Retrenchment Started today

homer123

I have been working in this company for 25 years and am officially retrenched today.

Should I be happy or sad? I am above 50 and currently is tough for me to find a job as I only have a poly diploma.

Any advice?
Enjoy early retirement like many Gen Z

Itsnotfunny

When the tap stop flowing. Everything become expensive. Go makan also need to check menu properly before u order. Take transport must think which cheapest option to get to destination. Go holidays must pick budget airlines and 3 star hotel.
Many think easy when no more income and have some savings to spare. It’s diff when u actually see $ flowing out daily and nothing coming in.

highsulphur

My ex-colleague who was retrenched and who ended up with extra CPF from the company , was a chiobu. She was also in her prime, around 30+, with solid regional experience. Definitely easier for younger and good-looking people to land another job in MNC.

I could tell the retrenchment experience wasn’t pleasant for her. But she stood out because she was the only one who actually asked management why she was retrenched. I don’t know of anyone else who’s ever done that. From her case, it’s easy to see that sometimes decision-makers just tikam when deciding who to let go.
What's the point of asking why? Company doesn't need to give any reason

andrewtankw

Think should try to continue to work if possible. If not for the paycheck then for your own sanity..

blackvice

Who give so many foreigners come in sg get job;)
Even my nephew's just graduate also not easy get job:(

Even civil servant job also not easy get in;(
In LinkedIn, got recruiter post saying don't keep blame the foreigners for coming in sg to snatch job. :(:(:(

shodan99

This thread reminds me of an ex-colleague who was retrenched. It was a big company, so I wasn’t familiar with her department. She was in sales and had always exceeded her quota, yet she was handed the pink slip. She confronted a very senior manager, who immediately realized it was a mistake. The manager offered her another role, but by then she was too upset. She left the company at the time when many finance jobs were shifted to the country that can’t be named here.

She was overpaid CPF, and Finance tried to claw it back, but she refused. 🤣 She found another job easily.

Being retrenched is really not one’s fault. And for good companies, a retrenchment exercise is also a nightmare for the managers and decision-makers.
reminds me of a time when I was head of department and was told to downsize the headcount. How can I with a clean conscious chop people whom we worked closely as a team to achieve a common goal. I remembered I couldnt sleep the night before giving out the letters. My hands were cold and sweaty when I told them individually the bad news. Eventually I also left some months later as well.

So sometimes retrenchments also affect those that are bearer of bad news as the decision to downsize does not come from me but many levels above me as well.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.