practical test. In the end, I had remembered the wrong timing for my final practical test and informed Mr Tan wrongly. I only knew when he called me up 2-3days before to inform me. I went ahead smoothly with my morning practice and afternoon test. Mr Tan did not scold me, I did not need to request him to block book his afternoon timing (when another student could have already booked him for that afternoon timeslot). I'm thankful for that. beause my 1st instructor last minute 'threw me' to learn circuit practice from another instructor (and different car). Reason being- he agreed to teach another student. He could earn more, why reject? ... you definitely wants a responsible instructor who does not 'play you out' like that.

6) responds to messages & calls, he does not MIA. In fact, he will inform me call him back at night as he is on the road. This shows that he is responsible to his students. (my 1st instructor does pick up calls and chat; while 2nd MIA- does not answer my call, did not reply to my message and did not call me back. He only did so after a week later - wasted my week without any explanation)

7) gives me good circuit practices. He will make me practice over and over again the courses or turning that I'm not good at. Unlike my past instructor, I only did each course (e.g. S course/parking) once or at most twice, and out I go of circuit- does not justify my money spent.

I have spent est. $1900-$2000 in all. To be fair, the total cost include renewing of PDL, forfeiting payment for booking my 1st FP and re-booking another session; registration fee for changing instructor. Furthermore, I learnt 19 lessons from 1st instructor; 3 from 2nd instructor (MIA pattern) and 9 lessons from Mr Tan (3rd instructor). 18 lessons including 1 circuit practice at SSDC and 1 circuit practice at BBDC, and I was supposed to take my FP. How am I supposed to pass without enough circuit practice? The 9 lessons with Mr Tan was sufficient to make me learn from all my mistakes, discover new mistakes and improved from there.

From my experience, if you are having a bad time with your instructor and felt a compelling reason to change, consider Mr Tan or anyone else good at teaching. If not, you may end up spending more money on practice or spending more money on re-taking your test ($200 or so for car rental etc). I'm confident that I will save so much more if I had learnt from Mr Tan right from the start.

If you are keen to learn from Mr Tan, ring him up, he's friendly. His rate is $32/hr. Picks up/drop off at Bukit Gombak.

I found his referral online and likewise I will like to contribute back to future/current learners :)

Testimonial from a happy and satisfied student.

How come you spent about 2k at 1st attempt passes? I passed my at 2nd attempt and spent in total about 1.3k only. My instructor rate is 90mins for 42 dollars.

saigravy

To those who wants to learn AUTO PRIVATE at BBDC, I will recommend learning from my instructor MR TAN - 81946933. I have passed my driving (first time pass!) two weeks ago with the help of Mr Tan :)

Mr Tan is the 3rd private driving instructor I've learnt from. 1st instructor also teaches at Bukit Gombak, while 2nd teaches at Bukit Batok.

For the record, Mr Tan:

1) does not eat into my time. E.g. go toilet break halfway/stop to buy coffee/pick up things from friend halfway through lesson.

2) is not calculative on time. Sometimes my lessons end few minutes later than the scheduled end time. (My past instructors always END on DOT, or end FEW minutes beforehand)

3) is very patient in teaching. If I made a mistake, he will correct me by explaining to me what should be done instead, and the logic behind my mistake and the logic of how it should be done. (He does not scold or put me down like my past instructors)

4) allows me to drive at reasonable speed within speed limit, slow down when I should and speed up slightly when I can/should. (I only drive at approximately 30km/hr with my past instructors. They will ask me slow down whenever I reach 40km even if speed limit says 70km. I was asked even asked to slow down when I was at 30km/hr, and what? I'm not even stepping on accelerator anymore, I was just rolling......)

5) is a responsible instructor. I booked a morning practice session before my final practical test. In the end, I had remembered the wrong timing for my final practical test and informed Mr Tan wrongly. I only knew when he called me up 2-3days before to inform me. I went ahead smoothly with my morning practice and afternoon test. Mr Tan did not scold me, I did not need to request him to block book his afternoon timing (when another student could have already booked him for that afternoon timeslot). I'm thankful for that. beause my 1st instructor last minute 'threw me' to learn circuit practice from another instructor (and different car). Reason being- he agreed to teach another student. He could earn more, why reject? ... you definitely wants a responsible instructor who does not 'play you out' like that.

6) responds to messages & calls, he does not MIA. In fact, he will inform me call him back at night as he is on the road. This shows that he is responsible to his students. (my 1st instructor does pick up calls and chat; while 2nd MIA- does not answer my call, did not reply to my message and did not call me back. He only did so after a week later - wasted my week without any explanation)

7) gives me good circuit practices. He will make me practice over and over again the courses or turning that I'm not good at. Unlike my past instructor, I only did each course (e.g. S course/parking) once or at most twice, and out I go of circuit- does not justify my money spent.

I have spent est. $1900-$2000 in all. To be fair, the total cost include renewing of PDL, forfeiting payment for booking my 1st FP and re-booking another session; registration fee for changing instructor. Furthermore, I learnt 19 lessons from 1st instructor; 3 from 2nd instructor (MIA pattern) and 9 lessons from Mr Tan (3rd instructor). 18 lessons including 1 circuit practice at SSDC and 1 circuit practice at BBDC, and I was supposed to take my FP. How am I supposed to pass without enough circuit practice? The 9 lessons with Mr Tan was sufficient to make me learn from all my mistakes, discover new mistakes and improved from there.

From my experience, if you are having a bad time with your instructor and felt a compelling reason to change, consider Mr Tan or anyone else good at teaching. If not, you may end up spending more money on practice or spending more money on re-taking your test ($200 or so for car rental etc). I'm confident that I will save so much more if I had learnt from Mr Tan right from the start.

If you are keen to learn from Mr Tan, ring him up, he's friendly. His rate is $32/hr. Picks up/drop off at Bukit Gombak.

I found his referral online and likewise I will like to contribute back to future/current learners :)

Testimonial from a happy and satisfied student.

Thanks for the recommendation. Does Mr Tan teach manual? Thanks

havetheveryfun

How come you spent about 2k at 1st attempt passes? I passed my at 2nd attempt and spent in total about 1.3k only. My instructor rate is 90mins for 42 dollars.

some people take more lessons before their first test ma...

havetheveryfun

Spent like 1.1k on extra lesson mehhh

he already said he took 19 + 3 + 9 lessons, which is already more than most private candidates. That is 31 lessons.

Assuming the rate of auto is 50$ per 90 mins (which I think is the average, normally ard 40-50$ per 90 mins), that is already $1500 right there, without taking into account the registration fee with private candidates, rental of car for tp test, circuit fee, etc...

commenter123

cost of a tp test?

how much does a tp test cost? my instructor charged me $356. i went for 1 hr circuit and 30min of driving before that. am i scammed? and i failed today.

IAWLheh

how much does a tp test cost? my instructor charged me $356. i went for 1 hr circuit and 30min of driving before that. am i scammed? and i failed today.

I have replied you in other forum. Yes most probably scammed. Where got tp so expensive one. Very long ago last time also 300 at most. Now drop to 250

IAWLheh

he already said he took 19 + 3 + 9 lessons, which is already more than most private candidates. That is 31 lessons.

Assuming the rate of auto is 50$ per 90 mins (which I think is the average, normally ard 40-50$ per 90 mins), that is already $1500 right there, without taking into account the registration fee with private candidates, rental of car for tp test, circuit fee, etc...

True but actually since he already got many lesson he shouldn't book so many lesson with his latest instructor. If only he still not confident in driving

chenzhuzhu

Hi all,

would anyone tells me what would you have learned if you have already 6 lessons from a pte pdi. so far i am only taught U-turn at junction and have been doing that for 6 lessons and on the same route and no comment or remark from the instructor.

IAWLheh

Hi all,

would anyone tells me what would you have learned if you have already 6 lessons from a pte pdi. so far i am only taught U-turn at junction and have been doing that for 6 lessons and on the same route and no comment or remark from the instructor.

I am slow learner but I think 6th lesson I learned left turn, right turn, u turn, slope and vertical parking. Circuit is around 8th lesson if I am not wrong

No use for a Name

I am slow learner but I think 6th lesson I learned left turn, right turn, u turn, slope and vertical parking. Circuit is around 8th lesson if I am not wrong

Lol, I only went in circuit only on my 11th lesson.
Entered twice nia.
So far 13 lessons, 2 more weeks tp.
Damn scared, but my instructor also 1 pattern 1. Zzz

chenzhuzhu

Lol, I only went in circuit only on my 11th lesson.
Entered twice nia.
So far 13 lessons, 2 more weeks tp.
Damn scared, but my instructor also 1 pattern 1. Zzz
same pattern of pdi, occasionally knock off zzzz and sometimes 15min late + 5 min going thru his paperwork or answering calls, and it feels like u only drove for a while on the road and it's time up liao, kind of like paying for leisure driving, do all instructors behave like this.

IAWLheh

same pattern of pdi, occasionally knock off zzzz and sometimes 15min late + 5 min going thru his paperwork or answering calls, and it feels like u only drove for a while on the road and it's time up liao, kind of like paying for leisure driving, do all instructors behave like this.

My instructor don't late leh. And whenever I request circuit he sure give me but of cos I paying for it. He don't sleep but 1 to 2 times he got listen music using earpiece and see newspaper

Iron_Maiden

Last time I took extra lesson from soon tien. The instructor ask me to practise parking while he sleeping. :D

chenzhuzhu

My instructor don't late leh. And whenever I request circuit he sure give me but of cos I paying for it. He don't sleep but 1 to 2 times he got listen music using earpiece and see newspaper

can give contact of yr instructor, manual or auto, mine cdc auto

IAWLheh

can give contact of yr instructor, manual or auto, mine cdc auto

To me he's very good in teaching but he will scold when we did wrong. Won't late for lesson but lesson will end like 5mins early. He cdc manual. You still want his contact?

chenzhuzhu

To me he's very good in teaching but he will scold when we did wrong. Won't late for lesson but lesson will end like 5mins early. He cdc manual. You still want his contact?

ok, dun mind u give me for reference, in case i need

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.