Samsung LCD Green Line issue seem quite widespread

loganrunning

I'm into the 7th line. Now my samsung got green, yellow and red lines. Like traffic light.
Should I change to fruit phone? Tiagong also got green lines issues.

in my case, after my s21 experience, i still prefer android. selected either mid-range (using LCD, which has it's own set of problems, but more manageable), or high-end models with non-samsung displays.

or oled displays, goto some samsungdisplay website. you can check by phone brand & model, whether it uses samsung amoled display. if the phone does not use samsung, then to me, it's shortlisted.

edit: website is https://oledera.samsungdisplay.com/eng/oledfinder/

i vaguely recall reading some fruit phones used samsung, and got green/pink/white lines too. my memory may be faulty, so do a web search to confirm.

CCCustom

I read somewhere it is due to ovearheating during software upgrade.

I dont understand how people can stand the green line on their phone.
There are people saying … Samsung phone software update must:
  1. Disable auto update
  2. New update out always google for issues 1st before updating, got issues wait for the next version, rinse repeat
  3. When you finally tap on the update button, do it only when phone is not charging + battery is <50%
Haven’t come across anyone disproving it that it doesn’t work, but haven’t actually come across anyone proving this actually works either, so … :o

potatohead

reddit got people say even they replace at samsung the green line will occur again...

Sent from Proxima Centauri B using EDMWER app!
by deduction, this probably means the problem that lies in the affected panels are caused by certain manufacturing process or tools used which cannot be replaced economically; otherwise i cannot fathom why Samsung allows it to happen year after year over a few gens of phones and panels, with their brand reputation taking a big hit.

hyperbole

Doubt Samsung cares about their reputation. Else they won’t try to scam me when I sent in my phone for that “free” screen replacement. Say my this part spoil and that part spoil need to pay over $500. When I took back the phone those parts they mentioned were not spoilt at all. Sold the phone and switched to fruit phone.

li9ht5peed

There are people saying … Samsung phone software update must:
  1. Disable auto update
  2. New update out always google for issues 1st before updating, got issues wait for the next version, rinse repeat
  3. When you finally tap on the update button, do it only when phone is not charging + battery is <50%
Haven’t come across anyone disproving it that it doesn’t work, but haven’t actually come across anyone proving this actually works either, so … :o
that's superstition already. stars must align else green line will appear

Joseph12

by deduction, this probably means the problem that lies in the affected panels are caused by certain manufacturing process or tools used which cannot be replaced economically; otherwise i cannot fathom why Samsung allows it to happen year after year over a few gens of phones and panels, with their brand reputation taking a big hit.

Doubt Samsung cares about their reputation. Else they won’t try to scam me when I sent in my phone for that “free” screen replacement. Say my this part spoil and that part spoil need to pay over $500. When I took back the phone those parts they mentioned were not spoilt at all. Sold the phone and switched to fruit phone.

Ya
Obviously Samsung doesn't care about reputation
Just doing what they can until a country forces them.to do it.
If not, they do nothing
See Singapore compare to India

potatohead

I'm into the 7th line. Now my samsung got green, yellow and red lines. Like traffic light.
Should I change to fruit phone? Tiagong also got green lines issues.
not necessary fruit phone, just a phone that does NOT use samsung oled panel and you will be good. this line problem is caused by samsung panels, and they are also being used on phones by other brands, most of the time on their flagships too as Samsung has been touted as a premium oled panel manufacturer before this scandal occurs.

whuttt

From chatgpt:

If you want a phone that does not use Samsung OLED panels at all, you’ll want to look for models that use displays from BOE, LG Display, Tianma, or Visionox. Here’s a list of phones (and series) that are known to use non-Samsung OLED panels, though panel suppliers can vary by region or even batch:

1. Apple iPhones (Select variants)

• iPhone 12 – 15 series: While many use Samsung panels, some batches use LG Display or BOE panels (especially for non-Pro models like iPhone 13 or 14).
  • Check model numbers (A**) online** to confirm specific panel suppliers.

2. Huawei / Honor

• Huawei P50/P60/Pura 70 series: Use BOE or Visionox OLEDs.
  • Honor Magic5/Magic6 series: Often use BOE or Tianma OLED panels.
  • Huawei and Honor aggressively moved away from Samsung due to trade tensions.

3. Xiaomi / Redmi

• Xiaomi 13/13T series: Some models use TCL CSOT or BOE OLED panels.
  • Redmi Note 12 Pro/13 Pro: Often use Tianma or CSOT panels.
  • Avoid high-end models like Xiaomi 14 Pro, which typically use Samsung panels.

4. Vivo / iQOO

• Many iQOO models (like iQOO Neo 7, Neo 8) use BOE or Visionox panels.
  • Vivo X90 (non-Pro): Uses BOE panel; X90 Pro+ uses Samsung E6.

5. Realme

• Realme GT Neo series: Often use BOE or Tianma panels, depending on the model.

Quick Tips to Avoid Samsung Panels:

• Avoid Samsung phones, obviously.
  • Avoid high-end flagship phones, which tend to use the best Samsung panels (like E6/E7).
  • Look for Chinese brands (Huawei, Honor, Vivo, Xiaomi) mid-range models — they frequently use BO

loganrunning

you can check if there is a correlation between the year(s) samsung changed country of manufacture for display panels and handphones, and the year that the number of cases of green/violet/white lines increased exponentially.

loganrunning

From chatgpt:

If you want a phone that does not use Samsung OLED panels at all, you’ll want to look for models that use displays from BOE, LG Display, Tianma, or Visionox. Here’s a list of phones (and series) that are known to use non-Samsung OLED panels, though panel suppliers can vary by region or even batch:

1. Apple iPhones (Select variants)

• iPhone 12 – 15 series: While many use Samsung panels, some batches use LG Display or BOE panels (especially for non-Pro models like iPhone 13 or 14).
  • Check model numbers (A**) online** to confirm specific panel suppliers.

2. Huawei / Honor

• Huawei P50/P60/Pura 70 series: Use BOE or Visionox OLEDs.
  • Honor Magic5/Magic6 series: Often use BOE or Tianma OLED panels.
  • Huawei and Honor aggressively moved away from Samsung due to trade tensions.

3. Xiaomi / Redmi

• Xiaomi 13/13T series: Some models use TCL CSOT or BOE OLED panels.
  • Redmi Note 12 Pro/13 Pro: Often use Tianma or CSOT panels.
  • Avoid high-end models like Xiaomi 14 Pro, which typically use Samsung panels.

4. Vivo / iQOO

• Many iQOO models (like iQOO Neo 7, Neo 8) use BOE or Visionox panels.
  • Vivo X90 (non-Pro): Uses BOE panel; X90 Pro+ uses Samsung E6.

5. Realme

• Realme GT Neo series: Often use BOE or Tianma panels, depending on the model.

Quick Tips to Avoid Samsung Panels:

• Avoid Samsung phones, obviously.
  • Avoid high-end flagship phones, which tend to use the best Samsung panels (like E6/E7).
  • Look for Chinese brands (Huawei, Honor, Vivo, Xiaomi) mid-range models — they frequently use BO

to add on, last year, went back to Oneplus (1+12) when they switched out from samsung panels.
1+11 and earlier, were using Samsung displays

tidiii

in my case, after my s21 experience, i still prefer android. selected either mid-range (using LCD, which has it's own set of problems, but more manageable), or high-end models with non-samsung displays.

or oled displays, goto some samsungdisplay website. you can check by phone brand & model, whether it uses samsung amoled display. if the phone does not use samsung, then to me, it's shortlisted.

edit: website is https://oledera.samsungdisplay.com/eng/oledfinder/

i vaguely recall reading some fruit phones used samsung, and got green/pink/white lines too. my memory may be faulty, so do a web search to confirm.

i search my phone and it said congratulations.........
i went down to the oppo repair center 14x in the last year........

loganrunning

i search my phone and it said congratulations.........
i went down to the oppo repair center 14x in the last year........

"congratulations" means time to sell phone :unsure:

how come go repair centre 14 times? bang table? or need so many repairs? just curious

tidiii

"congratulations" means time to sell phone.

how come go repair centre 14 times? bang table? or need so many repairs? just curious

green line appear lor......for my phone model, i more or less can tell why the greenline will appear
once it gets hot, very likely it can appear. the only thing is my phone use chrome or tiktok also hot liao........
my phone not even that old, 3 years old flagship, can play all games max settings no issues

my phone sell no value...

i think the only andriod phones that keep value after 1/2 years is samsung?

Flexamoria

The panel is manufactured by BOE and is protected by Corning Gorilla Glass Victus 2. It offers a typical brightness of 800 nits, reaches up to 1600 nits in high brightness mode, and boasts a peak brightness of 4500 nits . Additionally, the display utilizes 2160Hz PWM dimming to reduce eye strain during extended use .

Means what

loganrunning

green line appear lor......for my phone model, i more or less can tell why the greenline will appear
once it gets hot, very likely it can appear. the only thing is my phone use chrome or tiktok also hot liao........
my phone not even that old, 3 years old flagship, can play all games max settings no issues

i see.
in my case, when i remove the phone from case after useage (eg watch movie), it's HOT.
so at home, i use it without case. on my table, i have a small 5" fan (pulled out from old pc). put a variable speed control on it (need low speed only) and place phone on it when using and charging. keeps it cool even when charging.

also, dun use fast charge to keep temp down.

my phone sell no value...

i think the only andriod phones that keep value after 1/2 years is samsung?

i dunno. i see even samsung flagship phones also drop in value quite quickly. which is worse since buying price is higher.

now, i buy 2nd hand (about 12-18month old) or mid-range.
i dun game, so i dun need the performance.
phone die, drop in price, no worries, no heart pain. but that is just me, your use case may be different.

loganrunning

The panel is manufactured by BOE and is protected by Corning Gorilla Glass Victus 2. It offers a typical brightness of 800 nits, reaches up to 1600 nits in high brightness mode, and boasts a peak brightness of 4500 nits . Additionally, the display utilizes 2160Hz PWM dimming to reduce eye strain during extended use .

Means what

in the context of this thread, means not manufactured by samsung. have to monitor to see if it also shows green/purple/white lines

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.