Scam call: xxx, 你知道我是谁吗?

• Have you been Scammed?
    Follow this advisory from National Crime Prevention Council (NCPC) or call ScamShield Helpline 1799. More info

Sylar22

Hubby just received that call not long ago. Sounded like local....I told him to change his paynow or paylah name to nickname to avoid such call in future.
4 years ago a started liao…

Sylar22

Confirm. Long story shot:
A colleague of mine from another department tio hack.
His voice was used to scam those in the contact list.
It is so powerful that the mannerism are copied.
He is quite an ah beng.

So, when I receive unknown calls. I pickup and keep quiet.
If after sometime there is no response, the machine start to talk then I kup.
Got a few times, I forget and hello then the "你知道。。“ resurface.
As such dun give the scammers chance to collect your voice prints. Just kup.
Haha next time ppl call each other then don’t talk liao. Scared tio AI voice recorded

TickTechToe

Confirm. Long story shot:
A colleague of mine from another department tio hack.
His voice was used to scam those in the contact list.
It is so powerful that the mannerism are copied.
He is quite an ah beng.

So, when I receive unknown calls. I pickup and keep quiet.
If after sometime there is no response, the machine start to talk then I kup.
Got a few times, I forget and hello then the "你知道。。“ resurface.
As such dun give the scammers chance to collect your voice prints. Just kup.
what puzzle me is how they get your contact list to scam others you knew...

Song Bro

what puzzle me is how they get your contact list to scam others you knew...
Oh, that's quite simple de. Only the voice print is difficult.
I got share before the Wechat logs are stored in the program de.
Use the backdoor to download the contact list. Expert IT can do it.
Not sure about Whatapp, Wechat sure can.

So I scared already, I delete immediately but maybe too late ler.

Pyroxene

I got one such call a couple of months back. I told him "eh 你去死算了吧". And immediately hung up.

Emperor_Hippo

i can't do it for him because i have relatives from abroad that contacts him.
the silence unknown caller feature only silence unknown incoming calls.

if the fella already in the contact list, the phone will ring.

again, this is only for iPhone.

another way is to put screen time lock on his Apple Account and manage his contacts for him. but this one too kiddy liao lah.

i told him before if anybody wants to contact you from abroad, they can do so via whatsapp because we all have family/relative whatsapp groups so there is no need for him to answer unknown calls.
it is always the self-importance, self-aggrandising, chest puffing kind of "what happens if its an urgent overseas call from someone I happen to know"? (yah, what was his previous profession? diplomat? LTC and higher military attache officer?)

it's his attitude u need to change. technology blockers will not help in the long run but provide temporary relief.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.