Retirement Planning

mummy1234

hahaha have fun getting arse raped by mat rempits burglars n worrying about your car getting stolen anytime

Many Sgpn have taken up MM2H since it was launched. No horrer stories from them yet to make its way to 154th media anyway.
If one can aspire to migrate to US or Australia where there r guns allowed, I don't see what is the difference with JB except that it is nearer and cheaper which is perfect for retirees hence Malaysia is one of the world's top retirement spots unlike Sg.

I heard even MBT invested in land banking in Iskandar.

I am not yr typical Kiasi and kiasu sgpn gal. And my God and Jesus and the Holy Spirit will protect me wherever I am. Even if I die, I will go to Heaven so I have no fear of death.

mummy1234

As long as mummy1234 and ervino enter the thread, it will morph into property vs stocks.

For mummy1234, it does not matter what the title is. She will always turn it into "my FH terrace, JB semiD, my useless husband" topic. It happens everytime. Everytime.

Shall I spread the gospel more? Because that is what I truly want to do...give everyone the chance to go to Heaven after death. Even those who r suffering in Hell now. I pray to God that if possible they get a second chance to go to Heaven. He has yet to answer me on that though. Maybe I am too kind.

JuniorLion

Many Sgpn have taken up MM2H since it was launched. No horrer stories from them yet to make its way to 154th media anyway.
If one can aspire to migrate to US or Australia where there r guns allowed, I don't see what is the difference with JB except that it is nearer and cheaper which is perfect for retirees hence Malaysia is one of the world's top retirement spots unlike Sg.

I heard even MBT invested in land banking in Iskandar.

I am not yr typical Kiasi and kiasu sgpn gal. And my God and Jesus and the Holy Spirit will protect me wherever I am. Even if I die, I will go to Heaven so I have no fear of death.

Shall I spread the gospel more? Because that is what I truly want to do...give everyone the chance to go to Heaven after death. Even those who r suffering in Hell now. I pray to God that if possible they get a second chance to go to Heaven. He has yet to answer me on that though. Maybe I am too kind.

This thread is never about you. It's about the TS wanting to find out how to do retirement planning. Quit turning it into your own personal sob story and discuss things related only to yourself.

mummy1234

Dear all,

Needed some advice/suggestion on how to go about having an earlier retirement together with wife 20 years from now. I registered a new account for this purpose to avoid exposing myself. Will try to provide as much info to allow you to form a better advice/suggestion. Below values all in SGD

Age: Me Sporean Wife SPR both in mid 30s, 2 Kids Sporean < 5
Annual Income: 230k combined
Asset: Coming 5 years 4br HDB (fully paid via cash with current market value of at least 300k i guess)
Cash: 320k combined thru hard savings (distributed across multiple bank account to maximine interest of about 2% p.a weighted avg)
CPF: Me 210k (OA) 83k (SA) 55k (MA), Wife 103k (OA) 37k (SA) 33k (MA)
SRS: Me 30k (top up twice to enjoy some tax benefits, funds not invested yet)
Insurance Edu plans for kids: 24k p.a for 5 years starting from 2018 mature in 17 years for 160k
Investment: None but intend to enter share maket if STI drop 50% with 50% of current cash and regular 10x interval 5% average down/up with balance cash on hand and continue to buy when monthly wage received
Debt: None
Car: None (takes public transport thou always wanted to buy a car since 18 years ago, with current low COE and govt announcing more COE for next 3 months, its really tempting to buy myself a Attrage)

Current plan is to sell HDB and buy 3br (maybe Whistler Gran of 1.5m+/- provided CDL accept reissue of option required due to HDB MOP) with myself 1% share and wife 99% share (this is to minimise ABSB in future if we intend to go for a 2nd pte property) in hope of some capital appreciation 10 to 20 years down the road and at the same time giving my family a better living environment. We do not mine staying in HDB at all and have been staying in HDB all along.

Some mentioned property investment should be kept at 20% of investment portfolio for diversification purpose and I'm wondering if i'm taking the wrong path in selling HDB and buying a pte condo.

I do felt that the property price is on the high side now but looking at the number of en bloc in the recent 2 years and many yet to receive their money, chances are it will continue to go up but at a slower pace. Furthermore, intention is for long term stay and not for flipping say in 3 years time therefore should be pretty safe? If proceed to buy pte condo, should we be using cash or cpf for the 1st 25% and subsequent monthly repayment?

Welcome all genuine comments so that i can take a better action moving forward. Feel free to ask anything in case i missed out some vital information above. Thanks

You should buy a freehold or 999 year condo not a 99 year one. Not sure how many years Whistler Grand is.

Whether to use cash or CPF depends on yr comfort level about yr job security. Usually I think cash is better since it avoids the silly accrued interest and allows yr CPF to earn 2.5% interest at least.

Really depends on yr job security, do buy an income replacement plan in case you r unable to work for whatever reason to cover yr higher debt burden.

Since u r SPR, do u intend to retire in yr home country? Any properties there?

mummy1234

This thread is never about you. It's about the TS wanting to find out how to do retirement planning. Quit turning it into your own personal sob story and discuss things related only to yourself.

I am just responding to posts. TS could be a Malaysian too. Retirement in his home country if it is Malaysia is a valid point. Many SPRs come to Sg to earn money then renounce their PRs and go back home after they have earned enough. Dunno why Sg allows this system. Their high paying jobs could have gone to a local.

SBC

Say CPF is not sufficient to pay for mortgage, can SA be used to pay?

Anyone tried to appeal successfully before?

Happy_kk

Don't think so. SA is one way, except one has valid reason like terminal illness and etc.

Say CPF is not sufficient to pay for mortgage, can SA be used to pay?

Anyone tried to appeal successfully before?

BBCWatcher

At what age is too late to start planning for retirement plz?
It would be too late to start planning for your retirement after your date of death.

....Why would it be "too late" otherwise? Planning earlier might be better, even a lot better, than waiting, true.

Motoki

making money is the most important thing, if have enough money, no need to worry abt retirement liao

Nofear40

Do you think topping up Special Account to earn 4% annual interest rates helps in retirement?

Opps-gal

Low income earners how to plan for retirement plan? What happen if earn just enough to survive, and not enough to save? Even upgrade skills also not earn much more?

JuniorLion

Low income earners how to plan for retirement plan? What happen if earn just enough to survive, and not enough to save? Even upgrade skills also not earn much more?

If really low income, then has to be diligent. Take all opportunities to earn more income, eg more part-time.

Upgrading skills and getting certifications is one way to get a higher pay.

Knight-Rider

If really low income, then has to be diligent. Take all opportunities to earn more income, eg more part-time.

Upgrading skills and getting certifications is one way to get a higher pay.

The problem is many certifications get obsolete faster if compared to yesteryears. :D

BBCWatcher

I just resigned after working for 11 years and is currently 39 years old .. I had savings of around $350k .. Have no property.
Let’s assume you *have* savings of S$350K.

I am still single and already hit my CPF Full retirement sum ..
OK, the FRS is good.

I am currently living off with my passive income of about $600 per month and spend less than $3,000 per year and thinking of retirement ..
You omitted a really important detail: housing. I assume you’re not living in a bunk bed in a foreign worker dormitory at an approximate cost of $300/month for the housing alone, which is the only common way I know of to survive independently in Singapore on a total budget of under $600/month. (That ~$300/month is going up soon, we can safely assume.) What’s the housing arrangement? Parents? Is the plan to live indefinitely there, and to be the sole heir? How long is the remaining leasehold? Is it paid off, or would it be?

Is it advisable to do so at age 39 ?
“Advisable,” probably not, but I think you’re asking whether it’s financially possible to do so. One way to sanity check that assessment is to run this exercise:

1. Take $300K and find the best annuity you can find from a high quality insurer that pays for 25 years starting from your 40th birthday. That’ll generate a guaranteed monthly income of $X, and $X will surely be at least $1,000/month (since that’s what 0% yield would generate). Note that if the monthly payout is flat (non-escalating) then you have to be careful about inflation. $1,000 in 24+ years won’t buy anywhere near as much as $1,000 does today.

2. At age 55 you’ll have the option to withdraw some amount from CPF, so that’ll help adjust your trajectory.

3. Estimate your future CPF LIFE Escalating Plan payout starting at age 65 in real 2020 dollars. You have to bridge to this, and the Escalating Plan is the inflation fighting one.

4. Check to make sure you’re adequately insured, which in your case is probably only CareShield Life (available from mid 2021 for you) and an “as charged” public hospital B1 ward Integrated Shield plan with rider. Take the current Integrated Shield plan premium table and add 3%/year to the figures for your cost estimate. Plus the increases as you age, of course.

5. Adjust for the housing costs you’re not presently bearing that you will, such as electricity, water, Internet, maintenance, insurance, etc.

6. Take a look at whether you can transfer OA to a parent’s Retirement Account, especially if you need to bolster a parent’s financial resiliency. If you are the parent’s CPF nominee any residual will come back to you when the parent passes.

What I think you’ll find is that you might make the math work, but it’ll be tight and very lean, without much margin for error or bad luck. And do you/would you want to? Are you happy? What would you do for the next 60+ years, and how would you spend your time for the next 60+ years? Are you volunteering for a human services charity, for example?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.