Samsung Galaxy Fold

dricas_007

Anyone here activated your screen replacement ?

Excerpt from Samsung portal
"One-time screen replacement or repair is applicable to the internal, foldable screen of the Galaxy Z Fold2 5G, Galaxy Fold or Galaxy Z Flip only. Customer is liable to pay a deductible amount of SGD$200 for the screen replacement or repair for the Galaxy Z Fold2 5G and Galaxy Fold"

My fold 1 internal screen looks alright under normal lighting, however if examine closely there are unnoticeable light scratches.

Thinking of doing a screen replacement before my warranty ends in December 2020

Same there. Me thinking at end december too:D

sobered

Should do it, had a friend who did it and they changed quite a fair bit for him. New internal external screen and hinge

metavolta

Anyone here activated your screen replacement ?

Excerpt from Samsung portal
"One-time screen replacement or repair is applicable to the internal, foldable screen of the Galaxy Z Fold2 5G, Galaxy Fold or Galaxy Z Flip only. Customer is liable to pay a deductible amount of SGD$200 for the screen replacement or repair for the Galaxy Z Fold2 5G and Galaxy Fold"

My fold 1 internal screen looks alright under normal lighting, however if examine closely there are unnoticeable light scratches.

Thinking of doing a screen replacement before my warranty ends in December 2020

Just quick update on my personal experience as I recently did my screen replacement...

My device reflect two different warranty dates

Samsung Account Website -> December 2020
Samsung Hardcopy Purchase Receipt -> September 2020. (12 mths from date of purchase)

Samsung SG explained to me that they will refer to the date of the physical hardcopy purchase receipt to determine the warranty expiry..

Naturally I was shocked and tried to reason/explain to the Staff that it was misleading to have 2 different warranty dates. And customer would naturally assume the later date as the warranty expiry (Sept vs Dec)

Went down to PS outlet and staff mention that there was nothing they can do about it

Decided to try my luck at the Vivocity outlet, the staff also said the same thing. However they were at least tried to help me by referring my case to seek managment approval on my handset warranty so that i can get the replacement at $200 (within warranty) instead of $800 (out of warranty)

Staff got back to me 1 day later to notify me they gotten approval so I can screen replaced based on the within warranty pricing.

Ye_Rongtian

Just quick update on my personal experience as I recently did my screen replacement...

Samsung Hardcopy Purchase Receipt -> September 2020. (12 mths from date of purchase)

Samsung SG explained to me that they will refer to the date of the physical hardcopy purchase receipt to determine the warranty expiry..

Naturally I was shocked and tried to reason/explain to the Staff that it was misleading to have 2 different warranty dates. And customer would naturally assume the later date as the warranty expiry (Sept vs Dec)

Went down to PS outlet and staff mention that there was nothing they can do about it

Decided to try my luck at the Vivocity outlet, the staff also said the same thing. However they were at least tried to help me by referring my case to seek managment approval on my handset warranty so that i can get the replacement at $200 (within warranty) instead of $800 (out of warranty)

Staff got back to me 1 day later to notify me they gotten approval so I can screen replaced based on the within warranty pricing.
So you got 15 months of warranty?

dricas_007

Ooh no....I gonna try my luck too. Thanks for sharing

metavolta

Ooh no....I gonna try my luck too. Thanks for sharing

Go to the Vivocity Outlet and explain to the staff your situation...

Customer Service will need to seek internal approval before they can advise whether your device is considered as under warranty ($200) or out-of-warranty ($800) for the screen replacement.

In my situation they took about 1 working day and contacted me to bring my device within the same month for the screen replacement under warranty ($200)

keemmeng

hope coming soon to singapore devices

The Verge: Samsung’s original Galaxy Fold adds some of the Z Fold 2’s smartest features for free.
https://www.theverge.com/2020/10/26/21535394/samsung-galaxy-fold-new-update-z-fold-2-features-selfies

Posted from PCWX using SM-F900F

keemmeng

Just came in!

BfrMlF5.jpg

Posted from PCWX using SM-F900F

chanbri

My screen suddenly has bright spot and when I brought it to Samsung Centre they say it’s not covered with the warranty because there’s a dent in the area of the dead pixel hence warranty is void. On closer look it’s not a dent but a very very light scratch which is a few millimeter from the dead pixel. But they insist it’s a dent. I’m seriously dismayed and frustrated with the staff’s service. I ended have to pay the one time fee to change screen. Mind you I was reading an e-book when the dark screen suddenly brighten up. I literally saw the pixels die. I’m gonna be staying away from the fold after this.. maybe even from Samsung.

i3z...

Wah lau leh Samsung
After the update, I can't hide my front camera liao. Why they remove this function?

Now my full screen app like games will tio cover by the front camera liao.

Watch video, the front camera will also block the side of the video

Any workarounds? The apps I find on Google play store not stable and don't really work.

dricas_007

Wah lau leh Samsung
After the update, I can't hide my front camera liao. Why they remove this function?

Now my full screen app like games will tio cover by the front camera liao.

Watch video, the front camera will also block the side of the video

Any workarounds? The apps I find on Google play store not stable and don't really work.

Install Good Lock from Galaxy Store, then Select MultiStar, select The app size stretch to camera hole, choose the app that u need. tap on it to select option...Not overlap with the camera area :)

i3z...

Install Good Lock from Galaxy Store, then Select MultiStar, select The app size stretch to camera hole, choose the app that u need. tap on it to select option...Not overlap with the camera area :)

It works. Thank you!!!!!!!

Apparatus

Will the Galaxy Fold gets Android 13 update or Android 12 is the last update?

Just got the November security update

🙄

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.