Seng Kang Green Primary School Bullying Case - with timeline

Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

Bweebweee

You sounded as though "poor social skills" and having "no friends" is the reason for her bullying... Yes poor social skill is a handicap... but by no means it should be the reason for bullying her... or justified it as she is the problem instead... If she is bad at poor social skills... isn't it the responsibility of teachers and school leaders to help her instead...

Whenever I heard of such things from my kids that "who and who" got no friends... I will tell my kids to try to friend them instead... ask her to join you for recess etc... I even told my kid to be friends with the bully who bullied her but later apologized after teacher intervened... and now she was even invited to the bully birthday party...

Yes we should always reflect... but I dun think her lack of friends and social skills is to be blame here... It sounded more and more like bullying the "odd one out" or the weak...
That fellow is a prime example of the purpose for MOE's response. It is to push ppl to start blaming the victim in order to justify the teacher's actions in downplaying the incident.

pohw0008

asked chatgpt to present it in a simpler and easier to read way

Timeline of Events

• End-April 2024
    • Girl reported Pupil A for using an offensive slur on her and another classmate.
    • Girl had also used a slur on Pupil A.
    • Both were asked to apologise to each other by the form teacher.
  • Mid-July 2024
    • Girl asked to change seat.
    • Teacher observed she was still talking/laughing with Pupils A & B, so decided to monitor first.
  • July 25, 2024
    • Girl repeated her request to change seat, citing Pupils A & B’s chatter and inappropriate language, and that Pupil C touched her face without consent.
    • As she admitted to using inappropriate language too, all three apologised and told to mend friendship.
    • Teacher informed her parent and arranged to change her seat the following Monday.
    • Teacher also said he would look into feedback about Pupil C.
  • July 26, 2024
    • Girl’s mother reported prank calls and death threats.
    • July 28: School confirmed Pupils A, B, and C were responsible:
      • Pupil A got the phone number from his parent.
      • Trio made prank calls; Pupil C sent threatening audio messages.
    • All three reprimanded and suspended.
    • Vice-principal met parents, explained actions (seat change, suspension, bag checks after suspension).
    • VP later called parents, updated them on plans (peers assigned to accompany girl).
    • Police report lodged. School said further actions (including caning) may follow after police investigations.
  • July 30, 2024
    • Girl reported being sprayed with water.
    • Investigation: she had used racial slur and told others not to befriend a classmate.
    • Classmate retaliated by spraying water.
    • Both were counselled.
    • Classmate’s parent informed; school planned to update girl’s parents face-to-face.
  • July 31, 2024
    • Safety plan sent to girl’s parents via e-mail.
  • August 7, 2024
    • Girl had a bruise — CCTV showed Pupil C swung his bag into her during dismissal.
    • Teacher present did not see it as he was managing other pupils; no one reported it immediately.
    • School engaged Pupil C’s parents.
  • August 12, 2024
    • Pupil C was caned.
  • August 14, 2024
    • School arranged meeting with girl’s parents for August 18 to update on actions and support measures.
  • August 15–16, 2024
    • Girl’s parent made allegations on social media.
The words used seem to lighten what could have really happened..

Why would any boy touch the face just like that? What's the purpose?? Or is it hold the face with the hand near the neck etc??

Swung the bag can cause bruise?? Or is it just using the bag as a tools to hit the gal??

begintoend

Girl I think is socially misfit. Quite A snowflake. Allowing a group to form and deliberately find trouble with her.

Verbal shots between students I feel is common during disagreement and small arguments. Dun tell me teacher cannot manage this.

Physical altercation and threats are a level beyond basic discipline.

The school always swinging back to having the girl as part of the bullying with her petty antics are misleading. Generally if the snowflake is not targeted, snowflakes will not retaliate.

Greygrey

See the newsprint in post #1496. MOE already buay song "parents publicized dramatized one-side account". I only hope MOE can enlighten the public and give example of "dramatized one-sided account" in this particular case which will make us wiser.
The mother lied about non action by the school and her daughter not doing any wrong nor was she informed about it etc. .... ya she dramatized it. This is a fact.

Itsthatguy

The mother lied about non action by the school and her daughter not doing any wrong nor was she informed about it etc. .... ya she dramatized it. This is a fact.

After so long, still reading general statements and claims. The victim's mother dramatized what?

xdivider

After so long, still reading general statements and claims. The victim's mother dramatized what?
about getting scared by threats etc.

but

after the supposed punishment (counselling/suspension)

C still go hit her.

pls lar what era le, cane and repeat, expulsion.........

bochup84

every kid has different personalities/social interpersonal skills
some just dont like to socialise or interact much but that doesnt warrant bullyings from other kids

u seem to be making personal attack on the victim now by highlighting these

they are still very young childrens and attitudes/social behaviours can still change so her personality shld not be judged this way

children these age - they also like to say i friend u today, tmr i dun friend u again
this is so common

anw 3 boys attacking 1 helpless girl. nuff said
She’s no saint. She used slurs at people leh. How is highlighting this a personal attack? I also never say she deserves it. I did say the bullies need to be tackled. But in the long term, is she doesn’t reflect her behavior, she will have a life long challenge in this aspect, is all I’m saying.

Itsthatguy

I can't help you if you dun go read the information yourself.

Go where read the dramatized one-sided account as stated in the article in the newspaper? I just want to avoid reading the wrong thing and form my own misguided conclusion.:(

bochup84

You sounded as though "poor social skills" and having "no friends" is the reason for her bullying... Yes poor social skill is a handicap... but by no means it should be the reason for bullying her... or justified it as she is the problem instead... If she is bad at poor social skills... isn't it the responsibility of teachers and school leaders to help her instead...

Whenever I heard of such things from my kids that "who and who" got no friends... I will tell my kids to try to friend them instead... ask her to join you for recess etc... I even told my kid to be friends with the bully who bullied her but later apologized after teacher intervened... and now she was even invited to the bully birthday party...

Yes we should always reflect... but I dun think her lack of friends and social skills is to be blame here... It sounded more and more like bullying the "odd one out" or the weak...
For the record, I’m not justifying the bullying. But I’m highlighting the fact that if her social skills issue is left unresolved, she’ll continue to face the challenge. The report highlighted her own behavior is provoking others too. So both sides are accountable.

And I think people are misinterpreting my point. Ensuring children have friends is a deterrence against bullying.

climber99

July 28: The school pulled the three boys from class. Based on the school’s checks, Pupil A obtained the mobile number from his parent. The trio made multiple prank calls to the girl’s parent, with Pupil C sending audio messages threatening the parent and her family. The school reprimanded all three pupils and informed their parents that they would be suspended from school immediately.

That same morning, the vice-principal met the girl’s parents to inform them about the actions taken by the school, including changing her seat to separate her from the three pupils, and plans to conduct bag checks after they served their suspension. The vice-principal also spoke to the girl’s parents on the telephone in the evening to share plans to assign peers to accompany the girl in school

July 31: The safety plan was sent via e-mail to the parents.

Aug 7: The school was informed of a bruise on the girl. The school established that Pupil C swung his bag into the girl during school dismissal. CCTV footage showed that the teacher present was managing another group of pupils and did not witness the incident, and no pupil approached the teacher to alert him to the incident. Following investigations, the school engaged Pupil C’s parents.

So the safety plan didn't work? Could this be the straw that broke the camel's back for the mother and led to the posts?

songboh9696

is this correct;

Here’s the quick rundown of the Sengkang Green Primary School bullying case (Aug 2025):

• What happened: A P3 girl’s mother posted on Facebook alleging months of bullying. She later received phone calls and an audio message with death threats apparently from classmates; a police report was lodged. CNA
  • School action: Three Primary 3 boys were immediately suspended. The school said all involved received counselling and that a safety plan was put in place for the girl. CNA
  • MOE timeline & outcome: MOE released a detailed timeline: incidents began with offensive slurs (end-Apr), escalated through July; prank calls and threats were identified Jul 28 and the three boys were suspended the same day. One boy (“Student C”) was caned on Aug 12 over a separate bag-swinging incident that caused a bruise. After a four-hour meeting, the girl’s parents agreed she would remain at the school with the enhanced safety plan. CNA
  • Further notes: Coverage also reports caning confirmed by MOE to the press. The Straits Times
  • Online spillover: MOE cautioned that social media posts around the case led to doxxing of educators and children, which it condemned as harm-causing in itself. CNA

If you want, I can share MOE’s general approach to handling bullying and what parents can formally do next time something like this happens. moe.gov.sg

johnsonheng

See the newsprint in post #1496. MOE already buay song "parents publicized dramatized one-side account". I only hope MOE can enlighten the public and give example of "dramatized one-sided account" in this particular case which will make us wiser.
Before election it happen. So my guess or suspect is that the new or school try to supress the news due to coming election

begintoend

She’s no saint. She used slurs at people leh. How is highlighting this a personal attack? I also never say she deserves it. I did say the bullies need to be tackled. But in the long term, is she doesn’t reflect her behavior, she will have a life long challenge in this aspect, is all I’m saying.
Jus like the school....
She's described as a victim, not an angel.
But the profiling seems to sway to smearing. It's like everything is ok and under control

poland_ball

I find MOE's response very troubling. It seems to paint a picture that you need to be a 'perfect victim' - one who never antagonise the bullies, retaliate and simply just take the bullying before they will even think of helping out the victim.

This can be seen from their constant highlighting of how the victim also allegedly used slurs on the bullies. Seriously, what kind of message are they trying to send here? People are not stupid.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.