Retrenchment support group

Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

stetan

Its a misconception to say that retrenchment is due to performance

in my old company, one of my colleague was retrenched, and a couple of months later, that vacancy was filled by a cheaper snd more junior collegue. The name title changed but the job content was eeriely similar.

it about costs to the company

mikezuper

in my old company, one of my colleague was retrenched, and a couple of months later, that vacancy was filled by a cheaper snd more junior collegue. The name title changed but the job content us eeriely similar.
By right this is not allowed but this loophole is very hard to prove to MOM.

popdod

in my old company, one of my colleague was retrenched, and a couple of months later, that vacancy was filled by a cheaper snd more junior collegue. The name title changed but the job content us eeriely similar.

it about costs to the company

exactky. Sometimes is not about performance but cost cutting measures.
or overlapping functions between depts. :(

Ubi-Warrior

You’ll tell yourself it’s ok when it happens
But when you see the bank balance dwindling and job prospects being bleak (particularly when you’re in a small and niche sector with limited opportunities), you'll start panicking

Been through 3 or 4 retrenchments and I concur when the balance start to drop thats when the dark thoughts kick in.

App Time!!!

Ambergris

Seems like quite a number in the past few months.

I'll start
Late 40s. Let go last week. Financial sector. Married with kids but no more loans so not that stressed in terms of financial.

Will take at least a month break to clear my mind and enjoy a well deserved rest. Then look for job after CNY

Was my 2nd retrenchment by the way
Dang! It suxs!

Once is bad enough, twice is terrible. As what many believe, after the second hurdle will be smooth sailing for you.

luei74

HWZ Arch-Supremacy Member leu74
-Tio'ed LEEtrenched in July 2023. Last pos: Staff engr
-M with 2 kids (Poly & Sec 3)
-Bank account mostly low b4 tio chopped. After getting package, gotten 2x Lolexs (explorer II and datejet) for self n CO
-HDB left ~76K, loan up-to 2039 (started to pay with Cash on Jan 2024)
-No car.
-Went for year end holiday at Brunei Darussalam.
-Intend to rest for 3 mths then look for job, but current coy got 1 guy tender LEEsignation end of July.
-Agency shortlisted and ask to go for the interview
-Went through total 3x round of Interviews and gotten confirmed End of Sept with 6 mths probation period.
-Gotten confirmation letter on Dec 26 2023
-Very different role as ex-coy, hands-on becum Quality and talk more vs do more nao..

randomph

if you are "open" can consider writing about your experience on linkedin.

will surely get a lot of connections and also introductions for work huan.

many ppl willing to signal they are helpful on linkedin.

will be no sweat for getting your next role.

Tedicious

Dk if I am consider retrench or maybe close to it?
Boss openly told me last year Oct to find a new job but too bad year end all go on holiday.
Now new year things dun realli look so good as well.

Just got rejected a few roles even there r transferable skills. >.<
Thinking to go back to banking but looks like very hard since I left banking 5 years ago to fintech.

zuppeur

HWZ Arch-Supremacy Member leu74
-Tio'ed LEEtrenched in July 2023. Last pos: Staff engr
-M with 2 kids (Poly & Sec 3)
-Bank account mostly low b4 tio chopped. After getting package, gotten 2x Lolexs (explorer II and datejet) for self n CO
-HDB left ~76K, loan up-to 2039 (started to pay with Cash on Jan 2024)
-No car.
-Went for year end holiday at Brunei Darussalam.
-Intend to rest for 3 mths then look for job, but current coy got 1 guy tender LEEsignation end of July.
-Agency shortlisted and ask to go for the interview
-Went through total 3x round of Interviews and gotten confirmed End of Sept with 6 mths probation period.
-Gotten confirmation letter on Dec 26 2023
-Very different role as ex-coy, hands-on becum Quality and talk more vs do more nao..

50 still can secure job buay pai liao.

AuraKUPO

Tbh retrenched people no need support group one. Their salary is damn high already and their compensation package lets them no need to work for a year. Many are sibei happy also.

highsulphur

Sorry to hear that TS.

Good thing about financial sector you can make a lot of money during good times and probably slow down a bit during bad times.

In engineering, you probably have to slog for life.

I think your financial situation is rock solid. So I'm sure you can get through this crisis. Jia you.
Thank you.

Yah. Not much to worry about financially. Just need to find something to tide me to 55 years old. Hopefully it's a job worth staying for. The last one was great for collegaue but absolutely shxt for management and bosses. Oh well perhaps it's for the best

Jeremy1

I tio retrenched last year working in Sunset Industry. Retrenchment 1 month for 1 year of service cap at 18 years but I had worked for 27 years liao :sad:

Already >55 years old, I just found a job :s13:

My job is to analyse what is the Toto First Prize numbers every draw paying more attention to the more $$$ draw :s13:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.