Sager/Clevo Users' Lounge

chikaslim

I was considering ordering from sgcubehubs, but it seems only one person on this forum has had experience with them. How to know if they are reliable?

schizer

I was considering ordering from sgcubehubs, but it seems only one person on this forum has had experience with them. How to know if they are reliable?

i ordered my sager from them too.. they are reliable.. i actually went down to their office to make a cash payment.. at first sight the office has nothing at all, so i was very suspicious at first.. but considering they are quite talked about and kinda high profile in importing laptops in singapore, i thought the risk was worth taking.. the transaction went on without a hitch and i got my lappy in about 2 weeks.. service was pretty much ok too.. so i would actually suggest you go ahead and order it from them!

arcana75

Nothing against SGCubeHub, but ur claims of it being "quite talked about and kinda high profile in importing laptops in singapore" is dubious at best.

But to be fair everyone's gotta start somewhere, usually small and unknown. Support local if u can (or dare)!

clickade

Agreed. Or else they might just collapse, which is a no-win situation for cheaper Sager imports or the customers. :)

clickade

hey bro. clevo is marketed as sager and clevo is taiwan. correct me if im wrong.

You are right. Sager is just a rebranded Clevo for US market as Clevo is mainly an ODM.

Well I'm not wrong, Sager IS US. But yes Clevo is a Taiwanese OEM, but I dunno any site or shop that sells the Clevo OEM. Any lobang?

If u're keen on Sager, for 15" panel the 8662 is good while for 17" the 5797 is not bad.

Well, there is a page on XoticPC.com which will hopefully satisfy your doubts. :s13:

Here: http://www.xoticpc.com/laptop-manufacturers-really-makes-laptops-ip-11.html

arcana75

Well, there is a page on XoticPC.com which will hopefully satisfy your doubts. :s13:

Here: http://www.xoticpc.com/laptop-manufacturers-really-makes-laptops-ip-11.html

Sorry for beating a dead horse, but Sager is US, even if Clevo is Taiwan and Sager is a rebranded Clevo. Laptops aren't the only things that do this, most electronics are like that, eg flat panels, graphics cards, etc. An MSI graphics card using the Nvidia chip is still an MSI card. The Samsung touchscreen phones are HTC phones but it's still a Samsung phone nonetheless.

MrJacky

Congratulations on your recent purchase! :s12:

Just remember to take care of it really, really well. The warranty does not cover physical damage including cracked LCD screens, unless, I think it was during the shipment :)
Warranty only covers defects present after coming out from the factory.

If it's damaged during shipment there's the insurance. ;)

harky

i had place a order from sgcubehubs.com but sigh they dont do COD for sager. mean had to pay 1st but problem is they close @ 5pm! Working ppl like me logoff work @ 5.30-6.30pm. If pay by paypal no 3% off.

If pay on spot cant get laptop on spot too ......! in the end they will send a staff down to my place to collect $$ (it part of their system also)

Just dont know why cant do COD?

Wzierbovsky

Risk avoidance for a very expensive product. If there're buyers who make an order then fly kite (e.g. not in the country when the item is delivering), then who's going to take the notebook? Especially since notebook values depreciate fast.

That said, they could do with a deposit up front and full payment upon collection, or extend maybe do direct Interbank transfer though, like some small SG-based online retailers.

arcana75

If they sending a staff down to ur place to collect $, isn't that COD?

Anyway as stated by Wzierbovsky, is a risky business cuz they order the Sagers from US, if fly kite they're left hanging with unsold units. Worse still is Sager units are custom units, harder to pass onto future customers.

Isn't bank transfer an option?

harky

no bank transfer
only have paypal (but if use paypal no more 3%) , by cheque or cash.
than they had to come my place twice lor 1st to take cash, 2nd to delievery laptop.

best if we can go their shop and pay on spot after few hr can collect the laptop liao after setup. but their shop close @ 5pm :(

Cubehub

no bank transfer
only have paypal (but if use paypal no more 3%) , by cheque or cash.
than they had to come my place twice lor 1st to take cash, 2nd to delievery laptop.

best if we can go their shop and pay on spot after few hr can collect the laptop liao after setup. but their shop close @ 5pm :(

Hi Hark

Yes,we do have bank transfer for customer.

U can ask for that and our staff will issue you the company bank acc no. etc for the transfer.

Cheers

Cubehub
www.sgcubehubs.com

harky

For to tell you ppl what i order. The reason why i choose Sager NP8662 beside is 15.3" smaller and also after viewing the PC show gaming laptop actually all are quite similar hardware. With some HWZ member advice and some research on sager laptop.
i decide to go for sager. I only upgrade 2 item which is in bold.

NP8662 - Customise It!
Display:15.4" WSXGA LCD with Super Glossy Surface (1680X1050#
Processor:45nm Intel(R) Core(TM) 2 Duo Processor P8700 / 3MB L2 Cache 2.53GHz 1066MHz FSB
Video & Graphics Card:Nvidia GeForce GTX 260M Graphics with 1GB DDR3 Video Memory
Operating System:None - Select From The Options Below
Memory:4GB Dual Channel DDR3 SDRAM at 1066MHz - 2 X 2048MB (add 68)
Primary Hard Disk Drive:320GB 7200rpm SATA 300 Hard Drive (add 48)
Optical Drive:8X DVD R/RW/4X DL Super-Multi Drive & Software
Wireless Network Card:Intel Wi-Fi Link 5300AGN - 802.11A/B/G/N Wireless LAN Module
Bluetooth:Internal Bluetooth V2.0 + EDR Module
Intel Robson Technology:None - Select From The Options Below
Primary Battery:Smart Li-ION Battery Pack (8 Cells)
TV-Tuner:None - Select From The Options Below
MCE Remote Control:None - Select From The Options Below
Integrated Security Device:Fingerprint Reader
Free Carrying Case:NP8660 Carrying Bag
Software:Microsoft Office Ready with Free 60-Day Trial
Dead Pixel Insurance :Free 6 Months No Dead Pixel Insurance
Warranty & Services:3 Yrs Local Labour & 2 Yrs Part + 1 Yr US Limited Warranty

Sub Total S$ 2,609.00
C2008D03 3.0% Coupon S$ -78.27
Total S$ 2,530.73

harky

Hi , it ok seen your staff is coming down my place to collect $$ somemore my saving is in citibank :p maybe see later got time to take out & put in my posb bank a not.

Hi Hark

Yes,we do have bank transfer for customer.

U can ask for that and our staff will issue you the company bank acc no. etc for the transfer.

Cheers

Cubehub
www.sgcubehubs.com

arcana75

Nice config harky, exact same config as mine! Do bank transfer la easier... doesn't matter the bank most banks if not all banks in SG do online inter-bank transfers.

ZeptoSG

Mucro is also a Sager reseller now.

We'll put up more models later so you can see for yourself the Sager warranties that are quoted to us and our own local servicing enhancements.

There will also be OCZ DIY laptops and these will become very interesting in the near future.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.