SAF new ASICS shoes

WhiteAnt

I MR liao. So I buy outside running shoes and wear I can feel the difference in support cushioning.

So if last time SAF issued shoes is also as tokong as the top range models sold outside, I feel it will be great.

This is not about mind over body liao.
Can you run below 7mins in this shoes? Then you're using the wrong shoes liao :crazy:

kittyklysm

somehow me see the sole like less than a year will give way kind ..
no offense Asics

dun sue me :/

* ardent fan of Onitsuka Tiger here btw
i clocked almost 500km in my old asics still going strong leh.. ahhahaha.. though i already have new pair standby

deathan9el

Honorary Mentor
imo it's just an upgraded pair of PT shoes from the past

most importantly, it has the basic foundation of how a pair of sports shoes supposed to be .. not some fancy (insert terms here) models that one can find it at retail stores or online :o

XiaoWangZi85

Actually, why not china's 李寧 (Li-Ning) and 特步 (Xtep)? Those two brands are also cheap, and they emphasize on the quality.

hg2

Not so sure whether SAF is flexible on running shoes for trainee. Maybe for recruit doing BMT. They might not have a choice. After my BMT way back in early 2000. We were allowed to wear any running shoes for our run.

When a person is into running. He won't bother about what is the saf shoes being issued to him. He just get his own prefered running shoe.

For a US size 9. As long the shoe is more than 280g. It is considered heavy. Between 260 to 280g is just average. 240 to 260g not bad. 220 to 240 quite light. Below 220g. Super Very light and better use for sprinting fast pace like 2.4km under 7 mins timing. U know army like to go for camp run and that why they want a all rounder shoe. So it tend to be on a heavier side.

If you are not running under 9mins, just go and pee before 2.4km will compensate the >40gram weight differences...hahaha

hg2

Who bought the new SAF ASICS shoes? how is it?

3793.jpg

3794.jpg

This sole design cannot keep for too long... u need to drive it else sure will drop out after 1-2yrs inside the shoe shelve

zzzzzzz

honestly the new balance 383 look much better quality,
new-balance-565-005.jpg
2011.jpg

macham we go back to 10 years ago shoes
black new balance good but my big toe poked a hole through the top of the shoe after frequent use
:frown:

Ironside

No need buy especially for cross country run. For moi, juz use good padded shoes to cushion the pounding/impact on the leg can liao.
You better not wear expensive Asic shoes to ran in mud trails. The small pieces of the AHAR+ soles will be stuck in the mud and you lose them.

Sultana

Then as we get old, our body will get injury easily.
No need to wait till get old to get injury. Athletes due to vigorous training with little time for our ligament..etc to recover, then to already hv injury. The ligament can wear down very fast if overstressed. So, don't be so garang do 10km daily. Must pace your training. Or regret once damage due to abuse. Not reversible wan.

Sultana

You better not wear expensive Asic shoes to ran in mud trails. The small pieces of the AHAR+ soles will be stuck in the mud and you lose them.
Just go cobbler to do a better job in the adhesive. Can last quite long. One really does not need so many pairs of running shoes. 2 pairs r good enough. Then buy to replace either one if needed.

whatmeworry

Heavy shoe is cheaper.
Because many BBFA NSmen need more cushioning to protect our heels and forefoot.
We are not concerned about sub 7mins record. Can run, can already.

Those kilat fitzai, can pass with any kind of shoes, no excuses.

xiao.xin

So basically taking into account that SAF dont earn from the sales of the standard issues, so their budget per pair is at $30-40 bucks. Give them a break bah. Those that say need cushioning is because you guys still exercise? yknow how many storeman go unit liao just everyday jiak buibui not?

Maybe a better way is have an alternate option like boots higher range with better cushioning etc to cater for active people that wanna exercise. Those cheap one will continue to be the standard issue.

Kavairs

Actualli running is no longer about just cushion protection.

Its more about feedback and feel. New balance got fuel cell & fresh foam now. Its totally different level from the SAF issued evafoam shoes. Fuel cell is very bouncy & springy that gives you the feel to run faster. Fresh foam gives you the comfort recovery ride.

Nvr look at SAF issued shoes more than 10 years.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.