Retirement Life

JustForFun

Work 26 years ended nothing much achieved ?

People are "wasting life time" and wait for death ?

Kain999

Really meh
I watch Netflix for 2-4hrs i feel shaggy n sian Liao Lor
Then take a nap lor. It's own time own target. Dun want watch netflix that day, go run errands or even cook for that day. Won't have nothing to do one.

Raelight

no one ask you to work until so long.
the choice is yours. plan properly.
learn to be contented.

then can retire anytime.
got people 30s 40s 50s also retired.

not everyone craves retirement.
some people old and work in jobs that they just go in few hours everyday.

basically many people just do retirement jobs not for money. just to past time. the money is not so important already.

Work to pass time is very sad.
Din live life meaningfully.

~sabaisabai~

My plan two years ago was to retire at 50, so now I have fulfilled my plan.

I worked for the company for 26 years, my job is well paid but very stressful and is affecting my health and wellbeing. Moreover my longtime boss is also quitting and retiring, so why not join my boss to quit and retire.
i reckon it is a good choice as you know yourself better than any others.

since it is a well paid job, and you had been working for 26years, and plans in place, it is a good decision to quit. mental health is equally important

~sabaisabai~

Wow that’s such a long service extremely rare in SG. Any long service retirement benefit?
i believe every company has long service award

5, 10, 15, 20 etc

but no such thing as retirement benefits lah, you think it is SAF meh.. LOL LOL

~sabaisabai~

yes i do have some friends need work to pass time
they said cannot retired, cos very bored.. :ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO:
not sure if they need money or need work to kill time 🤭

stingray1211

define meaningfully?

I like to go to work , because many friends are there. that is meaning. friends.
just talk , discuss our future retirement plans. discuss lobangs . discuss which credit card best. what to invest in. where to eat. kids , family.

once in a while arrange all boys only holiday together.

play mahjong together.

individual hobbies I feel then is less meaningful. because you don't share it with others.
meaningful to me , is about other people. not self.

recently had dinner with old colleagues who left .. fun times. simple drinks, food. just bitch about the past. enjoy the company.

dry_county

$2M savings excluding CPF and stocks
I have no debt. If I require more money, I can sell my stocks or my fully paid condo.
Kor kor mind sharing how you accumulated so much? Is it your income very high last time? :eek:

ykau

At mid40s and above, i see attended more funerals than wedding. Other than myself, I guess some are more fortunate to receive inheritance from parents to hit their retirement target early.

cosmothecat

work to pass time is not bad...which means u can pick and choose the kind of job u want rather then die die need to work to pay bills
True

That's why I do volunteerism work.

Not only no salary, I give out money from my own pocket to donate to those organizations that I volunteered in to help others.

Spike

My plan two years ago was to retire at 50, so now I have fulfilled my plan.

I worked for the company for 26 years, my job is well paid but very stressful and is affecting my health and wellbeing. Moreover my longtime boss is also quitting and retiring, so why not join my boss to quit and retire.
Congrats to your retirement! Occupying time meaningfully is the challenge. Take care

@Tony.Manero I see there's a chance that u might do the same in the foreseeable future..

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.