Sep 2012 BTO

abumble

Actually there are some truths in it. The site of the BTO is very ulu (I used to stay in Whampoa and my relatives still live there) and have nothing around it. It's more than 3 bus stops to Toa Payoh Interchange because the only bus that goes there (139) will need to go through Whampoa Court, Jalan Rajah area out to Balestier Road (towards Thomson) before hitting PIE to get to Toa Payoh. About 6 bus stops IIRC.

The only way out of Whampoa is through three routes (Whampoa Drive, Kim Keat and Jalan Rajah) and all will still hit Balestier Road (at different parts) before you can go elsewhere. The other newer (newer is also like since 2000 or something) estate that is currently there (near to this BTO site) also took a long time for the units to be sold.

Walking to the market is not impossible but can be a good 15mins to 20mins walk depending on your speed. There is however one kopi tiam at Blk 74 and a few more along Blk 84, 85 there.

If you drive no issue, if you take public then you are limited to buses (6 svcs) unless you take a long walk through a tunnel to St Michael's and walk to Boon Keng MRT.

Overall, it's a really old estate with nothing fancy but there is nice food at the Hawker Centre/Market, Shaw Cinema at Balestier Road and some yummy eateries along Balestier Road.

I was referring to the bus stop along pie that is A short walking distance frm the bto site actually. buses 8, 26, 31 go to the interchange. So ard 3 stops is abt right if i rmr correctly

Glitzger

I was referring to the bus stop along pie that is A short walking distance frm the bto site actually. buses 8, 26, 31 go to the interchange. So ard 3 stops is abt right if i rmr correctly

Yah, u r correct. There are pros and cons to the place but perhaps more cons than pros. Based on the pricing, I feel it's too steep for that location. But that's just my view.

starlinux

If you are at blk 74, then u are far off from the PIE bus stop that has 5 buses to Tpy that someone has mentioned countless times. It's a bonus for those staying at Tenteram compared to those soon whampoa drive where they only have bus 139 that goes round.

And while the only route leads out to balestier road access to cte, pie, novena are all very accessible.

I certainly hope those who chosen 3 and 4 room will consider.

Forget to mention that I used to stay at Blk 74 with a buffer of Blk 75 from the expressway and yet, the noise from the expressway is really loud. But you will get used to it after some time. I actually couldn't get used for a while when I moved to a quieter location. :lol:

And of course you can walk to the bus stop along PIE that will get you to more places (mostly Toa Payoh). There are park connectors that are good for jogging to Potong Pasir, Bishan/Braddell etc too.

Glitzger

If you are at blk 74, then u are far off from the PIE bus stop that has 5 buses to Tpy that someone has mentioned countless times. It's a bonus for those staying at Tenteram compared to those soon whampoa drive where they only have bus 139 that goes round.

And while the only route leads out to balestier road access to cte, pie, novena are all very accessible.

I certainly hope those who chosen 3 and 4 room will consider.

Countless of times? Haha, if you say so. Anyway, I was just giving my views of the place, not trying to influence people's decisions or say people should not go for this. If you have selected this coz you think its a very good location then you should be happy that there is barely any competition. Just pray for a good number. There are always different views and wants for everyone. And regardless of units taken, i assume HDB will go ahead to build the BTO according to their new rule of concurrently building and selection exercise. So people who have balloted should be glad coz sure get number and high chance of choosing dream unit.

vp2008

Nvm. Potential owners are going to get a very good deal with Tenteram. I hope those applying 3 room are not so silly since ifs almost guaranteed for them and should they withdraw, going to be forfeiting one chance right

wait, so even those second time buyers can get a flat because there are so many extra flats left available? Me and my parents are worrying we wont be able to get it due to 3.9 people fighting for 1 flat(3 room second timer).

Forget to mention that I used to stay at Blk 74 with a buffer of Blk 75 from the expressway and yet, the noise from the expressway is really loud. But you will get used to it after some time. I actually couldn't get used for a while when I moved to a quieter location. :lol:

And of course you can walk to the bus stop along PIE that will get you to more places (mostly Toa Payoh). There are park connectors that are good for jogging to Potong Pasir, Bishan/Braddell etc too.

i use to live at blk 29 on the 10th floor and without any buffer. After sometime, the sound is a non issue and my family rarely opens the windows so we cant hear the expressway.

xtwis7

wait, so even those second time buyers can get a flat because there are so many extra flats left available? Me and my parents are worrying we wont be able to get it due to 3.9 people fighting for 1 flat(3 room second timer).

Second time buyers will have a chance of course as it ultimately depends on the first timers and the number of drop outs.

ahzai66

i use to live at blk 29 on the 10th floor and without any buffer. After sometime, the sound is a non issue and my family rarely opens the windows so we cant hear the expressway.

erm... rarely open the windows? that means always on the aircon? sorry... just asking only... cos i see alot of flats and apartments also always never on window one... i wonder don they feel hot at all?

vp2008

Second time buyers will have a chance of course as it ultimately depends on the first timers and the number of drop outs.

oh, so with almost 260+ empty slots from the sale, those empty slots will go to the second timers? thats good to hear

lzjlee

I had similar sentiments when I visited the site over the weekend. The old blocks located right to the south of CSC are very old and even their lift has not been upgraded (it does not stop on every floor). Maybe someone who lives there can give us a heads up on whether that cluster has been selected for any upgrading programme (whether lift or main etc.).

Went back to check on the HDB website and the lease for those blocks commenced back in 1979. So that makes them about 33 years old...those who are intending to select units facing the south might want to take this into consideration. Hope this helps! :D

I jus went to recce the AMK site. All the 4 blocks of flat south of CSC r under going LUP now. Estimated completion is 4Q 2014. The fitness corner is also under going upgrading works. Can we safely conclude that any SERS is not going to happen anytime soon?

Silverboi

Does anyone know how long it will be before the results of balloting are out?

Artie

just to enquire

my HLE is going to expire on 01/01/2013. I applied for this BTO , i wonder will i be able to use my HLE in time? or can appeal to HDB to extend the expiry date?

HDB will try to extend ur HLE for the first time. If u have not sign the lease of agreement by then, you will have to reapply HLE again.

tanjhj

JUST NOTED BY ANOTHER FORUMER, THE 4 ROOM CAN DO OPEN CONCEPT KITCHEN CUM BAR counter

i saw the layout for KW tentaram peak bto. the layout are very good abd space efficient. the whole flat looks bigger and the shelter is next to the kitchen! more practical uses. also the doors are not facing each other neighbour and you get your private space in front of your door even for 3 room flat.

The btos are cleverly buffered from the CTE noise and dust by the carpark and greens. i think it will be a very peaceful place to stay.

The whole project has better FS layout for site and flat design.

after looking at the map and the number of applications, i regret taking my BL, should have gone for this bto instead. the place is not as bad in term of accessibility than u all think. it has many bustops surounding it and near cte. u can go anyway from here easily for those with car, it will be a very good buy as it is almost the same as the pek kio hdb estate. nearby got quite alot of good stalls and restaurents.

12SEPBTOKWN_typical2.gif

12SEPBTOKWN_typical3.gif

12SEPBTOKWN_typical1.gif

12SEPBTOKWN_fur2.gif

12SEPBTOKWN_siteplan_100.jpg

F3Rm1nat0r

Thanks buddy! Long time no see!
Have you gotten your flat?
yup, gotten already. good to see that you are about to apply also. Hope you get the flat you want man, anything can pm me :)
went through all this so many times :o

Silverboi

yup, gotten already. good to see that you are about to apply also. Hope you get the flat you want man, anything can pm me :)
went through all this so many times :o
Thanks buddy.
I'm quite sure I'll get to select a flat (the ratio of flats to applicants were only 0.7 for AMK 3 room) so I'll definitely need all the help I can get!

peggy76

yeah I feel that it's rather degrading. They clearly didn't do their research well :s8: as if the only way out is to Balestier road. And whampoa market is walking distance.. and before whampoa market there are others eateries along the way as well. And also, they failed to mention it's just stone throw away from a reserved site for future school.

Agree that they din do their research well. I was reading thru some of their reviews on previous punggol btos and surprised to find some comments not exactly true when they mentioned whether any amenities like shops/coffeeshops are nearby.

I think it's better to do a site recce to make sure before pple apply.

lzjlee

I went up to one of the block facing the road at CSC and noticed that the noise problem is quite bad. Will those high floor units facing the south still have this problem since it is "unobstructed" by the 12 storey block? Anyone can advise?

starlinux

Reference to tenteram peak, Well, to some, a 15 mins walk is consider far leh.. They say, 15 mins walk to buy food, then 15 mins walk back home. Total 30 mins wor....tsk tsk..

Tenteram peak is gonna solve this problem by having coffee shop and supermarket at the void deck

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.