Serious Qns - Anybody had a Class 3/3A license, and then still go take Class 2B

Ethan_

Downgrade for? I have class 3 but also no car to drive 😅 take class 2b so can ride when overseas like phuket/bali or in sg see any secondhand bike might wanna buy.

As in first learninf is difficult and after which when upgrade to 2A or 2 will be easier?

My class 3 passed at 2nd TP
Then further downgrade lor. No car bike also good. Really cannot then take pmd or bicycle. :s22:

As for go overseas drive or worse ride. Think best is don't, especially for inexperience driver or biker. Worse those who don't even have much driving experience or riding experience local, then go overseas suddenly want to become king of the road. More likely get into trouble.

And many locals tend are rigid in thinking when come to the road. Cause they pampered and condtioned by local strict rules and regulations to belief that everyone should follow the rules. Thus tend expect the same when go overseas.

But then overseas is more messy, anything goes as long as no one looking. This is good for those experienced one who know how to be flexible about it. But maybe not so for those inexperience one. Cause they walk also not steady liao when local, go overseas expect to run. They more likely to get into trouble.

Not say it will be, but think have heard quite some stories about people who go overseas get into traffic accident or near accident. Especially those more chaotic places where rules don't really apply. Then also think there are no shortage of news about locals who went overseas get into serious traffic accident. Those newbies of sort to the overseas experience.

So, not say cannot, but think have to be really careful when go overseas drive or ride. Don't take it for granted cause there rules not so strict, thus let the guard down. That is when they most likely to make mistakes and wrong judgement. Cause not familiar with the local unwritten rules, do and don't there.

kitsura

Downgrade for? I have class 3 but also no car to drive 😅 take class 2b so can ride when overseas like phuket/bali or in sg see any secondhand bike might wanna buy.

As in first learninf is difficult and after which when upgrade to 2A or 2 will be easier?

My class 3 passed at 2nd TP
2B to 2A difficult. 2A to 2 quite easy.

TimsTom

can buy from cdc, but easier just go racing world opp cdc buy the starter white helmet from m fizz or smth, not more than $50, plus glove and guards from decathlon

got psb sticker can liao, and must be open face
Cdc website i think i saw got sell then after i closed and went back, dunno which page liao. Then i go google lim ah boy (heard famous), wow, lowest priced is $178. Im wear specs, what kind of helmet should i look for?

https://reginaspecialties.com/colle...=products&sort_by=price&sort_order=asc&page=1

Yes when you get yr own equipment it makes a world of difference
Where to see look online first? I v budget conscious 😅

Link doesnt work. Just shopee page nia

trax06

rtfm38

Me also lor, take 2B for fun plus never know when it might come in handy like coming in first on atv snow race during company retreat 🙃.

But after that never ride in singapore cuz find the risks too high, really is not a matter of if but when you will kena accident. And singapore also too hot, crazy to wear protective gear, one bad fall and can grind your flesh to the bone.

hellhole

got many shop got learners packages... can be less then 200 dollars... for padding helmet and gloves... if you dun mind personal hygiene... then u can use the helmet and padding from the school...but u need to buy gloves..
the cheapest glove you can get is those white ones that the durian stall use :)

if you have class 3... esp if its manual class3. its easier in a way.. as you know what biting point is.. and some 'road sense' ... class 2b is the most difficult.. as its 1st time... but like i said.. you have class3... you will progress faster... just dont give up.

amankun

Cdc website i think i saw got sell then after i closed and went back, dunno which page liao. Then i go google lim ah boy (heard famous), wow, lowest priced is $178. Im wear specs, what kind of helmet should i look for?

https://reginaspecialties.com/colle...=products&sort_by=price&sort_order=asc&page=1

Where to see look online first? I v budget conscious 😅

Link doesnt work. Just shopee page nia
Helmet get basic open face type with PSB sticker, important to get one that fits your head size. Too small and the discomfort can be very severe, too loose it will wobble around your head as you turn your head for safety checks. Just get the cheap cheap basic SMX helmet for learning will do.

Gloves get something basic also can, but recommended to spend little bit more with better protection (leather gloves, knuckle protection). As when you fall during practice, you will instinctively put your hands out to catch the fall.

Elbow & knee guards are very important as well. I got a set of used ones to give away for free, PM me if you are keen.

VEF888

only reason is to ride this legend:

main.png

TimsTom

Wow nice. $62 full set 😍😍 But how to trust if the helmet is approved or not?
I actually have knee and elbow pads (bought to learn skateboard but never did it, lol. The pads still lying around maybe can also use for motorcycle learning?).

Saw this cheap helmet claiming to be LTA approved but read review its abit filmsy quality.
https://sg.shp.ee/kuNEoZJ

Me also lor, take 2B for fun plus never know when it might come in handy like coming in first on atv snow race during company retreat 🙃.

But after that never ride in singapore cuz find the risks too high, really is not a matter of if but when you will kena accident. And singapore also too hot, crazy to wear protective gear, one bad fall and can grind your flesh to the bone.
U mean u already went and got first on atv snow or preparing for one day might have this need? The full body protection gear must buy or just personal preference for safety?

got many shop got learners packages... can be less then 200 dollars... for padding helmet and gloves... if you dun mind personal hygiene... then u can use the helmet and padding from the school...but u need to buy gloves..
the cheapest glove you can get is those white ones that the durian stall use :)

if you have class 3... esp if its manual class3. its easier in a way.. as you know what biting point is.. and some 'road sense' ... class 2b is the most difficult.. as its 1st time... but like i said.. you have class3... you will progress faster... just dont give up.
Durian stalls white fabric ones can also ah? 🤣

Ya agar i know the feel of biting point, but im still not v good at shifting gear down fast. Like I don't understand the logic of from gear 4 slowly goes down to gear 2 or 1 (o forgot) then brake to complete stop. Just followed my instructor instructions only 😅

And i also worried motorcycle gear shift might not be easy as its the pedal on the left leg shift up n down.

only reason is to ride this legend:

main.png
This is Honda super cub is it? Nice classic look

TimsTom

Helmet get basic open face type with PSB sticker, important to get one that fits your head size. Too small and the discomfort can be very severe, too loose it will wobble around your head as you turn your head for safety checks. Just get the cheap cheap basic SMX helmet for learning will do.

Gloves get something basic also can, but recommended to spend little bit more with better protection (leather gloves, knuckle protection). As when you fall during practice, you will instinctively put your hands out to catch the fall.

Elbow & knee guards are very important as well. I got a set of used ones to give away for free, PM me if you are keen.
https://sg.shp.ee/cA54mSL
Recommended by another edmwer, SMX helmet and full set. Is this set good enough?

hachi

I actually have knee and elbow pads (bought to learn skateboard but never did it, lol. The pads still lying around maybe can also use for motorcycle learning?).

Saw this cheap helmet claiming to be LTA approved but read review its abit filmsy quality.

U mean u already went and got first on atv snow or preparing for one day might have this need? The full body protection gear must buy or just personal preference for safety?

Ya agar i know the feel of biting point, but im still not v good at shifting gear down fast. Like I don't understand the logic of from gear 4 slowly goes down to gear 2 or 1 (o forgot) then brake to complete stop. Just followed my instructor instructions only 😅

And i also worried motorcycle gear shift might not be easy as its the pedal on the left leg shift up n down.

For learning ok... Since at very low speed... Don't use the public one... After rain you will see black ink coming out of the helmet.... That's the joke during my time... So got a helmet to learn..

eboy

Which school is easiest to book lesson?

I find ubi one very hard to book...

hellhole

shifting down gear is engine break... if you are in 4th gear... u get down to 3rd gear.. you will feel the engine break... its more useful when you get from 3rd to 2nd gear for any turn.

from 4th to 3rd to 2nd to 1st... its a good habit... that they want you to develop... some people just tap tap tap many time till reach 1st... they want you to tap to 3rd.. then to 2nd then 1st. just make that obvious.. and you will be okay...

i think by what you describe... you already know how to ride a motorcycle!!! you can go illegally rent one in bali... hahaha.. joking.. please dont..

the rest of the stuff is about safety and part of the lesson plan... so go through it... ask the instructor what you did wrong to fail... etc...

only advice i can tell you is... in the circuit... its all about low speed control... there is no need for you to go pass 30km/h anywhere in the circuit unless for the ebrake. learn to control the bike at low speed... so you will have more time to do all the blind spot check, road check.. etc..

coyote

No need but need to take rtt

Sorry. Can you clarify my question. I already have a class 3 driving license for decade. If I want a Class 2B to ride a bike, I only need to pass RTT which stands for Riding Theory Test? So, don't need any practical test? And if no practical test is needed, I do not need to attend any riding theory class at all?

hellhole

Sorry. Can you clarify my question. I already have a class 3 driving license for decade. If I want a Class 2B to ride a bike, I only need to pass RTT which stands for Riding Theory Test? So, don't need any practical test? And if no practical test is needed, I do not need to attend any riding theory class at all?
riding theory class is needed so that you can take the RTT.
you can take riding practical lesson and riding theory and RTT concurrently...

BUT.. you must clear all the theory lesson before you can do the lesson on the road.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.