samsung pay

renfred89

If there is an NFC terminal, probably best to just tell the cashier you want to use Visa PayWave and tap the white terminal with your phone. Easier that way.

In fact, for NTUC which uses an all in one terminal (NFC, swipe and chip), you can tell the Cashier Visa PayWave and still use MST by tapping your phone on the side of the terminal (where the magnetic swipe is).

Sent from Sony SGP621 using GAGT

i wouldn't recommend that. some merchants have stricter accounting policies when they categorise contactless payment away from usual credit card payments. While some merchants have better software to help them select the appropriate payment method, some might need to manually key in the mode of payment. So if you declared you using contactless and then you used MST, the accounts won't tally anymore and you might land the cashier in trouble, despite having the amount paid.

its best to always honour the mode of payment and alert the cashier if u intend to switch between nfc and MST.

leon0079

hmm sorry if it sounds stupid but those payment terminals with the pay wave logo are using nfc? cos so far i have been using tapping directly on the terminal display regions. Wouldn't wanna look stupid if suddenly requires mst and I'm tapping like some noob at the wrong area:s13:

renfred89

hmm sorry if it sounds stupid but those payment terminals with the pay wave logo are using nfc? cos so far i have been using tapping directly on the terminal display regions. Wouldn't wanna look stupid if suddenly requires mst and I'm tapping like some noob at the wrong area:s13:

You have to ask. There are many models of terminals. Some accept direct tap while some have the option to tap but the service is inactive.

Generally those dont have contactless terminal, assume its mst only unless told otherwise..

liewjinyun

Anyone redeemed the free travel adaptor? Is it only available for phones purchased from samsung experience store or telco users can redeem too?

Omnia1

i wouldn't recommend that. some merchants have stricter accounting policies when they categorise contactless payment away from usual credit card payments. While some merchants have better software to help them select the appropriate payment method, some might need to manually key in the mode of payment. So if you declared you using contactless and then you used MST, the accounts won't tally anymore and you might land the cashier in trouble, despite having the amount paid.

its best to always honour the mode of payment and alert the cashier if u intend to switch between nfc and MST.
Good point. It's unfortunate though that many cashiers will probably think you're an alien when you mention MST... Lol

Sent from Samsung SM-G935F using GAGT

Lyz1999

Anyone received their charger stand already for wk 1 and 2?

Yep i got an sms from ninja van this morning that it's with the delivery agent alr, most prolly getting it today (mine's for wk1)

(btw my first post in hwz forums sorry if I did anything wrong here haha :p)

Omnia1

No need to mention mst. Just say by visa/master (mst) or paywave paypass for contactless lor..
Just wondering what the procedure for the cashier is. Is it their practice to swipe/insert the credit card into the terminal *before* they key in the transaction?

Because if it is, they will ask for the card when I say Visa/Master and if I then say that I want to use the phone, all the objections/ignorance on MST will start surfacing...

Sent from Sony SGP621 using GAGT

fevern0va

Samsung pay will never work in SG as long as all the ignorant cashier aunties still got a job. Tried it 3 times yesterday at 3 diff locations. All showed black face. One even asked me to pay in cash because got long q behind. Wtf

SEvsNK

Samsung pay will never work in SG as long as all the ignorant cashier aunties still got a job. Tried it 3 times yesterday at 3 diff locations. All showed black face. One even asked me to pay in cash because got long q behind. Wtf
Which store did u go to sia haha

gapboy

Which store did u go to sia haha

Went chinatown point "song fa bak khut teh" the cashier have a signage saying "samsung pay" accepted. When i am paying i just show my phone with my credit card on it she nods .. i just tap on the machine.

ATN888

haha same here. many cashiers face all black black one ... one aunty told me off asked why can't I just use my card, another said 'u no card meh?!' ....now scared:s13: must look for friendly cashier, no queue behind then dare to use:s13:

renfred89

Approach tactfully lor.. you guys will always face these ignorance issues but you will gain experience to deal with these in time to come..

Lyz1999

Just wondering what the procedure for the cashier is. Is it their practice to swipe/insert the credit card into the terminal *before* they key in the transaction?

Because if it is, they will ask for the card when I say Visa/Master and if I then say that I want to use the phone, all the objections/ignorance on MST will start surfacing...

Yep if going direct to swipe/insert the card needs to be detected by the terminal before the screen to enter amount payable will be shown on the terminal

But for NFC-enabled terminals if NFC fails the terminal will immediately fall back on swipe/insert without needing to swipe/insert first then input amount, because the amount was already entered before the attempt at NFC payment stage so the terminal remembers it.

Typically what I do in this situation is I just tell them I'm swiping and my phone can swipe, u gotta sound firm and sound like you know what you're doing. I'll get the puzzled looks but they still let me do it lol. And the look of amazement/shock/wonder when they see it work lol

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.