relax lah...just stating opinion...Ripper not so petty one.
We're all one happy Android family anyway.![]()

To me, Beam is a class of its own. theres no competition as theres no phone with the same hardware combination. I have a SGS too, but its sitting at home. Ya i've done the G5 plus ext4 tweak. But dunno why, i still bring the beam out for the past 4 days. heh.

hub officially no stock, next batch should be sept. They already took down eshop beam too. gonna try my luck tml at AMK Hub.
Starhub user here, wanting to trade phones (Galaxy Beam for Galaxy S) with a Singtel user. Stupid telcos chut exclusive stunt on similar phones.
PM me if interested to discuss details.
Wow that is bad news. Looks like lan lan have to wait till sept to get a new phone. Argh ~__~
I want to get the SGS, but I'm a starhub customer. Contract ends in september. Thought can have someone in the same position as me, but wanting the Beam and from Singtel to do a switch of handsets.
Wow that is bad news. Looks like lan lan have to wait till sept to get a new phone. Argh ~__~
I want to get the SGS, but I'm a starhub customer. Contract ends in september. Thought can have someone in the same position as me, but wanting the Beam and from Singtel to do a switch of handsets.
Not samseng family meh
How come it's difficult to dl the voiceseach installer file from http://andriod.chronos-web.fr/Vocie/search/2.1/VoiceSearch.apk? on mobile phone as it always prompt data connectivity problem?
Gostan also notices when phone is mount to PC usb; when gostan tries to disconnect phone from PC, PC msg prompts unable to. PC issue ah?
Don't know Teck Hwee & the rest have done this. Just now Gostan & kitty lay down on bed watch beam video on wall. Quite nice.
So fast no stock? Ask around, good luck.
You must be nuts to trade N1 for Beam.
Ai yah, u two don't argue liao. N1 is indeed very snappy and fast, stable, responsive and unmatched when coming to software updates from google.
But my previous phone is a i8910 HD. I miss the camera quality. I miss the HD video quality. The nexus one is absolutely no match to i8910 camera.
Then Beam has got projector.Quite useful to me la. Maybe bring 2 phones out then.
No need draw line between brands...htc is still grandmaster of android phones.
Try another link...dl from pc easier.

Hi lonereaction, am interested in your deal. Have pm u. Thanks.Oh, L.R. originally wants a SGS, not have a beam in hand already. O.k. maybe by Sept, a new model with some cool feature will unveil, who knows.![]()
so to sum it up, all the Beam's advantages listed are real but they are just not on your priority list, right? so it's down to personal preferences rather than objective evaluations?Nvm, u happy can liao.
I wouldn't trade away a Nexus even for a GS, what more a Beam... Processor, software functions similar to Spica....u just need to add those hardware features to Spica and there you have it - Samsung Beam.
Maybe I place very low priority on the not very useful projector, slow internal memory, super but only by a little bit AMOLED, camera in phone which I don't rely on, and battery which is bigger only for the projector.
I'm more focused on day to day performance....And the Nexus is truly optimized for speed.
But you win lah ok? The BEAM is the BEST PHONE EVER!!!

not everyone who drives need a ferrari, sometimes a mpv suits the driver's multi-purpose needs more.
and ripper daresay, the passerby's expectations too as can see from number of folks beoing the projection too 
yes, windows XP has a notorious issue abt being unable to remove safelyNot samseng family meh
How come it's difficult to dl the voiceseach installer file from http://andriod.chronos-web.fr/Vocie/search/2.1/VoiceSearch.apk? on mobile phone as it always prompt data connectivity problem?
Gostan also notices when phone is mount to PC usb; when gostan tries to disconnect phone from PC, PC msg prompts unable to. PC issue ah?
Don't know Teck Hwee & the rest have done this. Just now Gostan & kitty lay down on bed watch beam video on wall. Quite nice.
So fast no stock? Ask around, good luck.

in view of the lack of stocks, ripper feels bad to get a 1-to-1 exchange for a new onehub officially no stock, next batch should be sept. They already took down eshop beam too. gonna try my luck tml at AMK Hub.

then ripper has to warn uAi yah, u two don't argue liao. N1 is indeed very snappy and fast, stable, responsive and unmatched when coming to software updates from google.
But my previous phone is a i8910 HD. I miss the camera quality. I miss the HD video quality. The nexus one is absolutely no match to i8910 camera.
Then Beam has got projector.Quite useful to me la. Maybe bring 2 phones out then.

yes, windows XP has a notorious issue abt being unable to remove safely
use the unmount from beam instead. works every time.
pull down notification page, tap on usb, then select unmount

I would love to see some new youtube clips of the projector, a sample of the HD video recording and a photo taken by the Beam. The phone is so new - Lucky devils!
The Beam is not here in Australia yetI am trying so hard not to get a Galaxy S while I wait for a Beam. I have been playing with my girlfriends Galaxy S all week and I don't like to give it back.
so to sum it up, all the Beam's advantages listed are real but they are just not on your priority list, right? so it's down to personal preferences rather than objective evaluations?
anyway, like what ripper mentioned in earlier posts, Beam is not for speed demons.
those who place all the emphasis on having the fastest phone in the world will not love Beam dip dip. but then, that's just the speed purists.not everyone who drives need a ferrari, sometimes a mpv suits the driver's multi-purpose needs more.
however thankfully, with ATK, it's not slow like turtle also. it's snappy enough and very usable. in fact, ripper was out with a pal who has a Milestone last night. he commented that the Beam is a lot faster and smoother than his Milestone although the processor is of similar specs. also, the big difference in quality of screens showed. colours on the LCD screen appeared washed out compared to the S-AMOLED screen. and this is the reason why ripper dun even bother to hold out for DroidX despite its impressive specs. but yeah, ripper agrees with you that AMOLED screen w/o the super is already superb! the super is just 锦上添花.
on the projector, to be honest, ripper initially also thought the projector is rather useless but after owning one, it's really fun! ripper can't help reiterating this. and being a novelty, ripper is enjoying the Beam everywhere ripper goes when colleagues and friends all went woooh and aaaaah when ripper demo the projector and . we had alot of fun discussing ways to use the projector on the go. while a projector is not a new invention, having a mobile one opens up whole new perspectives.
and to do justice to the pico projector, it's pretty decent. ripper beamed it on a wall with street lamps on in the surroundings ard 7pm last night. it's very visible and clear. ripper's friend was quite impressed as he thought such a small projector will be a lame projector but it clearly exceeded both our expectationsand ripper daresay, the passerby's expectations too as can see from number of folks beoing the projection too
so the summary for the projector for ripper is..... it's not as useless as ripper first thought. for one, it's really FUN!(oops, ripper did it again) of course it pales in comparison to a full-sized projector, but let's be fair, it's a pico projector, not even micro, it's pico
and under low light ambience, it works fantastic!
as a Beam user, now that the stability issue is not acting up, ripper finds it harder to convince moiself to exchange the Beam for anything else with every day that passes. even for a SGS or ipwn4. since ripper mentioned ipwn4, ripper still hopes that Samsung can make some effort to shore up the camera's quality. it's lagging very far behind ipwn4. it's very hard to take a decent picture with the shutter lag. of coz dun get ripper started with the flat colours of the peektures taken. (hope samsung reps get to read this)
on a side note, bro, it will be good if provocative style of posting can be avoided. exchanging opinions and discussion are fine, but sarcasm can easily be misconstrued as picking a bone. so let's just keep the thread clean and not go down that path. this is not edmw after all.![]()