Samsung Beam?

megalord

The beam looks really exciting. Hmm... Should i trade my Nexus One for this... But froyo is very good and stable too...

teckhwee

no problem leh :D
loud and clear.
but then again, ripper tested in office, so ambient noise is not very high.

did u max out the media volume? :s11:

Nvm i solved my problem already. I use Act1 video player and my earpohone volume shoot straight up high! heh. and the player auto saves every individual video's last played point. And it wont interfere with my music player, as in, my music player won't reset to beginning when i watch a video. Useful if you listen to alot of podcasts.. heh.

PPkiller

well, if u really wan, ripper should be getting moi replacement set in the next couple of days :D
so it's BNIB

however ripper is really in 2 minds to trade the Beam for a SGS.
the projector is really too much fun to give up :(
furthermore, after ATK, there isn't much lag anymore.
ripper also tried some graphics intensive games such as Asphalt5 last night, it's also zippy.

so it's down to the stability. after 2 freezes, ripper abit phobia. :(
should ripper keep the Beam? :s11:

keep ba... i getting a set at cutthroat price from starhub.. so gonna jus wait for them to have stock and to deliver to me.. ;-p

kennyboy

dun have such option leh.

voice-to-text think only nexus1 has it built-in
beam only has text-to-speech

voice to text can install one....doesn't come default on SGS as well.

Google for a file called voicesearch_2.1.apk or something like that.

goaheadbingostan

voice to text can install one....doesn't come default on SGS as well.

Google for a file called voicesearch_2.1.apk or something like that.

Kennyboy, you mean it's like when you utter words to the rec mic, they'll become text?

RipperJack

keep ba... i getting a set at cutthroat price from starhub.. so gonna jus wait for them to have stock and to deliver to me.. ;-p
yeah, ripper has decided to keep moi Beam. :D

the lady from the service centre has called ripper to collect the new set liao :D

RipperJack

You must be nuts to trade N1 for Beam.
ripper begs to differ :bandit:
irho, currently only SGS is considerably close to Beam

Beam's advantages over Nexus1
S-Amoled screen
Projector [someone posted comment on a gadget site abt Beam that after owning Beam, he can't imagine owning a phone w/o projector in the future and ripper can empathise :s13:]
Camera
Battery
16GB built-in memory. 2GB dedicated to installation files.

Nexus1's advantages over Nexus1
Froyo - temporary advantage
1Ghz snapdragon processor - with ATK, lag is not a big problem for Beam liao.
size and weight - after getting used to Beam for a while, it's really no biggie le, pun not intended

tt's wat ripper can think of off the fly.
feel free to add more. :D

kennyboy

ripper begs to differ :bandit:

S-Amoled screen
Projector [someone posted comment on a gadget site abt Beam that after owning Beam, he can't imagine owning a phone w/o projector in the future and ripper can empathise :s13:]
Camera
Battery

size and weight - after getting used to Beam for a while, it's really no biggie le, pun not intended

feel free to add more. :D
Of course, that's your opinion.

Imho the Beam is actually closer to a Samsung Spica in terms of specs..... :D

But hey, I've learnt that it's pointless to be objective of any phone while in it's dedicated thread. But I still stand by my words, if you've got a Nexus, don't throw it away for a Beam. If you don't have a Nexus, then it's fair game. :D

RipperJack

Imho the Beam is actually closer to a Samsung Spica in terms of specs..... :D

But hey, I've learnt that it's pointless to be objective of any phone while in it's dedicated thread. But I still stand by my words, if you've got a Nexus, don't throw it away for a Beam. If you don't have a Nexus, then it's fair game. :D
Spica? tt's just the processor u are talking abt rite?
wat else is similar to Spica? :s11:

wat ripper listed out for Beam's advantages over N1 are cold hard facts :D

kennyboy

Spica? tt's just the processor u are talking abt rite?
wat else is similar to Spica? :s11:

wat ripper listed out for Beam's advantages over N1 are cold hard facts :D
Nvm, u happy can liao. :D

I wouldn't trade away a Nexus even for a GS, what more a Beam... :D Processor, software functions similar to Spica....u just need to add those hardware features to Spica and there you have it - Samsung Beam. :D

Maybe I place very low priority on the not very useful projector, slow internal memory, super but only by a little bit AMOLED, camera in phone which I don't rely on, and battery which is bigger only for the projector. :D

I'm more focused on day to day performance....And the Nexus is truly optimized for speed. :D

But you win lah ok? The BEAM is the BEST PHONE EVER!!! :D

goaheadbingostan

ripper begs to differ

S-Amoled screen
Projector [someone posted comment on a gadget site abt Beam that after owning Beam, he can't imagine owning a phone w/o projector in the future and ripper can empathise]
Camera
Battery

feel free to add more.

Imho the Beam is actually closer to a Samsung Spica in terms of specs.....

But hey, I've learnt that it's pointless to be objective of any phone while in it's dedicated thread. But I still stand by my words, if you've got a Nexus, don't throw it away for a Beam. If you don't have a Nexus, then it's fair game.

Nvm, u happy can liao.

I wouldn't trade away a Nexus even for a GS, what more a Beam... :D Processor, software functions similar to Spica....u just need to add those hardware features to Spica and there you have it - Samsung Beam.
Maybe I place very low priority on the not very useful projector, slow internal memory, super but only by a little bit AMOLED, camera in phone which I don't rely on, and battery which is bigger only for the projector.

I'm more focused on day to day performance....And the Nexus is truly optimized for speed.
But you win lah ok? The BEAM is the BEST PHONE EVER!!! :D

Don't like that leh. :s34:

teckhwee

To me, Beam is a class of its own. theres no competition as theres no phone with the same hardware combination. I have a SGS too, but its sitting at home. Ya i've done the G5 plus ext4 tweak. But dunno why, i still bring the beam out for the past 4 days. heh.

LoneReaction

WTT - Samsung Galaxy Beam for Galaxy S. Starhub/Singtel

Starhub user here, wanting to trade phones (Galaxy Beam for Galaxy S) with a Singtel user. Stupid telcos chut exclusive stunt on similar phones.

PM me if interested to discuss details.

Edit: I'm unable to get a Beam, it's out of stock from starhub.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.