Samsung Beam?

RipperJack

anyone knows how to hard reset this thing?
hard-reset by s/w
Menu>Settings>Privacy>Factory data reset

hard-reset by h/w (buttons)
not known yet.
ripper has bugged Samsung tech support many times about this.
ripper asked them to bug Samsung Korea HQ for it, but until now still no progress.
they still dunno.
so, the next best thing is ripper asked them to fasterly update the samsung website to include a firmware update installer so that we can flash firmware on our own.

RipperJack

Great to see everyones videos! Thanks Ripper for the eBook reader projector demo. The projector looks great. I really want one now and I cant wait for the Galaxy Beam to come to Australia. I would import one now from Singapore, but I am a little worried that no one knows how to do the sometimes needed hard reset. And being in a different country I cant just take it to the service shop... Hopefully the Samsung Beam users group workshop will reveal the hard reset, then I will think about importing from Singapore / swap with Galaxy S.

When micro projectors become standard in phones, you lucky owners can all smile smuggly knowing that you were the amongst the first to have a projector in a phone and definately some of the first home users to upload vids to youtube!
u r welcome.

it's a pity though that ripper can't capture a decent projection video in the dark :(

RipperJack

Last night plug in the charger after the system prompt to and as I want the charging to be faster.......I turned off the phone and then the screen suddenly showed the above message!

Scared of your story of not able to boot up....decided to leave it but then hor, after 30 mins still showing the same thing and phone getting warmer! unable to turn off using the button, just FC then took out the battery..luckily very thing go back normal.

What the hell is that?!! Anyone encountered this problem??
no wor, u r the pioneer :D

goaheadbingostan

this one if they come out Froyo for Beam, is it official? :s11:

if it fried the Beam, will still be under warranty? :(

According to our cousin Galaxy S thread, these so called "leaks" are known to Samsung.

If kena fried, gostan is no sure too.

JuXn5566

hi all,I received my beam on monday.traded in my Omnia II for this.
very happy with most of the thing so far except 2 things.
1)Battery life
-so far beam last only half day on me
-the display used up most of my battery life (known from battery use in settings) and I can't seem able to change the brightness.when i go into setting to change the brightness,I scroll the bar to most left,it's still quite bright to me.
2)Graphic performance
-tried a few graphic intensive games (NOVA,Asphalt 5,ect) but a bit laggy or choppi
-used neocore app to benchmark the graphic and only archived 15.4 fps the most for me.other phone seem to have like at least 20 fps.

Can ripper or anyone using the beam share ur battery life and ur beachmark with neocore?

thank you.:)

RipperJack

hi all,I received my beam on monday.traded in my Omnia II for this.
very happy with most of the thing so far except 2 things.
1)Battery life
-so far beam last only half day on me
-the display used up most of my battery life (known from battery use in settings) and I can't seem able to change the brightness.when i go into setting to change the brightness,I scroll the bar to most left,it's still quite bright to me.
2)Graphic performance
-tried a few graphic intensive games (NOVA,Asphalt 5,ect) but a bit laggy or choppi
-used neocore app to benchmark the graphic and only archived 15.4 fps the most for me.other phone seem to have like at least 20 fps.

Can ripper or anyone using the beam share ur battery life and ur beachmark with neocore?

thank you.:)
ripper hasn't run any diagnostics, but if u click on ripper's video, u can see an Asphalt game running for half a min. so u can compare to your performances. but of coz, the Asphalt game was run w/o running ATK prior to running all the other apps such as Rock Player and ebook reader and gallery.

as for battery, after a few full discharge and recharge cycles, the performance is alot better. for low to moderate usage, ripper reach home from work ard 7pm, still barely 70% left.

with heavier usage today, ripper was using the GPS for a prolonged period (ard 1 to 1.5hr on the road with GPS on). some surfing (15mins?) and lotsa smses (easily 50) and some phonecalls (total 30 mins?) reached home almost 11pm with 30%. screen brightness is on auto-mode.

yes, ripper agrees with u. even at lowest setting, the screen is bright enough for almost all situations except under bright sunlight. :D
the S-AMOLED is simply brilliant :D

goaheadbingostan

known and acknowledged and endorsed are 3 different things :s13:

Hard to tell nowadays. Like Samsung giving out free phone to I-phone user on Twitter. What's next? Sherlynn sms gostan out of the blue, ask gostan for a dinner date & hand me a free phone. ;)

Dyles

no firmware for beam >.<

btw any good keypad for beam? the existing one is quite hard to type =(
tried most of the keypad from appbrain and andriod. most of them cannot work =(

Why cant work? Should work ah..
Did u enable them in text and locale (or something like that)?
then Long press to select input.

Dyles

Hard to tell nowadays. Like Samsung giving out free phone to I-phone user on Twitter. What's next? Sherlynn sms gostan out of the blue, ask gostan for a dinner date & hand me a free phone. ;)

You think Samsung really so good meh?

not everyone who complaint got free phone.. Upon checking and investigating, they found out that those who got the free phones are those who have links with media (i.e. magazine, reviews, webbys).. Although they say got 1 student also manage to get a free phone (decoy?)

Samsung just using this as publicity lol

RipperJack

no firmware for beam >.<

btw any good keypad for beam? the existing one is quite hard to type =(
tried most of the keypad from appbrain and andriod. most of them cannot work =(
what? you dun like Swype?

Swype is inba! :o
even the iphone users drool over Swype :s13:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.