Seng Kang Green Primary School Bullying Case - with timeline

Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

Itsthatguy

about getting scared by threats etc.

but

after the supposed punishment (counselling/suspension)

C still go hit her.

pls lar what era le, cane and repeat, expulsion.........

If kena death threats, who don't go into paranoid mode?:(

poland_ball

She’s no saint. She used slurs at people leh. How is highlighting this a personal attack? I also never say she deserves it. I did say the bullies need to be tackled. But in the long term, is she doesn’t reflect her behavior, she will have a life long challenge in this aspect, is all I’m saying.
So only if you're a saint then you can be a victim is it? What is the context behind the using of the slurs? Did the bullies use it on her first?

wongkc

For the record, I’m not justifying the bullying. But I’m highlighting the fact that if her social skills issue is left unresolved, she’ll continue to face the challenge. The report highlighted her own behavior is provoking others too. So both sides are accountable.

And I think people are misinterpreting my point. Ensuring children have friends is a deterrence against bullying.

It doesn't sounds like she is provoking... it sounded more like she is retaliating or trying to defend herself instead...

Your point is noted... But not everyone is comfortable or can make friends easily... and they shouldn't be bullied becoz of it... The bully dun like her can just leave her alone... no need to bully her... or even make death threats...

bullying is bullying... no matter how you look at it... or explained using her poor social skills or having no friends...

prudie

You see the social media cancel culture, I am not surprised, you know? Many people think they can use social media to control public response and use it like a weapon against people or organisations, then force things their way. The way I look at it, it seems like her daughter has no friends, so I think while bullying is an issue to tackle, the crux of her child's issue is her social skills. Cos from the timeline, it is not just the three boys she had trouble with. There was another one, who spray water at her? Then she got hit by C's bag and no one helped her tell teacher or she didn't tell any friends? And if she has no friends, then what does it say about her? There's a saying, when we point our finger at someone, four fingers point at us, means we always need to reflect whether we are the problem also.
It sounds like you’re victim shaming / blaming. A socially inept or unfriendly classmate is no excuse to resort to such behaviour such as hitting her with their bag or calling their parents to make death threats. 对错都分不清。

angel99999

Guys... Remember that MOE post on FB, is also manned by grown adults... If they can victim blame, I'm quite sure there will be others on EDMW who takes the same stance, they should be ashamed of victim blame. This is a clear cut case, even to the point of death threats to the parents, people still have the face to stand with MOE?

prudie

I think the teachers play a huge part in this case.

could have seperate them or move them to different class and maybe will not go to such extend.

some teacher like my kid's teacher like to ask good student to help with misbehaved student like my daughter is always been asked to sit in between 2 what she said "naughty and noisy" boys . end up my daughter is always unhappy that they keep disturb her.. this approach maybe be ok for older kids, but pri 1 or 2, they are not emotionally strong enough

yes my daughter also always kenna the group project work with the naughty boys. They don’t bully or disturb her because she know how to handle them but she ends up having to remind them repeatedly to do their part before the deadline. Sometimes when she bth she tells me then I will WhatsApp the parent to tell them please get your son to do. I also told her she just do her part and allocate the rest. They don’t do not her problem , just make sure the teacher knows

buzzlightyear852

She’s no saint. She used slurs at people leh. How is highlighting this a personal attack? I also never say she deserves it. I did say the bullies need to be tackled. But in the long term, is she doesn’t reflect her behavior, she will have a life long challenge in this aspect, is all I’m saying.

there must be a reason why she slurssss at people
what can 1 girl do to 3 bullies? and she did not attack them physically first like what the 3 monkeys did

and then she suffered months of bullying and harassment from 3 monkeys, from april up till august before the mum decide to take it to social media

songboh9696

the world is like tat.. raise hands first means wrong..

tat's why in life we must learn self-control in order not to be disadvantaged.

barbaricboon

So the safety plan didn't work? Could this be the straw that broke the camel's back for the mother and led to the posts?
It will be interesting if the mother also put out detailed timeline of events with evidence. Any discrepancies with the MOE timeline then can see fireworks 🎇

Bweebweee

It sounds like you’re victim shaming / blaming. A socially inept or unfriendly classmate is no excuse to resort to such behaviour such as hitting her with their bag or calling their parents to make death threats. 对错都分不清。

And the funny thing is, of course the bullies target those more socially awkward la. You got see the most popular kid, everyone also friend, teacher's also like one be targeted?

Some ppl more introverted, then suay suay kena targeted for bullying, then got ppl here go blame their character, instead of blaming the bullies for targeting this type of characters.

Is like instead of criticising racists, they go blame the people for being of a certain race.

Bweebweee

It will be interesting if the mother also put out detailed timeline of events with evidence. Any discrepancies with the MOE timeline then can see fireworks 🎇
I think not much discrepancy la. Its just difference of perception.

The mother just think nothing was done to help her daughter because as the results show, her daughter did not receive adequate help. MOE then use semantics and say, actually, the teacher did do something, so the mother is lying. Even tho the something was not adequate, but still, its something.

One thing to note is that they chose to put out a timeline, with everything organised in a precise manner, but decided to be vague on when and how it started. They use the terms early of the year and "some squabbling". Clearly deciding not to include more information there, but still want it written in case the mother say they only mention april but omitted earlier incidents.

wongkc

And the funny thing is, of course the bullies target those more socially awkward la. You got see the most popular kid, everyone also friend, teacher's also like one be targeted?

Some ppl more introverted, then suay suay kena targeted for bullying, then got ppl here go blame their character, instead of blaming the bullies for targeting this type of characters.

Is like instead of criticising racists, they go blame the people for being of a certain race.

I find his reasoning disturbing… it’s like accusing a girl kenna molested becoz of her “poor” skills in choosing her clothing thus attracting attention or the lack of a boyfriend to protect her…

prudie

I think not much discrepancy la. Its just difference of perception.

The mother just think nothing was done to help her daughter because as the results show, her daughter did not receive adequate help. MOE then use semantics and say, actually, the teacher did do something, so the mother is lying. Even tho the something was not adequate, but still, its something.

One thing to note is that they chose to put out a timeline, with everything organised in a precise manner, but decided to be vague on when and how it started. They use the terms early of the year and "some squabbling". Clearly deciding not to include more information there, but still want it written in case the mother say they only mention april but omitted earlier incidents.
As a protective mom, I also feel the so called actions done are inadequate. When it’s reported to school / MOE / police , the whole idea is to have the matter addressed satisfactorily. Ie nip the bullying before it gets worse., have the girl’s seat changed, the bullies taken to task and more pair of eyes watching them. Even class prefects can be rostered temporarily to make sure the girl is accompanied during recess or when she is leaving school to make sure there is no opportunity for her to be cornered. After a while those boys will probably forget about it and move on. The teacher could have easily acceded to a seat change.

the response by the school doesn’t address the concerns. So what if they have done something when their “something” didn’t mitigate the situation and allowed it to worsen? It’s like you have a deep knife wound requiring stitches and the teacher just paste a plaster and say okay I’ve done something liao, all good. Simi sai logic?

Bweebweee

I find his reasoning disturbing… it’s like accusing a girl kenna molested becoz of her “poor” skills in choosing her clothing thus attracting attention or the lack of a boyfriend to protect her…
Honestly, the MOE reply is just as concerning. Trying to paint the victim in bad light. And i dont see much "action" taken towards the parents of the bullies. Im not asking to jail them or anything, at least have serious session with the bully family. Im sure they did, because no way they just say suspend then settle, but the fact that these wasnt emphasized in the "timeline", it clearly shows what the motive of MOE was to post this

dolpma

teachers now cannot hit students at all
even private caning rarely done and only by authorised teachers

western bs
https://www.channelnewsasia.com/sho...eged-bullying-johor-school-5304486?share=true ( Johore: age10 boy hospitalised for head injury, school-bully age12)

Agree, nowadays educators refrain/cannot "stern words, harsh VERBAL warnings" cos royal kids' EARS painful if hear verbal stern correctives. Punishment (misdemeanor) become soft COUNSELLING (Baby talk=effective?)

Also parents/kids may officially complain if get harsh VERBAL guidance (not yet discipline=already complain).

Woke liberalism=Kids/teens do/say as they wish, educators/parents little rights to impose correctives (youths resent it). Partly why vapes/kpods proliferate- cos of youths excessive entitlement to do as they please.

Schs/Moe please review how to shape, mentor, guide Sg future gens ( or else wat if Sg no future)

Bweebweee

As a protective mom, I also feel the so called actions done are inadequate. When it’s reported to school / MOE / police , the whole idea is to have the matter addressed satisfactorily. Ie nip the bullying before it gets worse., have the girl’s seat changed, the bullies taken to task and more pair of eyes watching them. Even class prefects can be rostered temporarily to make sure the girl is accompanied during recess or when she is leaving school to make sure there is no opportunity for her to be cornered. After a while those boys will probably forget about it and move on. The teacher could have easily acceded to a seat change.

the response by the school doesn’t address the concerns. So what if they have done something when their “something” didn’t mitigate the situation and allowed it to worsen? It’s like you have a deep knife wound requiring stitches and the teacher just paste a plaster and say okay I’ve done something liao, all good. Simi sai logic?

Exactly. And honestly, i have no idea why MOE is choosing character defamation on the girl and the mother, saying the girl use racist slurs and insinuating that the mother is lying.

Fact is, one party is now feeling unsafe (based on mother's testimony) and she has resorted to asking to switch seats through her homework (established facts), while another party can spam calls (all 3 bullies) and one of them can cockily send death threats. And MOE seems to target the one feeling oppressed and suffering.

Honestly, i wouldnt care if the bullying wasnt that bad, or perhaps she did throw some insults, but when one side is hurting more, to the point they reach out for help and got their hand slapped back at them, as a parent, that's gotta heartbreaking.

Im still v shocked at the way she asked to change seats. As a kid, it is often not easy to speak up and complain to teacher about anything, much less bullying. And she pluck enough courage to bring it up, but it did not happen. And then writing on homework??? Imagine doing homework and your mind is still fearful about school that you choose to write it there. Sheeesh

RedOrion

soft-kobe-bryant.gif

VBj0i.gif

whole lot knock it down...

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.