Restaurant owner: Yes, we can hire S'poreans, yes we can pay more for the (S Pass) levy, but who’s going to foot the bill? Ultimately..the consumers

tripleme

For food and beverage (F&B) businesses, the adjustment to manpower costs would trickle down to affect customers, suggested Cedric Tang, a third-generation owner of Ka Soh & Swee Kee Restaurants.

“At the end of the day, the cost is going down to the consumers. Yes, we can hire Singaporeans, yes we can pay more for the (S Pass) levy, but who’s going to foot the bill? The companies are not going to absorb all the cost increase,” he said.

“It’s not that business is bad; business is okay. But you have to hire the manpower to keep moving forward and to recover. We have faced two years of losses and now it's a recovery period.”

Mr Tang added that Singaporeans might not realise the levy, in addition to the raise in minimum qualifying salaries for S Pass holders, also hurts F&B businesses.

“And that’s the cost that will ultimately trickle down to the consumers. Everyone loses, but the consumer is the one that loses more,” he said.

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/singapore/foreign-worker-pass-permit-salary-ep-s-pass-2508201

danguard

For food and beverage (F&B) businesses, the adjustment to manpower costs would trickle down to affect customers, suggested Cedric Tang, a third-generation owner of Ka Soh & Swee Kee Restaurants.

“At the end of the day, the cost is going down to the consumers. Yes, we can hire Singaporeans, yes we can pay more for the (S Pass) levy, but who’s going to foot the bill? The companies are not going to absorb all the cost increase,” he said.

“It’s not that business is bad; business is okay. But you have to hire the manpower to keep moving forward and to recover. We have faced two years of losses and now it's a recovery period.”

Mr Tang added that Singaporeans might not realise the levy, in addition to the raise in minimum qualifying salaries for S Pass holders, also hurts F&B businesses.

“And that’s the cost that will ultimately trickle down to the consumers. Everyone loses, but the consumer is the one that loses more,” he said.

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/singapore/foreign-worker-pass-permit-salary-ep-s-pass-2508201

true that

who pays the bills eventually

Lchlch

Whos going to foot the bills?
sooo simple, pass the bills to the customers lor.
isnt it gst increase, customer suffer, not stall owners or restaurant owners.

bluerhino

Even if the total cost to hire foreigners increase they will still hire foreigners. How many sinkie can tahan f&b kind of work? Don’t talk big say pay more uou will do the job. Now f&b already paying 2k+ for someone with no experience. Sinkie rather do grab for some reason.

danguard

Even if the total cost to hire foreigners increase they will still hire foreigners. How many sinkie can tahan f&b kind of work? Don’t talk big say pay more uou will do the job. Now f&b already paying 2k+ for someone with no experience. Sinkie rather do grab for some reason.

true

grab is own boss can flexi time

danguard

You enrich locals, you'll have richer locals pay your prices.

You enrich foreigners, they just bunker down because they dont see themselves here for the long run.

u are very rite on this :)

matey1982

43425190.jpg

trax06

If your F&B is surviving bcos you're suppressing wages then you close done pun cantik.

I knw business is not a charity but stilllll

Shion

Senior Mentor
this seems not simple

i worked for 2 local f&b in the past with establishments both overseas and local
the management literally scream poor business every single year, zero increment, zero bonus for staffs
CNY period give you one small angbao and thats all

but management people every year buy new car

Lchlch

more local biz will lose customers :(
yes bro especially most of the restauran owners hire , my guess, 90- 95% foreign workers.
Owners will have to pay extra for them.
if no business, then close the Restaurants.
in good times, they can charge customer super high price.
in bad times, who care for them if they having problems?
I dont.

Lchlch

i worked for 2 local f&b in the past with establishments both overseas and local
the management literally scream poor business every single year, zero increment, zero bonus for staffs
CNY period give you one small angbao and thats all

but management people every year buy new car
Yes that is why, bro, never pity those owners.
those owners having high life styles for decades.
now pay back time.
now, they cry foul i also dont care.
if cannot survive, close his/her damn shops!

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.