Retrenchment Started today

Foetid

No wonder last time my QA manager kena retrenched worked for 25 yrs...

He told me no point go find job no one will want you...:(

He took 1 year rest and work in security in changi Airport;)
What's his salary before n after would u know? 8k Vs 3k??

Bad kids

Dear all,

Anyone has job for me?

I am looking for an employment.

Confidence for the future. More good years ahead... Let us take Singapore forward together.
Thank you.
You should have good savings for the past years of work right? And should be easily retire anytime?

highsulphur

Am glad u still managed to find a high paying replacement role? Your some MD in banking or portfolio manager I recall??
i have always been ka gia all my life. Was never a manager.

Took a pay cut when I found my new job but I was grateful it was a different scope that allows me to learn new things and experience. Furthermore, I was fortunate that I didn't have period whereby I have no income.

Bad kids

No, don't do this! Business is ultra competitive and costly nowadays. At 50 and with a new lump sum of money, put it in FD for 1 year even if the return is low. Take time to really consider what to do with it like winning a lottery.
Actually hor, some people at 50s got monies and investment, but some also make poor judgement calls... And not everyone is comfortable kenna retrench and knowing that the next pay check is not coming.
That's why some have miliion spare cash, and some have only a thousand left...

Level42

Izzit true only Chio Bu won't get retrench?

My ex-colleague who was retrenched and who ended up with extra CPF from the company , was a chiobu. She was also in her prime, around 30+, with solid regional experience. Definitely easier for younger and good-looking people to land another job in MNC.

I could tell the retrenchment experience wasn’t pleasant for her. But she stood out because she was the only one who actually asked management why she was retrenched. I don’t know of anyone else who’s ever done that. From her case, it’s easy to see that sometimes decision-makers just tikam when deciding who to let go.

averagebean

How to retire at age 50 unless you have loads of savings, passive income, or plan to expire in 10 years.

Yowe55 mini

You should have good savings for the past years of work right? And should be easily retire anytime?

Dear Bad kids,

Bad planning and irresponsible speculation is catching up on me. I am looking for employment to make up for that.

Confidence for the future. More good years ahead... Let us take Singapore forward together.
Thank you.

Yowe55 mini

Dear all,

What are the retrenchments taking place in Singapore to-date?

Thank you.

Yowe55 mini

My ex-colleague who was retrenched and who ended up with extra CPF from the company , was a chiobu. She was also in her prime, around 30+, with solid regional experience. Definitely easier for younger and good-looking people to land another job in MNC.

I could tell the retrenchment experience wasn’t pleasant for her. But she stood out because she was the only one who actually asked management why she was retrenched. I don’t know of anyone else who’s ever done that. From her case, it’s easy to see that sometimes decision-makers just tikam when deciding who to let go.

Dear Level42,

It's about bottom line and whether it is hurting the PL. It has nothing to do with a person's capability and contribution.

Thank you.

Bad kids

Dear Bad kids,

Bad planning and irresponsible speculation is catching up on me. I am looking for employment to make up for that.

Thank you.
Ya lor, keep it up... me too.. I did some bad moves for years... and literally not working during covid and a long period post-covid... didn't really have much CPF too... but I am okay... and happy too

Shalomp

I have been working in this company for 25 years and am officially retrenched today.

Should I be happy or sad? I am above 50 and currently is tough for me to find a job as I only have a poly diploma.

Any advice?
tiagong skillfuture will help u

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.