samsung 8.9 tab

kurt_629

nope, don't respond at all..

i'm trying to download the link now, so with that, do i need any special program to run it?

thank you for walking with me on this troublesome journey

member33

No problem;). You'll need the following files:

*Odin V1.85 download (this version works well for your device).
*Uninstall Kies/drivers and reboot PC. Install this latest drivers. Reboot PC.

Note: After you downloaded the firmware zip, please extract only ONCE.

Would you mind to post back a screenshot of all the extracted files? If possible and after you did, I will upload photos for clearer details on selection of files for Odin to flash.

kurt_629

Hotfile.com: One click file hosting: P7300DXLP8_P7300OLBLP8_XXV.zip

after download the file and using odin3, it works but now stuck at the word samsung..
running, glowing in blue but just cannot go into the desktop..

iamroland

after download the file and using odin3, it works but now stuck at the word samsung..
Boot into recovery & choose the factory reset/wipe data option.

member33

You mean you have already flashed with Odin? If yes, it's good.

Now you have a bootloop issue which can be resolved easily.:)

kurt_629

wow, i did it!!!

i don't know what i did but i just did it.

i'm running on 4.0.4 and definitely its a boost compare to the older vision of 3.0.2

but kies don't seem to understand the firmware, can i still back up my data? basically nothing is inside, as good as new. i'm also fine.

can i ask for a detailed step by step process so i can write it down???

blue00

What guides you need? Backup or flashing?

The provided firmware link from previous post was official Samsung firmware, not sure why Kies is not responding to the connection, you may want to reinstall the latest version of Kies.:)

i thk his kies is not latest version.

previously l had to full uninstall kies n reinstall latest version before can upgrade.

blue00

No problem;). You'll need the following files:

*Odin V1.85 download (this version works well for your device).
*Uninstall Kies/drivers and reboot PC. Install this latest drivers. Reboot PC.

Note: After you downloaded the firmware zip, please extract only ONCE.

Would you mind to post back a screenshot of all the extracted files? If possible and after you did, I will upload photos for clearer details on selection of files for Odin to flash.

does this version good on tab 7.7?

odin also works fot non rooted tablets?

kurt_629

What guides you need? Backup or flashing?

The provided firmware link from previous post was official Samsung firmware, not sure why Kies is not responding to the connection, you may want to reinstall the latest version of Kies.:)

flashing to the latest firmware, i'm now on 4.0.4
appreciate if you could give me a step by step walk through as i'm really an idiot on this.

this current update, is really pure luck.

i thk his kies is not latest version.

previously l had to full uninstall kies n reinstall latest version before can upgrade.

My kies is the latest version leh.

member33

flashing to the latest firmware, i'm now on 4.0.4
appreciate if you could give me a step by step walk through as i'm really an idiot on this.
this current update, is really pure luck.

Ok... I do it later.

My kies is the latest version leh.

Maybe you want to consider bury Kies for good, the problems are often with the drivers (which may be the culprit that caused your device to hang at download mode). And also for Odin PC to work, Kies has to be disable completely - drivers are what needed from Kies to communicate with Odin, so why not just install the latest drivers from the link I provided a few posts down (uninstall Kies/drivers first).

Another reason to ditch Kies is backups seems to take forever and backup files tend to get corrupted easily. If you intended to root, many backup apps can do much better and less time consuming.

does this version good on tab 7.7?

odin also works fot non rooted tablets?

Yes, v1.85 Odin works well on Tab 7.7.

For PC Odin, root is not required (some Windows versions do require Administrator though).
For Mobile Odin, root is required.:)

kurt_629

Ok... I do it later.

Maybe you want to consider bury Kies for good, the problems are often with the drivers (which may be the culprit that caused your device to hang at download mode). And also for Odin PC to work, Kies has to be disable completely - drivers are what needed from Kies to communicate with Odin, so why not just install the latest drivers from the link I provided a few posts down (uninstall Kies/drivers first).

Another reason to ditch Kies is backups seems to take forever and backup files tend to get corrupted easily. If you intended to root, many backup apps can do much better and less time consuming.

the reason that i don't want to uninstall kies is that alot of my devices are samsung.. hp to tablet..

so for hp, its easier to update via kies.. told you that i'm an idiot liao. :s13:

please elaborate slowly.. as i cannot make it lah :D

actually, i did install the driver that you told me. but i cannot find the program leh.. don't know where it disappear to..

enrell69

Yeah, I think iPad suits you best. But I have been using the Galaxy Tab 8.9 for more than 6 months, I am still pretty happy with it. Now it is on 4.0.4, which is good enough for every day use. No lag no hangups.

They are talking BS, Singapore already have the official 4.0.4 version. And they should update for you.

hehehe ....

member33

Before you start to flash using Odin:
*fully charge your device or at least 80% of battery remaining.
*turn off Kies COMPLETELY.
*take out Sim Card and Memory Card from device.
*turn on USB debugging (Settings> Developer Options> USB Debugging).
Turn on USB debugging.
8963351075_ce17118dbf_o.png
Boot into download mode (pressing and holding the volume 'Down' + power keys).
Open Odin (some Windows versions require Administrator), connect device with data cable and get started:

*extract the firmware zip only ONCE - You'll get either 1 .tar (OR tar.md5) file or 3 .tar (OR tar.md5) files.
If only 1 File Was Extracted From Firmware Zip - always feed the single file to PDA.

NO PIT AND/OR BOOT FILES REQUIRED - LEAVE IT EMPTY!
ONLY TICK AUTO REBOOT AND F.RESET TIME. DO NOT TICK OTHERS.

8964735359_451c8783b2_o.png
If Multiple Files Were Extracted From Firmware Zip - feed them accordingly to PDA, PHONE AND CSC.
8965937954_3c80f6f18f_o.png

8966075684_f814e7f48e_o.png
Proceed to flashing.
You Get To See Something Similar To The Image Below After Flashing Has Completed.
You Get To See The Green Pass If Flashing Is Successful.

PLEASE WAIT FOR DEVICE TO BOOT FIRST, BEFORE YOU UNPLUG THE DATA CABLE.
8965029265_52e7615bed_o.png
Done!!!:D

Tips:
The .tar.md5 files for PDA may contain words like - PDA and/or CODE and/or HOME.
The .tar.md5 files for PHONE should contain the word - MODEM.
The .tar.md5 files for CSC may contain words like - CSC and/or MULTI_CSC.:)

kurt_629

Before you start to flash using Odin:
*fully charge your device or at least 80% of battery remaining.
*turn off Kies COMPLETELY.
*take out Sim Card and Memory Card from device.
*turn on USB debugging (Settings> Developer Options> USB Debugging).
Turn on USB debugging.
Boot into download mode (pressing and holding the volume 'Down' + power keys).
Open Odin (some Windows versions require Administrator), connect device with data cable and get started:

*extract the firmware zip only ONCE - You'll get either 1 .tar (OR tar.md5) file or 3 .tar (OR tar.md5) files.
If only 1 File Was Extracted From Firmware Zip - always feed the single file to PDA.

8964735359_451c8783b2_o.png
If Multiple Files Were Extracted From Firmware Zip - feed them accordingly to PDA, PHONE AND CSC.
8965937954_3c80f6f18f_o.png

8966075684_f814e7f48e_o.png
Proceed to flashing.
You Get To See Something Similar To The Image Below After Flashing Has Completed.
You Get To See The Green Pass If Flashing Is Successful.

PLEASE WAIT FOR DEVICE TO BOOT FIRST, BEFORE YOU UNPLUG THE DATA CABLE.
8965029265_52e7615bed_o.png
Done!!!:D

Tips:
The .tar.md5 files for PDA may contain words like - PDA and/or CODE and/or HOME.
The .tar.md5 files for PHONE should contain the word - MODEM.
The .tar.md5 files for CSC may contain words like - CSC and/or MULTI_CSC.:)

some additional questions:

1) turn on USB debugging (Settings> Developer Options> USB Debugging)

- this refer to the pc setting right? meaning disable the usb port of the pc?

2) PDA, PHONE AND CSC.

- mean what? as per your instruction, default is PDA. when do i know to use PHONE and CSC?

3) The .tar.md5 files for PDA may contain words like - PDA and/or CODE and/or HOME.

- you mind showing me the website for the firmware again?
at least i could bookmark it..:o

can't thank you enough. maybe when my flat is ready, i ask you to come over and help me solve my IT problem, like connection to TV, PC etc. of course, will pay you

kurt_629

yah... support yr decision this description fits u. :)

:D:D:D
not choice mah.. some people are just noobs/idiots in IT..
for me, i agreed i'm one of them but i'm willing to learn!

like today, i go google what is HDMI for :s13:

member33

some additional questions: 1) turn on USB debugging (Settings> Developer Options> USB Debugging) - this refer to the pc setting right? meaning disable the usb port of the pc?
Turn on USB debugging refers to Tab 8.9 device settings.

How to get there?

On device go to - Settings> Developer Options> USB Debugging.

Please note that because I'm using custom Themes and lcon layouts, so yours may look different to the screenshot above.:)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.