Review Independence

Koenig168

This little rant by Linus says it all ....

https://youtu.be/iXn9O-Rzb_M

I can't believe I sat through nearly 40 minutes of it. (or you can just skip to 38:45 where Linus said " *bleep* you" to Nvidia lol )

wwenze

Well Linus thanks you for your view I guess.

Some comments are interesting:
“I can live without ya.” This is what true success looks like: when you can dictate your own terms. Also, going to subscribe to Hardware Unboxed.

What actually happens: Influencers don't receive products. But influencers still want to make reviews so they have to buy the products. Either a) They get less profit or b) They milk more from viewers. Either way less money for their ecosystem.

While those who have been reading THG or Anandtech since 2000 don't give a **** anyway and just enjoy people arguing who has the moral high ground.

Koenig168

Well Linus thanks you for your view I guess.

Some comments are interesting:

What actually happens: Influencers don't receive products. But influencers still want to make reviews so they have to buy the products. Either a) They get less profit or b) They milk more from viewers. Either way less money for their ecosystem.

While those who have been reading THG or Anandtech since 2000 don't give a **** anyway and just enjoy people arguing who has the moral high ground.

I think you missed the point. Suggest you view the video.

Gaminator

Basically, nVidia telling Steve of HU that, "It's our way, or the highway!". Typical douche move by nVidia, hope it comes back and bites them hard on their collective butts!

Humster

Basically, nVidia telling Steve of HU that, "It's our way, or the highway!". Typical douche move by nVidia, hope it comes back and bites them hard on their collective butts!

Like how? All their 3000s cards are outta stocks. Nobody cares. I'm Anti Nvidia since the late 90s liao. The only thing you could do is don't support Nvidia yourself and don't expect for others to follow you.

Phen8210

Jay2cents video mentioned something very disturbing.

He mentions Nvidia will call to interrogate him on his videos at each time stamp where they do not agree with him. Like WTF?

kimsix

so far is one sided story, never hear nvidia side.
always found steve reviews at HU quite amd leaning over intel and nvidia

Jay2cents video mentioned something very disturbing.

He mentions Nvidia will call to interrogate him on his videos at each time stamp where they do not agree with him. Like WTF?

nothing wrong leh, at least nvidia is vetting their products reception and not launch and forget. :o

Gaminator

nothing wrong leh, at least nvidia is vetting their products reception and not launch and forget. :o
Wow, that's so wrong. They aren't vetting their products, they're basically interrogating him for what he'd said here and what he'd said there. He's offering his opinion on a product, as do all unbiased reviewers, but kena interrogated is another matter.

mr_voodoo

This little rant by Linus says it all ....

https://youtu.be/iXn9O-Rzb_M

I can't believe I sat through nearly 40 minutes of it. (or you can just skip to 38:45 where Linus said " *bleep* you" to Nvidia lol )

Yeah I sat through all 40 mins of it as well.
Have never really seen Linus come out swinging so strongly.

Even Dell which scammed him didn’t get this much rage.
Must be a PR nightmare for Nvidia.

Humster

Hi Steve,

We've reached a critical juncture in the adoption of raytracing, and it has gained industry-wide support from top titles, developers, game engines, APIs, consoles, and GPUs. As you know, NVIDIA is all-in for raytracing. RT is important and core to the future of gaming, but it's also one part of our focused R&D efforts on revolutionizing video games and creating a better experience for gamers. This philosophy is also reflected in developing technologies such as DLSS, Reflex, and Broadcast that offer immense value to customers that are purchasing a GPU. They don't get free GPUs; they work hard for their money and they keep their GPUs for multiple years.

Despite all this progress, your GPU reviews and recommendations have continued to focus singularly on rasterization performance, and you have largely discounted all of the other technologies we offer gamers. It is very clear from your community commentary that you do not see things the same way that we, gamers, and the rest of the industry do. Our Founder's Edition boards and other NVIDIA products are being allocated to media outlets that recognize the changing landscape of gaming and the features that are important to gamers and anyone buying a GPU today, be it for gaming, content creation, or studio and stream.

Hardware Unboxed should continue to work with our add-in card partners to secure GPUs to review. Of course, you will still have access to obtain pre-release drivers and press materials. That won't change. We are open to revisiting this in the future should your editorial direction change.

Bryan Del Rizzo
Director of Global PR, GeForce

This guy, how the heck he got to the Director of Global PR. :D

watzup_ken

I am not surprised that this is the usual practice of Nvidia to be honest. And with competition getting intense of late, they may likely double down on this path. While it’s true some of these reviews don’t talk about the other features on Nvidia cards, but rasterization is bread and butter for a gamer and his/her graphic card. Rest are mostly just cherries on top. DLSS and NVENC are likely the other 2 useful features, but again, DLSS is not supported in every game and not every gamer will stream their gameplay. And if so, then it falls back to the card’s rasterization capability.

Phen8210

I am not surprised that this is the usual practice of Nvidia to be honest. And with competition getting intense of late, they may likely double down on this path. While it*********s true some of these reviews don*********t talk about the other features on Nvidia cards, but rasterization is bread and butter for a gamer and his/her graphic card. Rest are mostly just cherries on top. DLSS and NVENC are likely the other 2 useful features, but again, DLSS is not supported in every game and not every gamer will stream their gameplay. And if so, then it falls back to the card*********s rasterization capability.

not to mention it will be extremely dangerous for GPU market if these stuff were a high priority for consumers.

Koenig168

so far is one sided story, never hear nvidia side.
always found steve reviews at HU quite amd leaning over intel and nvidia

It's not one sided. There is the email from Nvidia's global PR.

wwenze

Wow, that's so wrong. They aren't vetting their products, they're basically interrogating him for what he'd said here and what he'd said there. He's offering his opinion on a product, as do all unbiased reviewers, but kena interrogated is another matter.

Are computer part reviews supposed to be about facts or opinions? ;)

wwenze

I am not surprised that this is the usual practice of Nvidia to be honest. And with competition getting intense of late, they may likely double down on this path. While it’s true some of these reviews don’t talk about the other features on Nvidia cards, but rasterization is bread and butter for a gamer and his/her graphic card. Rest are mostly just cherries on top. DLSS and NVENC are likely the other 2 useful features, but again, DLSS is not supported in every game and not every gamer will stream their gameplay. And if so, then it falls back to the card’s rasterization capability.

not to mention it will be extremely dangerous for GPU market if these stuff were a high priority for consumers.

You guys must be quite young to the DIY PC scene I guess.

In the past, heck even now, there are games that run faster on nVidia cards, there are games the run faster on AMD / ATi cards. Seems to happen less now but in the past you could have games that are 25% or 50% faster on one particular card brand.

Check out wikipedia regarding shader / tmu / *** count. Notice the ratio is different? Yea and people will be quick to point out that nVidia and AMD's shader/tmu/*** have different speeds. Point is, every card is designed differently and have pros and cons. AMD cards are really good for mining and have many FLOPS due to high shader count. Now NVDA decided to do the same.

You guys know nvidia's shader count pretty much doubled in RTX 3000 series compared to RTX 2000? And more shaders means more flops!!! Like Xbox and PS5, lots of FLOPS!!! Even though the more seasoned DIY-ers all know FLOPS mean jack after 1060 vs RX480. ;)

If you go way back, look at what is the shader count in the past compared to the *** count. Geforce 8800GTX shader count is 128, TMU of 64 and *** of 16!!! What's the ratio now, 8704:272:96??? *** count is now just 1% of shaders?

Not to mention this series is the first unified shaders. Before that we would have separate vertex and pixel shaders. Plus all the new hardware features like T&L and other DX8 / DX9 stuff. Yea I'm going very way back.

Point is, different cards can be made very differently, and result in different strengths. A high "brute force" card of an earlier era would actually be slower than a lower-end newer card with new features. Don't believe you can check the reviews.

"not to mention it will be extremely dangerous for GPU market if these stuff were a high priority for consumers."

Indeed it is. There were many people who said DX9 hardware features were useless because games looked just as good in DX8 while running faster in DX8. (True story.) They said the same about DX10. And about DX11. People shunned the idea of more shaders over ***. Then the era changed and shaders became everything.

Indeed if these stuff were a high priority for consumers, there will be no progress and we will still be stuck with DX7 with no unified shaders. ;)

This is now just a repeat of what has happened in the past, except now we have these RT cores also. And the ratio in RTX 2000 is too low so they increased it in RTX 3000.

I think more important now tho, is that we also have influencers now. ;)

Oh... and BTW, since DLSS is mentioned, did u guys know MSAA also didn't work properly for many titles in the past? We pretty much just used AA, or what we now retroactively call SSAA or supersampling AA.

Also does anyone ever feel stupid that in the past we used supersampling because we could render more pixels than our screen resolution, now games are resorting to doing subsampling (i.e. that render resolution % slider) because we couldn't render as many pixels as our screen resolution. *However*, there is an article on can higher resolution replace AA, and the short answer is, no. Because AA does more things intelligently than just double the render resolution and halving it. Yet again another demonstration of technique over brute force.

daisuki

Y is Nvidia acting like all these independent reviewers are part of the company? What? Your free advertising department ah? They are critics. Not advertisers. U think what? Never pay them to advertise, but expect free advertisement in the form of review? MUST mention RTX over and over and over again inside review as advertising when you never pay for it? ur rasterization suk means suk lo. then dont scold others for ur own incompetence. go and make a better card lo. so simple. why come and scold critic who tell the truth?

This is the same as Linus and Astro gaming saga. Where Astro sends their headset for review and Linus gave a bad review cos the headset sounds like garbage then immediately, Astro gaming take Linus off the list cos again, free advertising. want people who only make positive spin on every product they get ba. correct i have astro headset before. they sound like garbage. steel series headphone sounds better when i compare side by side. so Linus not lying and review critically and kanna axed. what rubbish.
Now Nvidia oso like that. hardware unboxed give very good measures. can really see and compare performance side by side. but bcos marketing want to hide hide actual numbers, so like that lo..

but i like. cos now can see hardware unboxed give separate info on performance gains with rtx and dlss. so we oso benefit

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.