Samsung Beam?

kennyboy

the projector projects everything on screen or only selected stuff like photos/videos?

RipperJack

ok, found a 720p mkv file.

later when the beam fully charged liao, ripper go and test :D
the system doesn't recognise mkv files

so i changed the extension to avi
afterwhich, the system managed to grab a thumbnail from the movie file.

however, when i click on it, it says file type not supported :(

RipperJack

ripper so what's the gift certificate about?

at first i wanted to buy this but after trying the demo, my heart going back to sgs or nexus...:s22:
a peekture is worth a hundred words, quite literally :D

the shutter lag is quite terrible. very slow :s22:
can't samsung just get it right? :mad:

33ctdae.jpg

kennyboy

the system doesn't recognise mkv files

so i changed the extension to avi
afterwhich, the system managed to grab a thumbnail from the movie file.

however, when i click on it, it says file type not supported :(
ok lah....avi support pretty good already.

still got rockplayer for the other SD formats.

RipperJack

wah...more test to feedback k? video playback and browsing is my top 2 priority.
video playback u wun be disappointed la :D

browsing so far so good.
but sometimes webpages fail to load :mad:
however, i think this is telco problem :mad:

RipperJack

ok lah....avi support pretty good already.

still got rockplayer for the other SD formats.
yeah, ripper haven't had chance to experiment with the apps yet.
this one have to count on you laojiao guys for expertise :D

so far, after installing ATK, the lag problem has largely gone away. no longer very lag. but occasional slight lag still exist. it's very bearable now :D

however, what disturb me is tt, after activating the ATK widget, the amount of memory available continues to shrink over time :s22: how to solve this? :s11:

kennyboy

yeah, ripper haven't had chance to experiment with the apps yet.
this one have to count on you laojiao guys for expertise :D

so far, after installing ATK, the lag problem has largely gone away. no longer very lag. but occasional slight lag still exist. it's very bearable now :D

however, what disturb me is tt, after activating the ATK widget, the amount of memory available continues to shrink over time :s22: how to solve this? :s11:

For now set ATK to kill apps everytime screen is locked. That will make sure that most errant apps are closed everytime u wanna use the phone.

But once Beam is rooted, install apps like autokiller or minfreemanger. Those set the memory management of Android to be more strict, makes the phone much faster.

goaheadbingostan

ripper managed to squeeze out some time in the morning to go to PS for the launch and see see look look, in the end, bought the Beam on impulse :D

the Beam is on launch promotion offer, so it's $50 cheaper.
with smartsurf100 - $348
with smartsurf300 - $148
+
gift certificate worth $150

Ripper, gostan just reach home. How is it? I see you buy liao. Basket, bo jio. =:p

RipperJack

For now set ATK to kill apps everytime screen is locked. That will make sure that most errant apps are closed everytime u wanna use the phone.

But once Beam is rooted, install apps like autokiller or minfreemanger. Those set the memory management of Android to be more strict, makes the phone much faster.
yup did that :D
set to crazy level and frequency at every screen off.

but now got critical problem! :s27:
can't reboot! :mad:

the "android" logo comes out, the with the animated shean, and it's stop there :s22:

WTF?! :mad:
2nd day only have to go service centre :s27:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.