Restaurant owner: Yes, we can hire S'poreans, yes we can pay more for the (S Pass) levy, but who’s going to foot the bill? Ultimately..the consumers

Level42

bro the rich mixed with the rich and enjoy the profits together so they dont care the bottom who have to pay more to make them richer

Yes bro. Culture here has become very selfish and toxic. Think they are happy to pay exorbitant rent but not salary because they need that extreme ego trip to feel richer than those at the bottom. The wider the gap, the better to them.

peterpater

For food and beverage (F&B) businesses, the adjustment to manpower costs would trickle down to affect customers, suggested Cedric Tang, a third-generation owner of Ka Soh & Swee Kee Restaurants.

“At the end of the day, the cost is going down to the consumers. Yes, we can hire Singaporeans, yes we can pay more for the (S Pass) levy, but who’s going to foot the bill? The companies are not going to absorb all the cost increase,” he said.

“It’s not that business is bad; business is okay. But you have to hire the manpower to keep moving forward and to recover. We have faced two years of losses and now it's a recovery period.”

Mr Tang added that Singaporeans might not realise the levy, in addition to the raise in minimum qualifying salaries for S Pass holders, also hurts F&B businesses.

“And that’s the cost that will ultimately trickle down to the consumers. Everyone loses, but the consumer is the one that loses more,” he said.

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/singapore/foreign-worker-pass-permit-salary-ep-s-pass-2508201
What a stupig dumb fug with no basic understanding of economy and finance trying to fearmonger. When you hire foreigners, a large portion of their salary may flow out of SG. The locals will spend the money here and stimulate the economy and this cycle will bring growth. Lol it’s 1 thing to think for consumers, and another to think about mercs and landed property :)

PrinceY

if they raise too fast, sudden drop in clients i guess too
That’s true haha.. hopefully ppl boycott lo..

but then harder in practical unless theirs is really a lot higher then ppl really find it hard to swallow.. since most of the time others will increase price also then end up everywhere the same again..

Lchlch

bro trust me he wont complaint to the minister they are rich circle of people that is why he dare to say waht he say bro
Most of them drives and live in condo.
once i was at hawker center, not restaurants, buy some food back home.
then had a small talk asking can accept CDC?
long story short, one of the cook (her hubby) suddenly said wow COE also up, everything up..

I was thinking COE and your stall related meh?
oh...he drives....

See lah, even hawker owner also drive and live in condo.
And yet they complain no business....
I wont pity them at all.
It means they are rich people, high income group people.

justice89

Ingredients cost increases, rental cost increases due to increase in property tax, staff cost increases......might as well fold the business ? And who say sinkies land ish food paradise ?

Next tim all brands shift out sinkies land better ......

wadsad

2$ ingredient fry abit when serve charge at 14$. haven count 17% service + gst charges.

thats almost 10x profit margin. dun need to say until like sob story if u wan to keep all the earnings.

kmkimlo

For food and beverage (F&B) businesses, the adjustment to manpower costs would trickle down to affect customers, suggested Cedric Tang, a third-generation owner of Ka Soh & Swee Kee Restaurants.

“At the end of the day, the cost is going down to the consumers. Yes, we can hire Singaporeans, yes we can pay more for the (S Pass) levy, but who’s going to foot the bill? The companies are not going to absorb all the cost increase,” he said.

“It’s not that business is bad; business is okay. But you have to hire the manpower to keep moving forward and to recover. We have faced two years of losses and now it's a recovery period.”

Mr Tang added that Singaporeans might not realise the levy, in addition to the raise in minimum qualifying salaries for S Pass holders, also hurts F&B businesses.

“And that’s the cost that will ultimately trickle down to the consumers. Everyone loses, but the consumer is the one that loses more,” he said.

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/singapore/foreign-worker-pass-permit-salary-ep-s-pass-2508201

this is usually the case what. even the GST layered taxes is going to just trickle down to consumers - either price increase or portion become smaller.

But wait.. GST is to help the poor. Yeah, we can avoid paying all these layered GST taxes by simply not going out. This is the way we can help ourselves (the poor).

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.