[Serious] if you got several teeth need to root canal

TrollAndOgres

Sure or not. The Thomson Plaza one is expensive. 2nd floor one right? And they are the one that tell me they dun do root canal. Recommended me somewhere else. This was in 2024

Forgot 2nd or 3rd floor. I cant rmb also since about 9 yrs ago think it was denticare / Unity iirc. Price was around 500+ without crowning just RCT. He did xray twice i think, once before once after. I think i had to go 2 or 3 visits in total. After all these years prices should have increased i think.

iammole

13 teeth got crown. It is not individual teeth, one crown covered several teeth. My top set of teeth literally all crown and implant.
This dentist also had quite a number of Singaporeans did their dental work. He can speak English.

so yours is a bridging crown. it's easy for food stuff to get trapped under the crown, in between teeth and cause infection, then you'll need to remove the entire bridge. got to water floss to take care.

MoeLanYong

Just sharing, as came across this particular topic posters are discussing inside this thread.

Seems like there are MPs aware of this too, hopefully there will be a day where we can utilise Medisave for Root Canal Treament fully.

As of right now, Medicare use are too restrictive. Machiam like 棺材本 in a sense. Hopefully he can do bring up inside parliament, so that we are able to have a fruitful debate on this issue.

The garment treat Medisave like coffin money. This cannot use. That cannot use.

After inside coffin then can use. And a big chunk too.

charliebrown

Do one tooth root canal 1k plus
Do crowning 1k plus
Each tooth ard 2k plus to 3k. Also got risk reinfected if do root canal and redo root canal again.

What will you do?
Extract liao no more tooth wor. And ugly.
Dental implants like more expensive than root canal.

I brush my teeth daily. Dunno y like this maybe my diet too many sweet food.

Got any recommendations how to do it cheaply or any alternative to go about?
implant u think can solve all ur problem meh?
like tat teeth decay or drop no scare can just go implant correct?

tidiii

dental implant not much diff, but structural integrity implant is better coz you're getting a new structural teeth instead of rescuing an already weakened root.

dentist will always push for root canal to earn more from you . if root canal gets infected, eventually still gotta pluck out and do implant de.

if u believe in science
then so far everything finds that having a tooth, even with a root canal is better than extraction
implant is still extraction, but its purpose is to keep jaw bone and cosmetic

the problem is dunno y govn dun think root canal should be subsidized, so the general public think that extraction is better, but its not

its only better for our wallets sadly..but not for general dental health

honestly medisave is also money
if u no medisave, u have to pay cash, so no diff

if u go hospital, everyone tell you as if medisave is infinite when its not. its still YOUR money, just that you cannot use it

krikering

Even if flow to Next-Of-Kin, also is to their Medisave again. Vicious cycle, so many restrictions in place.

Sometimes I just wish we can straightaway switch to a single user-payer system (Like Dr. Paul suggested) and pay more direct taxes so that they don't play tricks with the all indirect taxes, etc.

The only reason why we have slightly lower taxes is because we just pay out-of-pocket whereas other countries is cover it under their welfare system.

XiaoChilli

implant or rootcanal both equally costly

if worried about the cost, nowadays got a lot of BNPL plans.

even credit card also can split in 12-24 months payment for a small fee. e.g. for DBS can split into 24months payment for 6% fee - so for 2k pay extra $120 but then every month only need to pay $166 for 24 months.

https://www.dbs.com.sg/personal/support/card-payment-mp3.html
I can pay in full. Just worried reinfected need do again. Hope find gd endo the risk of reinfection lower

li9ht5peed

i spray 3% hydrogen peroxide into my lower teeth occasionally. upper teeth are less susceptible to issues. this disinfects the gums

i also brush whenever i feel my teeth is dirty. and constantly finger my teeth around the gums to check for shakiness, dental plaque and tartar. if there's hardened plaque ie tartar, i use a titanium dental scaler to dig it out

whenever i eat chicken or pork ribs, i chew on the cartilage and bones to make sure my tooth are holding up. the cartilage is eaten but bones are there for jaw exercise

i've never visited a dentist except for compulsory school dental checks & never lost any teeth before. all 4 3rd molars are intact. my teeth is very important to me. it's a weapon and also for chewing food. i do whatever it takes to keep them strong till the last day

Notbbfa

Brush teeth not enough, need to floss daily. Toothbrush doesn’t get to the places that floss does.
If don’t floss daily at least every 6 months go for routine cleaning at dental clinic

li9ht5peed

flossing is useless on hardened dental plaques ie tartar. change your tooth brush frequently. a good brush can remove nearly all dental plaque

tartar can be removed with a titanium scaler

DragonFire

13 teeth got crown. It is not individual teeth, one crown covered several teeth. My top set of teeth literally all crown and implant.
This dentist also had quite a number of Singaporeans did their dental work. He can speak English.
Nice. Based in which city? HCM?

This is an example of a bridging crown for TS's reference. Used when multiple adjacent teeth need to be removed. The supports can either be trimmed down sacrificial real teeth, root canaled teeth, or implants.

LoaGong12

dental implant not much diff, but structural integrity implant is better coz you're getting a new structural teeth instead of rescuing an already weakened root.

dentist will always push for root canal to earn more from you . if root canal gets infected, eventually still gotta pluck out and do implant de.
doesn’t implant come with higher risks like gums receding etc?
it’s not abt money here - general medical / dental practise principal is to preserve what you have as much as possible
from. what i know

LoaGong12

I dont floss. I brush v hard not sure if thoroughly. Coz Im reminded I have root canal pending all the time (didnt go do just dragged until start to pain). Didnt crack any crab shells.

How come today different edmwers keep telling me abt crabs lol!
start flossing to preserve your other teeth.
no alterantive to that.
u can try to floss properly after brushing well and you will see how much stuff remains after brushing

DragonFire

FYI Medisave can be used up to $1250 per tooth for implant surgery.
The problem is many people are ill informed as to what it can or cannot be used for.

WarMage87

Do crowning 1k plus
Each tooth ard 2k plus to 3k. Also got risk reinfected if do root canal and redo root canal again.

What will you do?

Go JB to do the most worth it.

Don't need an appointment and CHEAP.

$3K here but $1.5K over there...

Dopod007

Nice. Based in which city? HCM?

This is an example of a bridging crown for TS's reference. Used when multiple adjacent teeth need to be removed. The supports can either be trimmed down sacrificial real teeth, root canaled teeth, or implants.
Yes, the dental clinic is in District 7, HCM. Can PM me if any of you want the address of the dental clinic I used.

Enola88

Do crowning 1k plus

What will you do?

Marry liao, ugly also nobody care already. But hor, teeth really no spare parts one.
Might need to travel accross to JB for cheap treatment but with risk.

Once gone, gone forever. If can afford, better save what’s left, else end up eating porridge forever.

Love for food die faster than love for your husband without teeth

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.