run away from army

Resurrect93

1) I work in GLC & MNC before. A degree from Malaysia or even China have the same employment standing as our local Uni degree.

2) Maybe the heath care is better then the 3rd world countries but we are 1st world country! I think you are still young. Tell them that you are a Singaporean who have serve his NS & try going to see a doctor for medical consultation without paying cash upfront in a public polyclinic or hospital if they will allow you or not.

1) I don't know about local MNC or GLC. I am referring to the most recognized cert in the world. Like in Dubai, Australia, Canada, London. Our uni is top hundred*.

2) Although I have not yet serve NS, I have been through what you mean, I guess. I once have to go to A&E I was in serious pain and I still have to pay 100dollar upfront before being admitted!

That's a part I really bwg. Bytheway, I was referring to the vaccines every Singapore children have to take during primary school!

reddevil0728

1) I work in GLC & MNC before. A degree from Malaysia or even China have the same employment standing as our local Uni degree.

2) Maybe the heath care is better then the 3rd world countries but we are 1st world country! I think you are still young. Tell them that you are a Singaporean who have serve his NS & try going to see a doctor for medical consultation without paying cash upfront in a public polyclinic or hospital if they will allow you or not.

1) I believe all degrees from reputable universities are recognised. But there are some degrees from some universities that are more recognisable than the others. "Same employment standing" is very vague.

2) Eh, I thought is consult doctors first before make payment? which hospital/polyclinic did u go to that requires u to pay first?

reddevil0728

1) I don't know about local MNC or GLC. I am referring to the most recognized cert in the world. Like in Dubai, Australia, Canada, London. Our uni is top hundred*.

2) Although I have not yet serve NS, I have been through what you mean, I guess. I once have to go to A&E I was in serious pain and I still have to pay 100dollar upfront before being admitted!

That's a part I really bwg. Bytheway, I was referring to the vaccines every Singapore children have to take during primary school!

1) "most" recognised or not, is subjective. If you really want to compare UK, you heard of Oxbridge not???

2) I believe Singapore got a policy whereby, if you really cannot pay, they cannot refuse treatment.

eh you haven't see the world enuf

Resurrect93

1) I believe all degrees from reputable universities are recognised. But there are some degrees from some universities that are more recognisable than the others. "Same employment standing" is very vague.

2) Eh, I thought is consult doctors first before make payment? which hospital/polyclinic did u go to that requires u to pay first?

1) Singapore has a thorough education system. Most of other nationality students would have proceeded to uni after highschool.

Some Singaporeans who went to Australia to get a degree and become top students there attributed their success to being them smart and Singapore let them down..

It is in fact Singapore's education system which helped them in performing better there. Aiya, it is very subjective also..

2) huh? Is it.. It is NUH.

Kyoji83

NUH is the nearest Public Hospital to my house. Apart from that, all Polytechnic that I have been to is first pay medical consultation fees before seeing the doctor.

reddevil0728

1) Singapore has a thorough education system. Most of other nationality students would have proceeded to uni after highschool.

Some Singaporeans who went to Australia to get a degree and become top students there attributed their success to being them smart and Singapore let them down..

It is in fact Singapore's education system which helped them in performing better there. Aiya, it is very subjective also..

2) huh? Is it.. It is NUH.

1) WUT?????????

This statement I agree leh. I think our Pri - Pre Uni education in Singapore is very useful.

Fact or not, is subjective.

2) uhuh. i dunno why ur experience so weird.

I haven't seen the world enuf???

NUH is the nearest Public Hospital to my house. Apart from that, all Polytechnic that I have been to is first pay medical consultation fees before seeing the doctor.
i dunno why ur experience so weird.

runicz

Even a chao ah kua better than a man who run away from NS,at least they served finished. What so big problem about 2yrs NS? Sia suay.

Youth, Freedom, Opportunity costs. Business opportunities, money, time value, good civilians moments (fundamental rights as singaporeans.)
etc etc.

On business context, NS takes away alot of practical possession(this exclude friendships and bonds).

Its nothing about good food, good welfare provided in camp compared to your times. Its about this advanced things lost you older people will never understand the value because you guys can't count. :s13:
Thats why the government climb onto your head and cope all your money and make u guys hard labour (hardworking).

The way you guys mock at him hum ji etc etc cracks me up, srsly what generation are you in? Not rough and tough solider means weaklings? Then those female who didnt even served are all weakling then. You may agree with this but the fact is, there are more female degree holders than male ones and they are earning more than you.

This guy is an ambitious villain who wants the best for himself only.

Then I respect your willingness to sacrifice. I hate army man, I will serve because its a rule since my parent didn't planned that I wouldn't want this in advanced when I was born, you cannot choose your parents or what background you are supposed to born in.
but i will ensure my children will not go through the same as I did.

runicz

Don't close that door. Do the two years then leave. At least if you do the two years you can come back as a tourist. That's what I'm doing. If you go into NS with a terrible attitude its going to suck but honestly even though I'm struggling with money here away from my family in the UK I still really enjoy it!
I'm working my way to be like you. For as long as I can sitll have access to sg, im ok. :D

But Im confident i will do better financially at oversea.

runicz

i also dun like serving, no matter how people try to convince you say what make the most out of your time, only opportunity to get real fit, whatever, still dosnt work on me, maybe im too cynical.

I just enlisted not too long ago, today's my first bookout weekend. What i have to say is, just suck it up and do it lor. If you hate NS then just stay low profile in camp, dun volunteer to be ic and whatever, dont act smart and complain this and that to your superiors, just follow the guiding words: Serve And F-off. Do your basic part, dont drag ur fellow recruits down, just follow instructions and live each day hoping for the next day to be better

seriously i know it sucks when being dragged down to being the lowest lifeform, the lowest hierarchy, probably even lower than the untouchables. I was doing reasonably well in school based on hard work and support from family. I believed I deserved at least some better recognition than being labeled lowest life form. But to me just endure, no choice gota serve your 2 years "sentence" for being born in SG. Strictly speaking only the BMT period will be the darkest period of your NS life i believe (assuming u dont go command schs), especially the first few weeks. Just tell yourself only once in ur life you will have to go through this

Wow I was so like you when I enlisted 6 months ago. I always thought that this conscript status is the lowest hierarchy of our society equivalent to bangaldesh workers. I really hate myself for thinking that way, but Im just make to do so. (Not the sacrifice-myself-hero type)

I still remembered back in tekong, similar topics of what I will always think about if theres too much resting times; used to worked very hard for my studies to get my grades for a better life, this is not the life I'm working for.. and I really can't stand watching my university opportunities being taken off and delayed further for 2 years/

Every day just makes me more depressed when I saw my not-so-clever(lol) female classmate who used to ask me every single things back in school on how-to-do, till I actually felt vexed to the max, taking pictures of her uni life on her fb.
The thoughts of her being my future boss just makes me emo emo emo ._.

Friends convincing about opportunities to get fit/ ah boys to men movie education doesn't works. And no I'm not convinced that being an Army officer makes you more popular with girls in real life. :s13: I'm not convinced that if you keng your way out of NS, you will be a failure in real life too like Ken's uncle. :s13:
In addition, I got my figure in tekong and I think I'm fit enough already. (I'm very near gold IPPT except 2.4) Theres no more other reason to be here..
National educations conducted during bmt doesn't works for me. on reflections, i write what they wanted me to believe to ensure i dont get into trouble. I was so good at this because I did extremely well for my O level social studies such that no ones properly realised i was lying.

deep down, i was totally thinking like you. just wanna get over this quickly, leave legally(so that i can visit my sg parents legally), and seek for a better life.
of course, I really don't want to think like this and be a siao on well respected officer like anyone else, but none of the education provided were just convincing enough for me. definitely not with the kind of status i'm given. (conscript, cosmetically labelled enlistee), and i really can't do anything about it which I will say i still feel very bad about my honest thoughts even till today.

I Hope you are doing well for your BMT now and made lots of friends who share the same feelings as you, they are the only one who can help you pull through your days. In unit life, its more of like working life, and I believe a hardworking nature person like you sure can adapt better! For now, just finish all your high key do your things and remember to ask for a better vocation that you think will suit you best during PC interviews.
2 more months and you will be through =]
if you kenna the same unit(shitylol) as me, we will definitely be close friends.

arsira

Youth, Freedom, Opportunity costs. Business opportunities, money, time value, good civilians moments (fundamental rights as singaporeans.)
etc etc.

On business context, NS takes away alot of practical possession(this exclude friendships and bonds).

Its nothing about good food, good welfare provided in camp compared to your times. Its about this advanced things lost you older people will never understand the value because you guys can't count. :s13:
Thats why the government climb onto your head and cope all your money and make u guys hard labour (hardworking).

The way you guys mock at him hum ji etc etc cracks me up, srsly what generation are you in? Not rough and tough solider means weaklings? Then those female who didnt even served are all weakling then. You may agree with this but the fact is, there are more female degree holders than male ones and they are earning more than you.

This guy is an ambitious villain who wants the best for himself only.

Then I respect your willingness to sacrifice. I hate army man, I will serve because its a rule since my parent didn't planned that I wouldn't want this in advanced when I was born, you cannot choose your parents or what background you are supposed to born in.
but i will ensure my children will not go through the same as I did.

Nobody like NS but at least served and **** off. U keng nothing to say but to run away. .Go ahead.your life not mine.still i respect a chao ah kua better than a strawberry grp.
No need garang, no need tough. Just your EQ show you are weak.

runicz

Nobody like NS but at least served and **** off. U keng nothing to say but to run away. .Go ahead.your life not mine.still i respect a chao ah kua better than a strawberry grp.

you dont seems to understand what i was trying to say.

Arbalest

NS shiok sia, meals and clothing taken care of and ppl pay you money to exercise

derrickgoh

Chao ah kua every day kena tease yet he still finish his 2 years. So IMO chao ah kua has more balls than TS. :s8:

ctfan5

I had a UK friend serve in my old unit. All he did in the end after serving was not change his PR ship and RETAIN his british passport. Try denouncing your citizenship and change to PRship,of course you'd have to work for a certain number of years in your choice country first.

My camp had people of various nationalities.Including rich people whose parents were CEOs and Presidents of whatever company.They all served,and most were happy inside,choosing instead to ACCEPT it for it would be over in two years and after they can go live their happy lives ABROAD...

but if you're poor like me, you must suck thumb and quietly hope to finish all cycles soon and the magical number of 35 years old to stop all IPPT

10 more years...

Milestones

To TS if you're still around reading this topic, my advice is that you won't be able to do it, but even if you are able to do it, don't. I can understand that perhaps you're running into some problems in life that's making you fear for your future, and the idea of needing to commit 2years+ to NS isn't helping. But that is a problem many national servicemen face when they are first enlisted.

I'm guessing you're still pretty young now (maybe 16-18y.o.?), when I was around that age, I too feared greatly about needing to serve NS. At that point of time my personal life had a lot of problems, my parents' health wasn't holding up very well. There was no way I could help them with the measly allowance given by NS. To make things worse, I didn't do well for my studies so my prospect for future studies were greatly diminished that securing a stable full-time job (much less starting a family and having a roof over my head) was really difficult and far ahead in the future.

But you need to understand that for situations like these where things seem bleak and impossible, it's usually not the case when you choose to face them upfront. Other posters may not agree with me, but at first I really detested NS but eventually I started to take things more positively and the experience as a whole became much better. In hindsight, the challenges I faced and overcame in NS actually made me a better person as a whole and cultivated the discipline, the habit, and the determination to face other challenges in life after I ORD-ed.

You are still young now, there is still plenty of life ahead (the average life expectancy in SG for males is 81y.o.s) and trust me, if you brave it through, things will get better. But if you run away from difficulties now, if you choose to hide away from and ignore problems, you'll never learn how to face them and much less, how to overcome and learn from them. If you are afraid, speak to your parents and close friends, you don't have to fight your battles alone. Whatever your decision is in the end, I wish you all the best.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.