Restaurant owner: Yes, we can hire S'poreans, yes we can pay more for the (S Pass) levy, but who’s going to foot the bill? Ultimately..the consumers

Unic0rn

“At the end of the day, the cost is going down to the consumers. Yes, we can hire Singaporeans, yes we can pay more for the (S Pass) levy, but who’s going to foot the bill? The companies are not going to absorb all the cost increase,” he said.

“It’s not that business is bad; business is okay. But you have to hire the manpower to keep moving forward and to recover.
Business is not bad means good 👍🏼 business can absorb the cost increase, instead of always pushing for higher profits margins for the boss to change big house and big car 😂

Shion

Senior Mentor
Most of them drives and live in condo.
once i was at hawker center, not restaurants, buy some food back home.
then had a small talk asking can accept CDC?
long story short, one of the cook (her hubby) suddenly said wow COE also up, everything up..

I was thinking COE and your stall related meh?
oh...he drives....

See lah, even hawker owner also drive and live in condo.
And yet they complain no business....
I wont pity them at all.
It means they are rich people, high income group people.

dun say condo...landed also have...
their rentals are very low per month
how can dun earn ?

iras should investigate all of them

All in a Day

long story short, one of the cook (her hubby) suddenly said wow COE also up, everything up..

oh...he drives....

I wont pity them at all.
To be fair, if hawker never overcharge, do his biz ethically, make $ got salah meh

charliebrown

i only noe those tat eat outside really kum gong kena carrot gao gao..
sometime pay already also bey song.

no wonder hear people mention during dating time women will burn a big hole in pocket.

Lchlch

i only noe those tat eat outside really kum gong kena carrot gao gao..
sometime pay already also bey song.
Eg valentine’s day, many Kum gong couples go restaurants to eat....Kum gong , gana chop c arrow gao gao .
then not happy, post online, food lousy this and that.
you (i mean those Kum gong couples) asked for it.

whitecabbage

I worked for a sme when I just graduated...this boss stay landed and have a condo and drives a sports car...every month give his sons salary when they dont work for him...during christmas only buy us potato chips from ntuc...and its the cheap kind...this pandemic his outlets all closed...karma is a bitch

TopGun

There is no point shooting the messenger here. If cost of labour goes up, the cost of products goes up, to a point where consumers accept for the value they receive.

All labor intensive sectors will be affected, not just F&B. For the lower/middle income group, life is just going to be much tougher.

Lchlch

Eg valentine’s day, many Kum gong couples go restaurants to eat....Kum gong , gana chop c arrow gao gao .
then not happy, post online, food lousy this and that.
you (i mean those Kum gong couples) asked for it.
During festive season, will restaurant owners charge lower price or higher price?
owners treat customers like a Kum gong people.

amransan

oh...he drives....

I wont pity them at all.
bro in singapore singaporean even they doing very well they will say they not making money because they dont want others to borrow money from them it happen for so many years and became a norm.

u know after i finish my NS and a friend his dad intro me to work for his friend who owned a small printing shop he hires 3 malaysian (2 very old and 1 in his 30s) and i sgrean 20 year old and i was paid $750 and after i take bus and put aside makan money i no much money in my hand!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

after 4 months i quit the job!
the boss always complaint no bussiness and there were one time he ask me to follow him to get the printing paper and while driving the phone ring his wife told him that the renovation people come to do some renovation and she want to change the whole floor tiles and cost $30K and he tell sure no problem!

bluerhino

Singapore has some of the highest cost to eat at restaurants. Even more ex than Hong Kong. Really don’t know where all the money goes. Salaries and rental in Hong Kong are equal or higher than Singapore.

Lchlch

I worked for a sme when I just graduated...this boss stay landed and have a condo and drives a sports car...every month give his sons salary when they dont work for him...during christmas only buy us potato chips from ntuc...and its the cheap kind...this pandemic his outlets all closed...karma is a bitch
Karma really indeed gave him a good presents.

MyWill

Talk cork! $ fall from sky? Same for all hike. Of course consumers/ citizens bare rah.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.