[Secretlab] Replacement program for older chairs

Secretlab_Cheryl

Hi all, I’m Cheryl and I’m part of Secretlab’s community team. I've seen your concerns about the peeling of the PU upholstery and we have been working hard on providing solutions to these issues based on the feedback gathered.

Firstly, to address this issue, we developed the PRIME™ 2.0 PU leather, which is tested together with A*STAR scientists to be 4x more durable than regular PU leather, particularly in warm, humid climates like here in Singapore.This can be found on our 2020 chair series.

To further put your mind at ease, every 2020 Series chair comes with a Peel Protection Guarantee — our promise to you that you don't have to worry about your chair peeling — that lasts for the duration of your extended warranty (up to 5 years).

If your Secretlab chair is from the 2018 Series or earlier, our Replacement Program covers you for a replacement of the parts at little to no cost (depending on your warranty status) this includes chairs that are out of warranty as well.

Full details about these programs and how to go about with applying for either program can be found on our website here: https://secretlab.sg/pages/peelprotection

I’m here to help address any queries you may have about your chair or the programs stated above so please feel free to drop me a DM!

hyperfuse

Got a question after I read the faqs.

If a 2020 chair gets flaking due to wear and tear, (singapore humidity) in let's say 3 months after the chair was purchased. (Maybe the room that the chair was in has high humidity or has sunlight etc). Under the peel protection guarantee, the area of the chair example the seat will be replaced yes?

However that replaced part will only have 2 years warranty based on your guidelines I saw. So basically if really unlucky in this scenario, that seat will technically have in total 2 years 3 months warranty yea? Once a part is replaced, the warranty of that replaced part becomes 2 years.

Ah Tiong Bu

$99 to fix peeling issue on older no-warranty SecretLab chair + additional $29 is a lot. Not to mention SecretLab chair cost nearly $600 in the first place. I think your company should eat the cost and lower the fixing cost to $49 considering this is a widespread issue largely due to your product's quality.

skrekro

Threw away my titan 2017 after a year. Chair hardly used too. Bad quality PU leather.

Secretlab_Cheryl

Got a question after I read the faqs.

If a 2020 chair gets flaking due to wear and tear, (singapore humidity) in let's say 3 months after the chair was purchased. (Maybe the room that the chair was in has high humidity or has sunlight etc). Under the peel protection guarantee, the area of the chair example the seat will be replaced yes?

However that replaced part will only have 2 years warranty based on your guidelines I saw. So basically if really unlucky in this scenario, that seat will technically have in total 2 years 3 months warranty yea? Once a part is replaced, the warranty of that replaced part becomes 2 years.
Hi Hyperfuse, the Peel Protection Guarantee that comes with your replaced parts will either be for 2 years or the remaining of your original warranty period - whichever is longer!

In the case you've brought up, if you have extended your 2020 chair's warranty to 5 years, your replaced parts will still have 4 years and 9 months of warranty for the parts. If you need any further clarifications, feel free to drop me a DM and share more with you!

Lil_d3viLz

Already went with reupholstering with Royale. Once Royale, never gonna go back SecretLab. More much customisability at much lower cost, especially their napa leather.
Any issue or feedback, I can contact the management and settle it asap. Excellent aftersales service which you can contact someone with POWER instead of customer service representative who always escalate the issue.

Totally disappointed in SecretLab asking me to trade in entire chair for around $70 off new model when it was peeling like crazy. As a customer, I was thinking "Siao bo, your product inferior quality, still want me to buy another peel-peel banana?" Instead of fixing the issue FREE, the company wants to sell another same chair to the same seller at almost the same price. Good luck to that.

As a customer, I feel that SecretLab cares only about profit, rather providing customers with a good office chair or even basic customer satisfaction. Firstly, the leather peel peel like banana within 2 years meant that the company did not do a good research job before selling the products. I could say that the quality was low and bad. That issue was pushed to humid weather/temperature, wear&tear. Even then, it took so long for the company to realise something is wrong with their product. Inferior quality. If I was the boss, I would step out to publicly apologies for the inferior product and fix it.

Now I can offer Secret Lab the same deal. Sell me a brand new chair with warranty for $70.

wwenze

Why you guys don't trust the results of A*STAR scientists? :(

hyperfuse

Hi Hyperfuse, the Peel Protection Guarantee that comes with your replaced parts will either be for 2 years or the remaining of your original warranty period - whichever is longer!

In the case you've brought up, if you have extended your 2020 chair's warranty to 5 years, your replaced parts will still have 4 years and 9 months of warranty for the parts. If you need any further clarifications, feel free to drop me a DM and share more with you!

I remember last week I spoke to your customer service personnel and he clearly copy paste me the faq and tells me that replaced parts will left 2 years. I then specifically told him that it will not make sense and he still says that is what the terms stated.

Guess that guy isn't experienced.

But thanks for responding.

FinalTidus

Already went with reupholstering with Royale. Once Royale, never gonna go back SecretLab. More much customisability at much lower cost, especially their napa leather.
Any issue or feedback, I can contact the management and settle it asap. Excellent aftersales service which you can contact someone with POWER instead of customer service representative who always escalate the issue.

Totally disappointed in SecretLab asking me to trade in entire chair for around $70 off new model when it was peeling like crazy. As a customer, I was thinking "Siao bo, your product inferior quality, still want me to buy another peel-peel banana?" Instead of fixing the issue FREE, the company wants to sell another same chair to the same seller at almost the same price. Good luck to that.

As a customer, I feel that SecretLab cares only about profit, rather providing customers with a good office chair or even basic customer satisfaction. Firstly, the leather peel peel like banana within 2 years meant that the company did not do a good research job before selling the products. I could say that the quality was low and bad. That issue was pushed to humid weather/temperature, wear&tear. Even then, it took so long for the company to realise something is wrong with their product. Inferior quality. If I was the boss, I would step out to publicly apologies for the inferior product and fix it.

Now I can offer Secret Lab the same deal. Sell me a brand new chair with warranty for $70.
Lucky I decided to just buy a cheap mesh computer chair 1 year ago online for just 60 bucks instead of secretlabs. I never liked how they were massively marketing their chairs to do many influencers and charging such a high premium. I knew something was amiss and I was right.

Avoided a mine.

hyperfuse

Why you guys don't trust the results of A*STAR scientists? :(

Trust has to be earn.

Last week I was contemplating to buy a secretlab or royale.

And their cso online told me about replaced parts having only left 2years, that changed my decision.. on top of that, i saw this video of the version 2s

https://youtu.be/BhA7svBYy7c

See the 1 min 30 secs mark.

This angmoh guy somemore not staying in Singapore but yet there's peeling...

That made me forgo the thought of getting secretlab. I ordered 2 napa leather chairs from Royale instead. As a consumer, I just look at real life reviews and facts before I make my purchase..

Secretlab_Cheryl

$99 to fix peeling issue on older no-warranty SecretLab chair + additional $29 is a lot. Not to mention SecretLab chair cost nearly $600 in the first place. I think your company should eat the cost and lower the fixing cost to $49 considering this is a widespread issue largely due to your product's quality.
Hi Ah Tiong Bu, thank you for your feedback! The replacement backrest and seat base set that will replace the peeling parts that are out of warranty is highly subsidized as we have absorbed a large part of the parts' costs. Do note that the replacement price of $99 is for those out of warranty.

The replacement parts will also be upholstered in the new PRIME™ 2.0 PU leather - which is crafted after years of extensive R&D to be more durable than the regular PU leather. Atop that, these replaced parts will now also come with 2-year Peel Protection Guarantee where any replacement required due to the peeling of upholstery will be complimentary.

SGCustomerAlwaysRight

You can opt for replacement of $99 for a brand new seatbase and backrest using their new leather. As good as new chair for $99. Mine was a 1st-gen omega that started peeling from the 4 year mark and they were replaced on-site with no hassle. The new leather has a guarantee as well. IMO $99 after 4 years of usage and out of warranty is cheap.

Mclairs83

PU leather will no matter wad will still flake.

get a mesh chair. suits our climate, airy and more ergonomic.

hyperfuse

PU leather will no matter wad will still flake.

get a mesh chair. suits our climate, airy and more ergonomic.

I had a full mesh chair. Its definitely not comfy since it has no cushion but it is ergonomic. But aesthetic wise not so nice. I sold it away because it collected dust at the front part of the seat area where there is reinforcement. Makes that area grayish due to the dust collected. That portion cant clean cuz the dust is stuck between the mesh and the reinforcement.

Which is why I only choose napa leather or genuine leather chairs now. It looks good, wont peel and have the cushiony effect.

Definitely no PU leather. That's a ******** material to use esp in humid Singapore.

Lil_d3viLz

You can opt for replacement of $99 for a brand new seatbase and backrest using their new leather. As good as new chair for $99. Mine was a 1st-gen omega that started peeling from the 4 year mark and they were replaced on-site with no hassle. The new leather has a guarantee as well. IMO $99 after 4 years of usage and out of warranty is cheap.

Lol. Do you even read what I posted and address the issue? That crappy PU leather was totally removed liao lar. I am already using Napa Leather, u want me to remove Napa leather and pay for SecretLab PU leather again. Wah lao eh. Which customer would be so sot or gong to do that?

@FinalTidus,good for you. Was one of the early batch of Titan users. The foam for seat is better than average China type but not at the premium of 600+ la.

But without Secretlab's failure, there won't be Royale company. They started from doing cars then fixing Secretlab's mistake, into a rival company. Providing reupholstery to customers who had a peel-banana chair is like 雪中送炭(give charcoal during snow). Our chair no longer snow all over the floor.

Limexx

Never gonna buy secret lab chair again. Quality so bad. Rather get 2nd hand aeron

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.